We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, quick service.”

Mcfound(Qixing Road)
Ranked #2 of 313 Restaurants in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, quick service.”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Menu with pictures and some English. Its beside the bridge on Xinyi road. Careful not to order too much, portions are big, for two, three selections are enough! They charge for the tea (4) and napkins (1) which is annoying but its not that much to be honest so does not matter.

Helpful?
Thank conortierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    59
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great food in Guilin”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our guide, Michael from China Odyssey, suggested this restaurant which is popular with locals. And near our hotel. They were very friendly and helpful and one waitress spoke some English. The food was delicious and portions were generous. We selected 4 items plus one bowl of rice for two people and we couldn't quite finish everything. The menu had pictures which made our selections easy. Prices were very reasonnable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colleens941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Excellent selection”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This place had been recommended by our tour agent and our guide helped us with our menu selection.

We chose a whole duck which was cut into small pieces (on the bone), a bowl of handmade noodles, a beef dish and stir fry rice. Everything was tasty and very nicely cooked, one of the best meals we had during our trip throughout China. We were impressed with the selection of foreign beers as other restaurants we visited only had their local beer. We chose a German one and it came in a huge glass and was cold.

The service was quick and the staff friendly. The restaurant was very clean. We used the toilet facilities and had already been warned that they are the squat ones. It was fairly clean.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dinkumpomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

McFound's in Guilin is a very clean, modern establishment. Tables are reasonably well spaced, and kept spotless (polished surface). The menus are very elaborate with pictures of each dish, along with the description and price.

Service is prompt and polite. Food was served hot and very tasty. Beware of ordering dishes flagged as spicy hot - they are really hot.

This establishment (I believe there are more than one in Guilin) is very much worth the visit - and fun too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaritaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average but good food.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have been at the branch in Zhonghua Rd, Xiufeng, Guilin in May 2014. The restaurant is well visited by locals and their food selection is good. We have had better food in China. However, the fresh vegetables make up for the seasoning shortcomings.

The staff is a littles bit afraid of foreigners and will be reluctant to serve you. Nobody spoke English when we were there. A few words in Chinese help and you will get your food by pointing on the pictures in the Chinese/English menu.

Helpful?
Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mcfound(Qixing Road) also viewed

 

Been to Mcfound(Qixing Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing