We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired rooms, unwelcoming, horrible place”
Review of Osmanthus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Osmanthus Hotel
Ranked #248 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tired rooms, unwelcoming, horrible place”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We travelled here as part of an organised tour and we were a little skeptical after reading previous reviews. We were right to be concerned, I've not stayed in a hotel like this before. The reception staff were rude and made no effort to help us out or appear remotely friendly. We were given our key card and sent to our room. On the walk to our room, we noticed the ceiling was mouldy and there were holes in the ceiling in the corridor! I didn't feel safe at all in this hotel, there were too many dodgy-looking people hanging around outside the rooms. On walking into the rooms, there was a fusty mouldy smell, poorly decorated interior with wallpaper peeling off the walls. The view was terrible, we'd been given a river view, but before seeing the river, you see the horrendous disused pool and a battered hotel sign. I would not recommend staying here, luckily we could escape after one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna-marie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    22
    44
    13
    13
See reviews for
16
26
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

There was nothing wrong with the hotel in that the rooms though shabby were clean and reasonably comfortable. The reception staff neither looked at us or greeted us on check in - they spoke only to our guide. The 'Western' - and apparently compulsory dining room for western guests - was similarly staffed with hostile staff. The breakfast, unchanging, was fruit, 2 fried eggs, cucumber and tomato and plenty of bread/ toast. My overwhelming impression was that the hotel does not like or want Western 'guests'. I would not return to this hotel despite it's reasonable cost and good location.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandi2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a package tour. The location was great - view down the river from our room, walk along the river to a great local produce/ meat markets as well as plenty of shopping. The room was very average - but adequate for a short stay. The swimming pool looked as though it had not been used in some considerable time.
Our first banquet dinner on the second floor was very ordinary in a grubby dining room, but the next dinner was served downstairs in much more pleasant surroundings.
OK for a short stay

Room Tip: Not sure if all the rooms had a river view - but it was a pleasant outlook, and worth asking for.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aushol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We got in late, due to a delayed flight from Shanghai. The hotel seemed pretty basic, the beds were hard but the room seemed clean. We had to be up and bags packed and downstairs by 8 to check out and go to breakfast. We will get picked up at 8:30 for our river cruise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evalyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel i well located by the river and close to the main street and night market but the staff was pretty pathetic and not helpful. The smell in the corridor was pretty bad as people smoke and air conditioning is pretty rank. The hotel was really noisy and breakfast was pathetic. There was a swimming pool but it could not be used. To be avoided.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel was part of a multi city 14 day trip to China where we specified 3 star hotels for every city that we stayed at. We were in Shanghai, Suzhou, Hangzhou, Guilin and Yangshou. The hotel (while a great location) was terrible! We were given the most dirty rooms I have seen in quite some time, when our tour company asked if we could be moved, they showed us the exact same room but one floor lower. I suspect that they must be reserving their "cleaner" rooms for westerners since my family all looked Chinese.

Later that day, when we returned to the hotel, we figured we would use the "free drinks" coupon given to us that morning for some beer. When we went to the lounge around 9:00pm, everything was closed, we found this lady who finally served us our drinks but very reluctantly.

The icing on the cake was when the next morning we went down for breakfast (our tour included breakfast) and we had western breakfast specified on our coupon. This was supposed to be on the second floor. When we got there, they told us it was closed and for us to head downstairs for Chinese breakfast. That's fine, we did that and then we were told by the lady downstairs to come back up. We told her that the folks above weren't serving and that we were to come down. She insisted that there was nothing she can do and we must leave. We then went to the front desk and complained, they originally told us just to go back and tell the lady we could eat, but we insisted that they call her and explain the situation. They were finally willing to do so, and then only then did we get to eat.

The food selection and quality was the worst in our entire trip across all the cities.

Honestly, I have no idea what happened to this hotel, it seems they have had many change in management, but it's really unfair to call this hotel a 3 star hotel. My expectations were simply blown away when comparing this hotel with all the others I stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddiewfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I stayed with my wife in this hotel for two nights as members of a conducted group tour. Our 10th floor room was good, average sized but clean. It provided excellent view of Li river below. The night view of the river was exceptionally enchanting. However, the hotel on the whole has somewhat dilapidated look. The towels we got were worn out. Guilin is a small city but attracts large number of tourists. It is my hunch therefore that hotel is so much in demand that it does not really need to spend on upkeep of building and facilities. Overall the service seemed satisfactory. Breakfast is provided on a large first floor arena that provides good view of the entrance lobby below and surroundings. Food was good and range of choice not bad. All in all the hotel is just about ok for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a front side room to get good view of river Li.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Zhongshan Hotel
Zhongshan Hotel
#239 of 637 in Guilin
54 reviews
Ron Inn
#4 of 637 in Guilin
134 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 637 in Guilin
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#5 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
Lakeside Inn
#9 of 637 in Guilin
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanthus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanthus Hotel

Property: Osmanthus Hotel
Address: No.77 Zhongshan South Road, Xiangshan District, Guilin 541002, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin > Downtown , Downtown River-view Area
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanthus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Osmanthus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Osmanthus Hotel Guilin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing