We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience, do not stay at the Osmanthus Hotel”
Review of Osmanthus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Osmanthus Hotel
Ranked #249 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible experience, do not stay at the Osmanthus Hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at this Hotel for 2 different nights. The rooms smell of dampness, furniture old & shabby, bathroom dirty, Breastfast was Ok but food was cold as the lids of the buffet dishes were opened. Horrible reconstitued juice. They charged 5 yuen for each bag per day stored at their Hotel as we were going to Longsheng & didn't want to drag all our bags along. Internet is not free. On the morning of our second night, we were rushing to the airport, the reception at the front desk demanded us to pay 20 Yuan for the coffee which they stated that the packet was opened. We arrived at he Hotel late the night before & had to leave early the next morning. We never touch the coffee pack. I did noticed that the coffee pack, stored on top of the shelf above the electric kettle, was wrinkled when we first checked in. Our tour guide asked them to check with the cleaner again to make sure that it was our room they found the opened coffee packet. However they took a long time & said they couldn't find her. As we were rushing to the airport & unable to wait, our tour guide pay them 20 Yuen. We were embarrassed about the incident as the accusation is bad with no witness. We gave over 400 yuen tips to our good tour guide & over 200 yuen to our driver, so 20 yuen is peanut. We had such a bad experience with this Osmanthus Hotel that it spoilt our trip. We'll never stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    44
    13
    13
See reviews for
16
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balikpapan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Osmanthus is an old hotel that has seen its glory days pass. Lobby is fine, but the rooms and corridors look very old.
The room was fine for 2 beds and an extra bed. The ceiling was high enough to avoid feeling trapped. Only negative point was the carpet, which looked way too much used.
Bathrooms had old appliances, according to the age of the hotel, but everything looked clean, and the towels and bed sheets looked in good shape.
Breakfast was just fine, nothing special.
Location depends on what you're doing in Guilin. Osmanthus is located some 20 mins walking from the central 2 pagodas lake and the Central Square. We booked it through a travel agent during an organized section of our travel to China, but next time in Guilin we'll choose a hotel closer to the city center.
Internet access only using their computers on the business center.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maremtovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Some attempts had been made to update our room with new carpet, wallpaper, curtins, bathroom etc. but they kept the old dark stained and worn furniture which made the room look more shabby than it really was. The area around the hotel seemed a bit seedy so you'd need to be careful at night. Our breakfast was good and they offered a free complimentary drink to our tour group. There were internet facilities in the room (although we didn't try them as they had to be organised through the front desk) but we purchased a half hour in the business centre where a staff member set the internet up for operating in english. On the negative side, the lifts were slow, no free water in the room, no tissues and only one power outlet that could be used for re-charging batteries for cameras, shavers, toothbrushes, etc. There was a pool but it was closed.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The whole hotel smells of damp. Spent 2 nights here. Very basic. Breakfast - no buffet. Bacon and eggs served standard to everyone. Horrible reconstituted orange juice. Room overlooked the river and town. Walking distance to night market and shops. Entrance area and reception decidedly seedy, and massage parlour in basement even more so! Internet access in room next to Reception. Good value (£1 an hour) but difficult getting anyone interested in switching the computer on for me. Connection slow. Outdoor pool closed.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jog888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

It's disconcerting to find that when the occupants next door talk, it feels like they are talking to you. That's just how thin the walls are. On a brighter note, the front desk was fast & efficient. We especially appreciated the kind assistance of a bespectacled lady receptionist who gave friendly & helpful advice. Also the "Siew Mai" dimsum at the ground floor Guangzhou restaurant was to die for.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Very well located hotel, with nicie view on the river, just few minutes away from all the nearby attractions.
Very helpfull staff, who changed our room, waited for us with the breakfest, and organized a trip on a competitive price. They have a nice restaurant and serve very good western breakfests!

The only downside was the cold - they couldn't get the heater to heat up the room (it was february) so it wasn't very comfortable to sleep. They gave us however extra blankets.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DirtyFeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a tour of china. The hotel is in the seediest part of town, noted by the local working girls and the gift baskets of knickers and condoms in the room plus an educational leaflet regarding Aids. Rooms were of poor quality with large damp patches with mould growing through the wallpaper. The beds were rock hard and customer service was very poor, I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LesleyFrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
0.6 mi away
Lakeside Inn
Lakeside Inn
#8 of 621 in Guilin
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guilin Bravo Hotel
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 621 in Guilin
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#4 of 621 in Guilin
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#7 of 621 in Guilin
962 reviews
1.1 mi away
Universal Guilin Hotel
Universal Guilin Hotel
#35 of 621 in Guilin
230 reviews
2.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Guilin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanthus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanthus Hotel

Property: Osmanthus Hotel
Address: No.77 Zhongshan South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #249 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanthus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osmanthus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osmanthus Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing