We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with poor breakfast”
Review of Guilin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guilin Plaza Hotel
Ranked #149 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel with poor breakfast”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect location and outstanding room standard.
Very friendly staff.
At reception good English language skills.
At breakfast Westerners are segregated from Chinese guests and receive a poor service with very limited food selection.
The situation was perceived like in Apartheid time or before 1950 in the US. Very sad!
The same we experienced in Yangshuo Leisure Inn Hotel.
Completely different to many other experiences in various Chinese hotels.
This needs urgent improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
20
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

No luxury to expect here but for that price room is still in very good shape and absolutly OK to stay in here for a night rest. Hotel is of course only for night rest nothing additional to expect. But in Guilin you anyway not for the hotel.
15 min walk into city centre taxi easy to get as well back to the hotel. price around 10-20RMB.
had no breakfast heard from my parents is acceptable

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bumsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Although the room was fine (clean and quit) it was frustrating to get room service or really anything that required communication with those involved. The restaraunts food was fine, and as long as I could point to what I wanted. I did not encounter any staff that could speak any English. Maybe that is expecting to much being that this is China? Maybe a little arrogant of me as a native English speaker? For those on foot the location could be better for access to tourist venues.

My experience of the bed in my room was fine. I have read a lot about how the beds are so hard???? Not my experience. Some staff seemed put off by me trying to communicate with them to get something I wanted, like coffee, matches, etc. I am not sure though if that is the culture or if they where just being rude.

Overall, with exception of location, I would stay here again. The price was good, the room as well as rest of hotel was clean, food was decent to. Really what else could you want???? At under 70.00 Canadian Dollars a night?

Room Tip: The standard rooms are fine as they are unless you are after a view. You just need to go outside to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff do not speak English and the service is very poor. The continental breakfast is just ok and the moneys worth. It is not centrally located and away from the Indian restaurant.
The bed n pillows are very hard and we had a difficult time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalasubramanyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. The Plaza was not an international luxury hotel but it was clean, the service perfectly adequate and the breakfast was fine. The beds were comfortable. It was a short taxi ride into town where there were plenty of good restaurants. I would come back here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Very mediocre, no staff speaks English; non-existing service; very hard beds; most guests were oriental and the breakfast was maily oriental and therefore really unsuitable to western tourists. The situation of the hotel is fairly good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adler_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kiev
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We spent 1 night there in the first days of January. Our stay was a part of Grand China tour, and the hotel was booked by our travel agency. We liked our stay there. Hotel is modern, clean and well kept. Room and bathroom are of modern design (bathroom was with frost glass walls). Everything worked properly. Beds and pillows were very comfortable and the softest in comparison with other hotels we stayed in mainland China. The breakfast is purely Chinese and very delecious, with good choice. Hotel is located not in the center of Guilin, but in several km from the central square and Sun and Moon Temples (about 10-11 RMB by taxi). There is a shopping mall nearby (5 min by foot) where you could find some snacks and fastfood (for example, KFC).

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anechka_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#4 of 637 in Guilin
970 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 637 in Guilin
1,171 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#11 of 637 in Guilin
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Hotel Guilin
#34 of 637 in Guilin
7 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 637 in Guilin
135 reviews
Ron Inn
#7 of 637 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Plaza Hotel

Property: Guilin Plaza Hotel
Address: No.20 Lijiang Road, Qixing District, Guilin 541004, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 637 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guilin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing