We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful escape !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Ranked #4 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A hotel in the middle of a botanical garden ! Great buffet breakfast , check to see if it is included in your rate. Service was excellent and the hotel and surrounding grounds are gorgeous. There is a quaint tea house in the middle of the hotel area. It was great to come back to this peaceful and beautiful environment after being out touring all day. Some rooms even have a wrap around balcony like ours did. I know some reviewers mentioned train noise but I only heard the train once each evening and never when I was trying to sleep. It is true that it is quite a distance to walk to the front gate to go to any stores or restaurants but we hired a private guide with a van and driver and they had no trouble coming through the front gardens gate and dropping or picking us up directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilininn, Public Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your review of Guilinyi Royal Palace.It's our pleasure to make you feel good during your staying with us.We'll do it better and welcome back next time in Guilin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

This lovely hotel is located in the lush green Botanical gardens and is a few minutes walk from the entrance gates. The hotel runs complimentary shuttle service from and to the hotel. The hotel buildings are in the traditional Chinese style surrounded by water features. It has swimming pool, tea room with live music, bar and restaurant. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean fitted with Toto special toilets. It had good choice of dishes in the breakfast buffet

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotter3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your review of our hotel.We are pleased to service you again if you come back to Guilin.Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights. From pick up at the airport till we left, service had been excellent. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Since it was situated inside a botanical park, you can have some peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle of most Chinese cities. On the other hand, if you want to be within walking distance to downtown sightseeing spots, this hotel is not it. Breakfast was mainly Chinese fare as mentioned by someone but was adequate for us. I would recommend the hotel if you do not absolutely need to be in the center of everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilininn, Public Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your choosing our Guilinyi Royal Palace and your highly praise for our hotel.We'll do it better and hope to share another experience with you in Guilinyi Royal Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel end of October 2013. The hotel offers free pick up service from the airport. It is located in botanical garden and it is surrounded by vegetation, which makes you feel you are outside the city.The buildings have a beautiful traditional architecture. Liked very much the gardens as well.
The rooms on the ground floor are larger than the ones at the upper level, and benefit from a small patio in front. A downside was the breakfast which I consider not to raise for a 4 star hotel and it is almost a Chinese menu.
I would recommend the hotel for a couple of days if you are planning to visit the region.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dragos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilininn, Public Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your review of Guilinyi Royal Palace.About the buffet,we will try our best to improve it.If you have some suggestion about the buffet,just send email to us.Many thanks in advance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent a few nights here recently and found the hotel to be very nice overall. We took advantage of the free transfer in from the airport which was great. We had to later pay 100 yuan to return to the airport. Most of the staff speak a little English although none are what I would call "conversational". But then, this is China. All seemed quite friendly.

The hotel is hidden in the bowels of the botanical garden which itself is a bit removed from Guilin center. You can grab a card with the hotel name and a map to show to taxi drivers if coming back at night, though one or two drivers we found were still a bit perplexed, and we had to agree to go our separate ways. The taxis are not allowed into the botanical gardens, so you have to wait by the guard's hut. The guard will call the hotel, which will then send a golf cart to pick you up.

It was nice walking around in the botanical garden, but this gets old quickly and you'll find you'll want to cab it into town.

The breakfast at the hotel was good. Most of the options were strictly Chinese offerings, though there was a dude making omelettes to order. We also grabbed a light dinner there late one night which was good and reasonably priced. We got tea in the tea house too, which was a nice experience. As a side note, we found our way to a place in town called Nengren Restaurant one night. It's hidden inside a temple and was packed with locals there for the $4 all you can eat buffet. It was phenomenal!

Anyway, back to the hotel. The rooms were very nice, comfortable and clean, and the wifi worked well, though the usual firewalls one encounters in China were in Guilin too. There's a nice fish pond meandering through the hotel grounds. One of the guys at the restaurant gave us some fish food, which when tossed into the water, results in an all out frenzy of hundreds of fish fighting one another before your eyes.

Overall a good choice for Guilin if you don't mind having to cab it into the city!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CBEB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear tripadvisor,thank you for choosing our hotel!As you mentioned in your review,we will improve our staff's English and do a better service to our guests.Wish you a nice day and welcome back next time in Guilin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed three nights here, escaping from the madness of the giant cities of China.
Our guide who met us at the airport was surprised that we had not chosen a central city hotel, and we enlightened her that peace = happiness, well at least for a few days.
We were not disappointed.
The previous reviews outline the hotel and its beautiful gardens. We heard bids singing, even had a daily visit from a kingfisher, ever hopeful to catch one of the many fish meandering through the free-form pools and streams of the gardens.
Staff were brilliant, with good use of English and extremely helpful and friendly.
Rooms exceptional.
Breakfasts were fine, with the good old " egg man " doing a splendid job.
Not really that far to walk to the shopping mall, where the basement supermarket enabled us to stock up on our beer supply. ( much needed after our trips ).
Also a very good Pizza Hut there if you want something other than Chinese cuisine.
Excellent free Wi Fi almost everywhere in the hotel complex.
Would certainly return to this hotel if I was in Guilin again.

Room Tip: Central Guilin is a huge, noisy area. Do use this hotel for a true " rest"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank blisterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilininn, Guest Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear tripadvisor, many thanks for your recommend of Guilinyi Royal Palace.It's a pleasant thing that we made you feel relax and happy during the days you stayed with us.You had a good "rest" here make us feel happy,too.Thanks for choosing us again and we 'll try our best to do it better day by day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Four of us spent 5 nights/days at this lovely Chinese style hotel set inside the botanical gardens of Guilin. The hotel is modern, clean, extremely comfortable, has modern Toto toilets with control panels that made me think of a spaceship, lovely grounds with a swimming pool, fish in ponds, a tea house where a young woman played music every evening ... truly an oasis! Friendly and helpful staff. The botanical gardens were a treat. We walked around most mornings and ended up joining some of the local folks in their morning activities. Think Tai Chi, Chinese Zumba, water calligraphy, spinning tops, board games. The hotel has a delightful man on staff, David, who helped us with several adventures requiring transportation. We were able to arrange a 2 day trip to the Da Zhai rice terraces with him that was a highlight of our time in China. You can walk to a local shopping mall just outside the gardens, as well as the large local market. Getting to the center of Guilin took a cab or long walk but was not a big deal. When the rooms were made up each day, fresh fruit was provided. Lovely touch. You can exchange funds at the desk for the going rate. They also had stamps for postcards (small touch, but helpful!). The restaurant was good. Not great, but good. I'd stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with view of the gardens were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guilininn, Public Relations Manager at Guilinyi Royal Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear tripadvisor,thank you for your strong recommended.We will do it better and welcome back next time in Guilin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 657 in Guilin
173 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 657 in Guilin
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 657 in Guilin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilinyi Royal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilinyi Royal Palace

Address: No.117 Huancheng West First Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 657 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range: £58 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilinyi Royal Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guilinyi Royal Palace is located in Guilin central park---the botanical garden, which covering an area of 120,000 square meters. It is well provided with pleasant environment both inside and outside. The inn imitates the architectural style of the royal garden of Tang Dynasty. It has 52 different-style rooms in total, among which rooms on the first floor are provided with beautiful gardens and others are designed with independent scenic balconies. Besides, this hotel has complete facilities including a Chinese restaurant, a function room, Tasting Tea House, Pond Bank Cate, Sunshine Swimming Pool, etc. It’s really a good place to go for tourism, leisure and regimen. Furthermore, it is close to 101 Amusement Park and TOO Commercial Plaza, the biggest recreational and commercial district in Guilin, about 5-minute drive from the railway station and the bus station as well as 30 minutes from Guilin Liangjiang Airport. It’s pretty convenient for dining, shopping, sightseeing and traffic. Request Id 6558803 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Guilinyi Royal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing