We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven in china”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White House Hotel Guilin
Ranked #37 of 608 Hotels in Guilin
Worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A haven in china”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent hotel, great position, loved the antiques. By far the best that we stayed in during out two week trip to china. and the buffet was fantastic. We were picked up from the airport and had an upgraded room when we arrived at 11 am in the morning. It was a fantastic introduction to China and set up well for 2 weeks cycling through remote villages in china. Guilin is a great place to explore and this hotel is quiet but easily accessible to all the key sights. We walked and also used taxis organised by the hotel. Great value for money and a lovely boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suziham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    13
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed at The White House Hotel for three nights as part of a China Highlights Independent trip. The location is excellent on the west side of the Banyan Lake in central Guilin. This would have to be my favourite hotel in China mainly because of its unique setting and atmosphere unlike the larger chain type hotels. We loved everything about this impressive boutique hotel that has a relaxed feel yet elegantly and classically decorated with antiques and art works. It is immersed in history, culture and beautiful landscaped gardens along the lake. Our room was large and lovely with a small balcony overlooking the lake. The common areas are also impressive. The service provided by the staff was very professional and friendly. Our thanks to Helen for her helpfulness.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

It is part of Ronghu hotel complex and thus a bit confusing and because rather new even taxi driver struggle. It is by far the most beautiful hotel and its position right at the canal/lake a dream. It takes 120 yuan to get here by taxi from the airport. Any other journey is a bit of a head ache. You may be told it is 100 yuan and like us we started arguing with taxi driver. So he avoided the toll road at the beginning - which was not such a good idea....
The hotel staff are very alert and caring and seem to enjoy what they are doing. We really felt looked after. You can feel that they are not used to non Chinese guests yet, but they work hard. We could not get a English newspaper or get access to English news channel. And they could have changed the music from time to time or have a bigger loop....also it would be good to have some information readily available about what to do around Guilin including Yangzhou. General suggestions, not just tours. There is so much to see which we more or less had to discover by accident. We were tired after some weeks on the move through China and wanted to stay for three days. We stayed a further three - that says it all! - and without us needing to ask they allowed us to use our room well into the afternoon before we flew off to Hongkong.

Room Tip: Invest a little more and get a balcony !!! They have a great terrace on the lake, but to have your o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jochenulrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Liked everything in there, the view around the hotel & the comfortable room & the old fashion design & furnitures & the service. A little pricy, but never regretted to try . It's a great place to stay in this beautiful city.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jiang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

If you are going to Guilin and think what a hotel to choose, first the most important thing to decide it's which type of hotel that you want to live. It's may be part of a modern building or an old town with low houses, tall trees and a very pleasant atmosphere. I chose this boutique hotel and have not regretted it. A beautiful old building with history, old photos on the walls , stairs with high steps. I had a lovely room with antique furniture - a table, a dresser, bed, chairs and a coffee table with a huge plate of fruit. The staff here are excellent. They all bend over backwards to give a good service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Guilin- wonderfully overlooking a lovely lake with stunning restaurant and bar terraces, antiques and an oasis of charm and quiet yet in the middle of the City. You are on the door step of one of the most lovely lakes in Guilin and a early evening stroll around it is a joy. The hotel staff are superb and go the extra mile to help you in every way. The restaurant food is outstanding and the Hainan Chicken Rice is out of this world! Quality like this is very rare and we will definately return!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The atmosphere is unique: old traditional European style decoration and all those fine vintage furniture impressed me!
Very nice service! The agents were super sweet and courtesy, offered us room change service twice. Very delicious authentic Shanghainese dishes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txgao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 608 in Guilin
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elephant Trunk Hill Hotel
#11 of 608 in Guilin
30 reviews
Grand Bravo Guilin
#16 of 608 in Guilin
74 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#12 of 608 in Guilin
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House Hotel Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House Hotel Guilin

Property: The White House Hotel Guilin
Address: Building 4, No.16 Rong Hu North Road, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 608 Hotels in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White House Hotel Guilin 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White House hotel,Guilin is located at Banyan tree(Rong)Lake side where entitled as national AAAA scenic spot. It is located the very downtown area in Guilin 500 meters away from Zhong shan Middle road. Whole building blood into the water-shore between with municipal house, its west and east wing 4 stores high half concealed into greens the rest of all close to Lake Surface, furthermore take a deep survey from the terrace the hills stone made are rush into your eyes everywhere. It is the original residency for General Bai ChongXi who once upon time was the Defense Minister of China before 1949 rich in legend story as well. Now we renovated this house through great designer’s blue printing put into real, hope publics treat the mansion not only a guest house also a historical museum, because we collected many old style furniture and instruments such as phonograph/1859’s piano/cabinets.Our rooms’ equipped with 3.8 meters ceiling high and Jacuzzi bathtub for couple size, fully mixed with greens or lake shore, all are spacious and airy no less than 40㎡ most them are 60 above. The decoration style may let clients understand what “time machine” makes positive effects are truly occurred. We mansion also offer western restaurant and Chinese restaurant as well, all unique design and best location compare with other places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The White House Hotel Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing