We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this hotel a miss”
Review of Osmanthus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osmanthus Hotel
Ranked #248 of 640 Hotels in Guilin
UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Give this hotel a miss”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The only good thing about this place is its location which is by the Peach Blossom River and central to Guilin. Otherwise, I wouldn't bother. The rooms are dated, poorly decorated and one of the walls in our room was mouldy! The hotel staff are brusque and downright rude in some instances.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jysh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    44
    13
    13
See reviews for
16
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We had an occasion to visit Guilin on a short trip and we stayed at Osmanthus Guilin hotel for 2 nights.On reaching quite late in the night for stay, we had to wait for long time to get our baggage in the room. Upon entry, it took no time to notice that it was an average place to stay and relax.The carpet was old and soiled,emitting some strange and stinky smell. It was far from comfortable.
Bathroom was ok,ok type. Breakfast was good but with a limited spread.
Guilin is such a wonderful city blessed with nature,that we expected the hotel to be at least decent if not luxurious. Anyway, our stay at the hotel was just lukewarm and we may not certainly repeat it.We have requested our tour operator to avoid the hotel if possible

Room Tip: Nothing great to recommend for any international tourist
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Dont expect any form of great service. Its a hotel in a good location with average decor and value for money.
Staff does not have any sense of customer relationship. On checking out, they informed us about a missing laundary bag. We told them that it must be somewhere in the room. The staff caused a ruckus and we had to go along with them and search with them to find it on the bed which they could not spot. They apologised for the same.

Room Tip: For those desiring value for money, not a bad deal...no form of personal service should be expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Osmanthus because it was booked by our tour company. The hotel's location is fine and the rooms are clean but it fails to impress in a number of small ways such as the free drinking water is just the local water boiled and put into a container in the mini bar. The toiletries are minimal and in individual sachets but there are free toothbrushes and toothpaste. The breakfast is spoilt because there is nothing to keep the cooked food warm but there is a good selection (albeit cold) and at least the eggs are freshly cooked.
While the lobby staff are friendly and have good English these qualities stop in the hotel's restaurant. We ate there for lunch and had a very good experience with a wide range of food including duck. My son and I enjoy Asian food and we were both impressed with the quantity and quality.
As other reviews have stated, the furnishings are old, worn and need refurbishing, an English language TV option would also be welcome especially since the majority of guests appear to be western. I don't know when the pool is available but it was closed when we stayed there. Free internet at least in the lobby would also go a long way to lifting the standard of the hotel in comparison with others.

We found the beds to be quite comfy but I like a firm bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank balihappy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, fortunately. But we did eat at the restaurant, and that was a disaster. The only occasion we had food poisoning while we travelled in China.

First impressions count, and I have to say I thought this looked a little more than run down. It is a long time since a good maintenance programme was carried out here. Toilets were little better than the general public toilets - in fact many of them were better.

Lunch was the only meal we had here, and the food was of reasonable quantity and the vegetables seemed to be fresh. But the meats were a concern. Sure enough, 6 hours later 3/4 of our tour was sitting it out in the loo. And it was a serious case requiring antibiotics for at least 4 of the group.

Guilin offers an abundant array of great food places, just make sure you dont choose this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Our experience here was the same as the several other 3 star hotels we'd stayed at in China. It was more than adequate for our needs but does indeed seem oldish and in need of modernisation. The reception was a large spacious area. We found the reception staff to be welcoming and friendly and spoke English. The rooms were clean and had the necessary things! We had a room on the front with a lovely view over the river. Breakfast catered much more to our western tastes that any of the other 3 star hotels where we'd stayed. There wasn't really anywhere to sit and have a beer - other than the breakfast area which was very unwelcoming in the evening. The hotel is very central and it is easy to walk from there into the town. We were also able to walk to the station from the hotel (15 mins) for our overnight train to Shenzhen and Hong Kong. We enjoyed our stay but might just try something else next time.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river and the karst hills is really very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AaaaandEeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The Osmanthus Hotel is an older, slightly tatty 12 storey, 370 room building in a favourable central location, with pleasant staff. Odd-numbered rooms overlook Peach Blossom River, a tributary of the famous Li River. Rooms are standard-size but cosy, with tea making facilities. (If you prefer coffee you would be well advised to bring a jar with you to China). There is an outdoor swimming pool on the 3rd floor, and a foot & body massage centre on the ground floor. Dinner is served in the Chinese restaurant on the ground floor, and a copious Western breakfast with fruit, oat porridge and eggs cooked to order is served on the 2nd floor between 7.00am and 10.00 am.

For the city centre, turn right out of the hotel then turn left over the bridge on to busy Zhongshan Road with its double-decker buses, everyday shops and fast-food outlets. After ten minutes you’ll reach tree-lined Rong Hu Lake to the left and Shan Hu Lake with its twin 40 metre pagodas to the right. In the evening a night market of trashy souvenirs takes place on this street. Nearby pedestrian-only Zhenyang and Yiren Lu streets are more enticing, with outdoor bars where you can relax and people watch. For alternate exploration, instead of crossing the bridge continue walking along Blossom River until you reach Elephant Trunk Hill.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms overlook Peach Blossom River
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Webbski-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Zhongshan Hotel
Zhongshan Hotel
#239 of 640 in Guilin
54 reviews
Ron Inn
#7 of 640 in Guilin
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#11 of 640 in Guilin
829 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 640 in Guilin
1,174 reviews
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 640 in Guilin
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanthus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanthus Hotel

Property: Osmanthus Hotel
Address: No.77 Zhongshan South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 640 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanthus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Osmanthus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osmanthus Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing