We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A basic small hotel with a good location”
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #44 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is at the budget end of hotels in Guilin. In saying that it is perfectly adequate if you want to save some dollars. The lift is small and there is only one and I couldnt get the internet(cabled) to work in the room using my wireless router. It was clean and the room was large. The bathroom facilities were good and the shower had twin heads with good pressure. Beds were comfortable and of a good size. An armchair and foot rest was provided for relaxing. This hotel does not have a restaurant but there are plenty of food outlets nearby including a steakhouse just around the corner. Several bakeries were also adjacent and coffee was available. In the evening the nightmarket opens up and the streets outside and there were plenty of bargains to be had. The nightmarket could be a noise problem for some but earplugs are essentail for travel in China anyway. The noise in the room wasnt a problem for me. The reception staff were a bit casual but got me booked in okay and there were no problems when checking out. If you can arrange it skip Guilin and stay in Yangshuo as the sights there are good and if you are in to shopping its even better. I took the river cruise for around 5 hrs to Yangshou and really enjoyed it. A must do if you like photography.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachbuoynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cheap, convient, clean place to stay. Breakfast is not included. The location is awesome. Many of the Guilin attractions can be easily accessed by walking or taking a bus. There is a tour guide service on site for more tour options.

Downside: They offer free airport pick up. The guy didnt speak english, and was working for the tour guide service, and tried to push tours on my. You have to pay for the return ride to the airport.

Upsides: free wifi, amazing location, very afforable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 627Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location. Night market, convenient store is just a few steps. The small food cart opposite the hotel offers good dumpling, and about 2 mins walk, a bakery that offers very good bread and pastry.
Now going back to the hotel...
The good first... The room is spacious, nicely decorated. But but, the negative of the room and also the entire hotel is the carpet. The carpet needs a facelift or better to maintain hardwood flooring or just a simple cheap tile will be better and appealing. The carpet not just worn but very bad smell and strong mold smell. The elevator is also carpeted. Ohhh, the smell I just can't stand it.
The wifi is good enough for email but not streaming video as it don't work .. Maybe they put some restriction. Overall if you are on budget and you don't mind the smell, then this is a pick. One more thing, if you book online, either you book directly from the hotel website or thru booking.com then they provide you free airport pick up. If you book thru Agoda, there is no free airport pick up. You will save at least cny 200 for this service. Once you arrive the hotel, pls buy water from the convenience store located opposite the hotel .. It's cny 2 for 500 ml water, and cny 3 for a liter. Don't drink the water from the hotel, they will charge you cny 8. Take note.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abingsyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely little hotel located near the night market and a 15 minute walk from the central square and its surrounding attractions. Modest lobby gives way to spacious, well equipped, very comfortable rooms. Free unlimited wifi. Staff respond to emails very quickly, though not all speak great English. Complimentary airport transfer worked well, even with a somewhat bizarre driver who insisted on near-constant photo stops in town and it seemed unclear if he had ever driven a car before - very poo standard of driving even by Chinese standards. I would use this service again though if you are not a Mandarin speaker, as taxis don't necessarily know of the hotel and whilst well located, it can initially be tricky to find.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Nice ,clean Hotel,verry good situated,by walking distance from the lake and the Pagoda's.There is no restaurant,but a few meters after the corner(on the right)is a good backery,,for breakfast
The night market is direct next to the Hotel,with also a great night foodmarket.We stayed 2 nights,and did not regret

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed five nights in room 6220, which was huge. It was actually a suite of two rooms, each with two small doubles/large singles. Other triples looked much smaller, so I think we were lucky. The room was reasonably clean and the bathroom had a powerful shower with plenty of hot water. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but the coffee shop just around the corner from the hotel entrance did good takeaway coffee and buns. The pedestrian street on which the hotel is situated has masses of eating possibilities. We ate in a couple of the restaurants and on the street, and everything was fresh and tasty. The Sapphire is a short walk from the lake and rivers, which are perfect for evening strolling. There are usually taxis outside if you want to go further. We didn't find the reception staff very helpful, even those who spoke a little English were very reluctant to help with any information. The small travel agency at the end of the road used google translate for us to type questions and answers. We booked the night boat cruise there, which was worth doing. We also booked the bamboo raft trip down the Li River here, but we don't recommend the tour. We wish we had had a taxi and done it ourselves. The raft trip was lovely but we were then on a Chinese tour which stopped at various crowded sites. We took a taxi to the Dragon'sbackbone rice terraces, which worked out well. We couldn't find a laundry near the hotel and the in house service was very expensive. Water in the hotel is very expensive too - 8RMB for 1/2 a litre. You can buy 1.5 litres for 3RMB at any of the mini supermarkets just outside the hotel. In summary, a good hotel for the price, especially if you get a large room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We planned to stay there for 1 night arriving late and leaving early. It does not really qualify as a proper hotel as the standard is very low.The staff does not speak English and the setting was not to our liking. In the rooms, there are electric sockets behind the mattress which is dangerous and the electric plugs of the lamps had to be disconnected prior to going to bed. There is a strange plastic board inside the bath cubible which looked dirty.That is on top the condoms, lubricants, etc in the bathroom which I put high on a shelf out of my 10 year old daughter' reach. On the floor where we stayed, trolleys of dirty linen and hoovers were left unattended and within customers' view. Outside the hotel, the environment is not really nice. The only two plusses are the price and airport pick up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 657 in Guilin
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jingxiang Hotel
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 657 in Guilin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
0 mi away
Secret Courtyard Resort Hotel
0.3 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 657 in Guilin
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: No.9 Xicheng Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: £11 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing