We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit dirty and far from everything” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fubo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fubo Hotel
Ranked #223 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A bit dirty and far from everything”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

the bad: the hotel was a little dirty and also very far from things. If I was ever to head to guilin again, i'd get a hotel closer to the action. we found ourselves always walking far in the morning and night to get everywhere like the bus station, restaurants, breakfast, grocery store, etc. there was a cigarette butt by one of the beds and the carpet could have used a good washing. the staff didn't speak english very well. the bikes that we rented weren't very good either.

the good: the place was inexpensive. cheap internet.

overall, i would definitely find a different hotel if you are looking to stay in guilin.

  • Liked — cheap
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    22
    17
    8
    7
See reviews for
7
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

We only stayed here one night and it was a basic, clean room with great views of the river and people doing morning dancing and tai chi. (check on the specific rooms which face the river) There were mostly westerners at this hotel so it was definitely a tourist hotel. The breakfast buffet was basic and only ok, nothing special about it. I would stay here only if you need a place to sleep, not a place to hang out in.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — the smoke smelling hallways
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GtownHoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

Not brand-new, but clean and comfortable, especially the bathroom. The air con was nice and cold. As with most hotels in China, the beds were very hard. We remedied this by requesting extra blankets from the front desk. Centrally located. At least one person at the front desk spoke fairly fluent English. There's a fantastic, cheap restaurant nearby called "McFound" where we enjoyed some tasty Chinese fare.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank beckbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

Hotel was a bit worn and musty. The room was good size, plenty of tables, and room to lay out belongings. Clean except for the rubber bath mat which was covered with black mold and they insisted on putting it in the tub!
The location is great - right next to the Li River, close to Elphant Hill, and the night harbor cruise.
We stayed here two nights, left for Yangshuo, then returned for another teo nights. Each time the staff had removed the refrig. control knob and unplugged it. Each time we complained and they would bring in a knob, but never mention it had been unplugged - maybe they are trying to save electricity?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Could have been cleaner
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mactoolsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2007

Guilin is a group-in group-out tourist town. (But it still retains a certain amount of integrity.) The same could be said for the Fubo. It's a bit shabby, but the room we had was pleasant enough, the breakfast was quite all right, and the front desk were especially friendly and helpful. (The view from our room gave a good picture of street life, the Li River, and one karst. It was quite pleasant in the morning with the tai chi groups in action.) Our flight from Guilin to Hong Kong was in the evening; so I asked to keep our room for an extra day so that we would not be killing time at the airport. The staff -- without my asking -- insisted on my paying for only half a day despite my having volunteered to pay for a full day. (The Fubo is not all that expensive.) It's little things like that -- in a tourist-trap situation potentially -- that one remembers.

  • Liked — friendly considerate staff
  • Disliked — a bit shabby and worn
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2006

We stayed in Fubo in December 2006 with our family, parents and three sons from 2 to 7 years. We had standard room but it was ok, we were looking for more spacious suite but they were not available. Room was clean and ok 3 star room. Bathroom would love new silicons but otherwice everything was ok.

Room fixed furniture was mayby 10 years old, but chairs and beds just new. Everything was in good condition and clean.

Personnel was friendly - very helpful when we made a trip to a hot bath village. Manager on duty used at least one our to help arrange a big car enough for our family. And they even pick us up from train station when we arrived. Very good service!

Hotel services are quite basic - massage and restaurant - but that was ok for us.

Only minus comes from breakfast - we were mayby only westeners on hotel and we had only modest breakfast. No buffet. Well, price was also very reasonable.

Summa summarum - a good hotel to recommed when you need a good base for your trips to town and environment.

  • Liked — Good service from personnel.
  • Disliked — Simple bread and omelette breakfast.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for help you need - they help.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peter_homefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2006

Our room overlooked the river and great views of the remarkable hills that make up the city and countryside of Guilin. The location was great, too. We could walk right out the front door, across the street, and have a pleasant walk along the river. People practiced Tai Chi in the mornings. The breakfast buffet in the morning had western and Asian food, rooms were comfortable and the staff pleasant and helpful. The hotel shop had great souvenirs as well as every necessity. Great hotel for those who don't need or want 5 stars.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything I didn't like
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bailey550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
1.1 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
2.3 mi away
Wada Hostel
Wada Hostel
#1 of 191 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Guilinyi Royal Palace
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
16.3 mi away
Club Med Guilin
Club Med Guilin
#1 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Guilin Golden Oriole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fubo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fubo Hotel

Property: Fubo Hotel
Address: No.27 Binjiang Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fubo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Also Known As:
Fubo Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing