We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view of River Li”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Ranked #7 of 621 Hotels in Guilin
Orange County
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good view of River Li”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This hotel seems to have many Chinese guests, whereas another hotel nearby has the American tour groups. The top floors have fantastic views of the River Li and the corner room we were in had full glass windows on both sides. The room was fairly expensive and did not include breakfast. The staff do not speak much English, although the check-in person was competent. The Wi-fi did not work at the desk in the room but did work in another section of the room at the coffee table (their staff was helpful with this). The location is great with a nice walkway along the lake and river, shops, restaurants and hotels and the pagodas within walking distance. We were on a no-smoking floor. Our beds were very comfortable, not hard. I did not like the Li River tour service provided by someone working at the front desk...the pick up was poor (changed the time), I had to argue with the driver to get him to drop us at the boat entry instead of making us walk in the rain; and he had our seats in the boat assigned so were were facing backward and could not change seats....even though others were available. I mention this here because we booked at the hotel and because most people in Guilin are taking the boat tour. There was a person in traditional clothes in the lobby for photos and that was nice.

Room Tip: High floor, view of the lake and the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shojin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    486
    143
    31
    19
See reviews for
119
257
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Guilin and the city walk are nice attractions by themselves. The room in this hotel was fine and no surprises, which is great for China. The beds are pretty firm, so be prepared - not entirely Chinese firm, but noticeable.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing - one egg fried at a time and no hot western alternative (no pre-made scrambled egg, pancake...), poor labeling of contents (buns, jams, meats...), cheese was plastic wrapped slices (odd). Chinese choices seemed more acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blib2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

So there are some good things I can write about this hotel such as location,price and room was OK.
wifi didn't work on the 9th floor.called the front desk and the answer I got was "wifi is on first floor "....
Toilet in room didn't flush!
A/c in the room wasn't cold enough around 9 am.
Breakfast was so so. I've had better in China.
hotel is clean but old. The public toilets in the lobby smell like cigarettes and look like they're from 1975.

Probably won't return. I'd pay more and try shangrila maybe.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist_Specialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

A fantastic hotel .Rooms are spacious with a fascinating view of the city from the window .The location of the hotel is just perfect ,walking distance from the lake and the beautiful pagodas which are beautifully lighted up at night .A stroll by the lakeside is a must .The lobby is impressive and luxurious.There are a plenty of great eateries around.The main attraction of the hotel is that it becomes a waterfall every night at 8.30....the10 minute waterfall show just out side the huge window screen of the hotel is splendid .the guilin city with its natural charm nd lovely weather is also a nice surprise .

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sreemoyeemaitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnen
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I would stay again in this centraly located hotel.
This hotel is a big hotel and can confuse elderly guests .. has several elevators..
However, would recomend to stay there. Next time, I will stay again at this Hotel.

Room Tip: I recomend to book high floors towards the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarnentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Absolutely fantastic hotel. Right in the perfect location. Have styed on two occasions now and will be back. Soon I hope.
Staff are great food is good although plenty of great eateries round about.
Very clean and efficient staff.
Great hotel by any standards 6 star.

Room Tip: Rooms anywhere are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

This hotel was very nice it was comfortable and clean. the waterfall show is something to see the entire side of the hotel becomes a waterfall at night. We was only there for 2 nights and we arrived very late the first night. The breakfast was ok but not up the other hotels we used in our China travels. the staff was very nice and helpful. This is a really nice hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on a very short time table and I really don't have any comments about room selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#9 of 621 in Guilin
1,163 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 621 in Guilin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 621 in Guilin
819 reviews
Ron Inn
#4 of 621 in Guilin
129 reviews
Aroma Tea House
#6 of 621 in Guilin
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Waterfall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Property: Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Address: No.1 North Shanhu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guilin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#9 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lijiang Waterfall Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 652
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Lijiang Waterfall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lijiang Waterfall Guilin
Hotel Lijiang Waterfall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing