We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

this is a great hostel.
we stayed there only for 3 days but it was amazing.
the rooms are clean, there's toilet paper availible (not so common in china)
the staff is great- nice, helpful and english speaking.
the location is very comfortable- in the middle of the town, many buses and a several minutes walk to night markets, lake and the shopping area.
we enjoyed our stay very much.
very recommended!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    72
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
62
63
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hostel is in a great location to visit 'must sees', such as the Li River, Dragon's Backbone / Longshi Rice Terraces etc and the staff we're really helpful in assisting with organising these trips. All the staff we're friendly and helpful - a really hardworking, nice buch of people.

The room was good. Initially we had a few problems with the plug sockets, but they sorted that quickly. The bathroom was pretty tiny, but managable (as long as you keep the toilet paper out of the spray from the shower!!).

Food was good and relatively cheap. Free internet and pool table - always good. Upstairs you could also do your laundry for free.

A great little hostel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I enjoyed mingling with the staff and fellow travelers. The rooms couldn't have been any more comfortable. Overall, I loved the hostel. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moral2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

This is a quiet and nice place. The people are very king and the rooms are very nice. (they have AC). :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Traveling alone I arrived late to Guilin without reservations but I just stayed for one night. I was offered a bed in a female dorm type room with 6 beds for 10 Yuan per night or a single bedroom full size bed for 70 Yuan per night. I chose the single bedroom since it also had an ensuite bathroom. As described by other reviewers, the hostel is more like a hotel. They provided towels, soap, shampoo and toothbrush. The beds were like all the other beds in china, kind of stiff but not uncomfortable. The bathroom was a combined shower/toilet (as in no partition). I stayed in a room at the end of the hallway (window facing out of the back of the hostel) which turned out to be a bit noisy early in the morning - sounded like lots of kids heading off to school but out front the streets were pretty clear of noise and traffic. Free internet and WIFI in the lobby area which was well lit (I arrived at 11pm) and inviting with different rooms and comfy tables/couches to lounge on. They had a pool table and cafe type food which I didn't have time to try. Even though I was only there for a few hours to sleep and transfer to Yangshuo the next day, I had a comfortable rest at a VERY reasonable price. The staff at the frond desk spoke a bit of English and were very helpful. Highly recommended!

The only con may be that the hostel is a few blocks off a main road (it could also be a pro since it was calm and quiet) but even with a large pack it wasn't impossible to walk over and catch a local bus to the long distance bus station.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycdC615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I wish that we had more time to spend! This hostel has a good restaurant and a nice place to sit around in the lobby. It's pretty easy to meet other travelers. Great location just next to the Ming Palace and only 5min walk to the walking street. The staff was always willing to help. Thank you so much for making my trip to Guilin a memorable one!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farnham33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

This Hostel, now called "Ming Palace" was an excellent and highly enjoyable place to stay while in Guilin. All the facilities were clean, modern and new. The staff were always very friendly and reliable and it made my time there easy and carefree. They have strong wifi internet in the downstairs area which also has chairs tables and comfortable couches. This hostel is also in a really good location as you have easy access to the walking street (zhongshan rd) the Li river with its all its great cafes. There are also many great places to eat around this area.

Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank rwl1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#6 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#12 of 609 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ron Inn
#5 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#7 of 609 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel

Property: Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel
Address: No.10 Donghua Road | No.10, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Guilin Ming Palace International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing