We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disgraceful dump”
Review of Guilin Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guilin Plaza Hotel
Ranked #138 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Leek
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a disgraceful dump”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Hotel stank of grease, hotel libby was shabby with high pressure salesman, chinese restaurant was dreadful, breakfast was poor, staff couldn't care less. So bad that we abandoned the Hayes and Jarvis trip and booked into another hotel. Avoid!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JRs2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    29
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
20
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Our family booked two nights in two rooms at this hotel. For some reason I must have read the wrong reviews here in tripadvisor! The bathrooms were clean, but the beds were as hard a rocks and smell of varnish was over powering. We had to change from two rooms on the 5th floor to one on the 7th floor because the fumes were making us sick. No discount or apology was offered. When we asked for someone to come look at the airconditioner a housekeeping person showed up, fiddled with the switch for a minute and then informed us that there was no air conditioning in March. She also said something very rude on the way out the door. The one bright spot in our stay was the travel coordinator at the hotel. She was very helpful and sweet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fulfillingapromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Guilin hotels

Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2010

My girlfriend booked the hotel as part of a tour package in Shanghai. However, when we got their because I was a "foreigner" they demanded I pay extra. I'm not sure the conditions of the tour package related to locals only rate or not or where the mix up occurred, but the "extra" itself that I had to pay was more than my entire hotel cost when I was in Shanghai. Very disappointed. The rooms themselves are fairly decent, but if you are a "foreigner" then I would stay away from this hotel...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2008

This hotel was part of a wonderful tool of Guilin and Yangshou. It made me realize that four star hotels in China are really what we would call three star hotels in the US. Walls are paper thin. View was of construction. There was pretty much construction all around the hotel, which is not in the city center or near any attractions. It was clean though.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2008

Location: not great. On the outskirts of everything with little in the surrounding area but a lovely park about 15 mins walk away.

Room: Fair. Dated but quite spacious and comfortable. Usual facilities, TV, mini bar, phone, plenty of storage and a clean bathroom.

Hotel: Lots of options but all a bit drab and in need of modernisation. Restaurants, coffee shops, fairly expensive bar, lounge, shops, nice marbelled lobby, salon etc. After the very hot days, we enjoyed chilling at the pool although it was a little tired (missing tiles etc) and could have be cleaner. Service ok.

Food: Unlike the other reviews, we had a very good experience with the dining options. Very substantial and fairly priced evening meals in a buffet style - loads to choose from and all very tasty. Same with breakfast, good choice and set us up for the day.

Overall: Ok but could do with some updating. I think this hotel catered more for large organised tour groups than independent travellers.

  • Liked — Comfortable and ok restaurants
  • Disliked — drab and tired decor
  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2008

Stayed at the Guilin Plaza because nothing else available. This hotel has seen better days and needs a makeover. The foyer and rooms are tatty and faded. Our room temperature seemed to be about 30 degrees Celsius, the temperature control was jammed on high and the windows were sealed shut. The hotel had an overpriced bar on the ground floor and a non-functional restaurant. We tried the restaurant on the first night and were told by a bored looking waiter that it was fully booked despite all the tables being empty. The hotel is away from the main tourist locations and there are no other eating options nearby. We tried the restaurant again on our second night at the hotel out of desperation and this time they consented to give us a table. We were the only customers but it took them 45 minutes to bring out one of the three dishes we ordered. The rest of our meals never arrived. In our experience hotel restaurants in China are generally well run and this was unquestionably the worst experience we had ever encountered. Do not stay in this hotel unless you are absolutely desperate for accommodation.

  • Liked — It was available
  • Disliked — Incredibly bad hotel restaurant, hot stuffy rooms, poor location
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank arclocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

We booked our trip to Guilin through a travel agent in Shangahi only the day before we left. The hotel we wanted was not available on such short notice, so we stayed at this hotel and knew by the very reasonable price of the trip that it wouldn't be luxurious. We did not find it to be especially clean, and the included breakfast was marginal. The location is also not the best. I will stay somewhere else on my next trip to Guilin.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlinmama_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
1.9 mi away
Golden Dragonball Hotel
Golden Dragonball Hotel
#66 of 621 in Guilin
19 reviews
2.1 mi away
Guilin Park Hotel
Guilin Park Hotel
#13 of 621 in Guilin
271 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
#7 of 621 in Guilin
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Guilin Lingui
1.7 mi away
Aroma Tea House
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 621 in Guilin
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ron Inn
Ron Inn
#3 of 621 in Guilin
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guilin Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guilin Plaza Hotel

Property: Guilin Plaza Hotel
Address: No.20 Lijiang Road, Qixing District, Guilin 541004, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Guilin Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Guilin Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing