We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay even without the waterfall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Ranked #6 of 605 Hotels in Guilin
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delightful stay even without the waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent one night here after time in rural SW China. What a contrast! This is a modern, crisp, comfortable western-style hotel in the center of Guilin. The location made it easy to shop, find restaurants, and walk around the heart of Guilin. The staff was helpful, their English skills quite good for the most part, and they willingly stored our bags for 2 days (at no charge) while 4 of us went off to the rice terraces at Da Zhai. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. There were 2 breakfast restaurants: one western in style and the other a dim sum restaurant. The hotel gift shop was well-stocked, including umbrellas for the rainy day we had. If you like being in the center of a city, this is a great choice. One downside: The waterfall was being serviced during our time in Guilin, so we missed the show.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    465
    134
    28
    18
See reviews for
103
240
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of town next to the lake and near the River. Most toursit stuff is on your doorstep including shopping and restuarants. The hotel itself is very good, nice big rooms with confortable but firm beds, as usual with China. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate, very with a good selection of Westerna nd Chinese foods including an Egg station for eggs freshly cooked how you like. The indoor swimming pool and fitness centre is very good, must wear a cap in the pool, which you must purchase, this was free at the other hotels we stayed at in China! Not to be missed every night in the early evening is the Waterfall show on the back wall of the hotel facing the Main City Square, the hotel literally turns in to a Waterfall, the Chinese tourist love it and come by the bus load.
All in all a good 5 star hotel, we would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The location is great, the view from the high floors facing the lake is wonderful.
The breakfast is very rich but almost every thing tastes Chinese. There are many kind of fruits in the area and they served only few and not the interesting ones.the jam for example was awful with no fruits in.

Room Tip: High floor room with a lake view is very recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Súria, España
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It's an acceptable four stars hotel, located in a small city, for the Chinese standards. Is located in the centrer of the strip, and near the public park with a great lake and two pagodas inside. The rooms are big and clean. The ambient in few years will need a renovation.
We were located in a room near the conditioned air machines, and was so noisy. We claim for a relocation,and there was no problem.
The beakfast was superb!!!

Room Tip: Be carefool with the rooms in first floor near conditioned air machines, there're so noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesusRubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Impressive in size and scope with just barely outdated decor, the Lijang Waterfall Hotel is located along the tourist pedestrian strip in Guilian and beautiful public park. Good value for your money if you require Western style accommodations steps from the tourist area. Rooms were spacious and clean, bathroom was wonderful, and the staff was great, speaking enough English to get by easily. Hotel appears very child friendly with many families and its great location supports that.

Beware that ongoing "maintenance" (construction/renovation) might be an issue. Outside noise can also be a concern along with inside noise if your room faces the enormouse echoing atrium area as the window quality leaves a lot to be desired. Also the "WORLD FAMOUS, LARGEST MAN MADE WATERFALL" seemed to be in disrepair so inquire first if you are choosing this hotel based on that attraction. These were not deal breakers for us, just minor disappointments and overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: See above and be an informed consumer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justhetw0fus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This property was undergoing some renovation when I stayed so maybe they're attending to a few points that keep it a provincial four-star hotel. Lifts not working or stopping at some floors upon arrival after a hot day of delayed travel and exhaustive sight-seeing is not a good look. Nor is having an empty ice tray in the fridge but some fresh was delivered after a call to room service. The famous waterfall is a bit of a novelty every night but once is enough! Breakfast was okay but did not have very long at all (10 minutes) on my last day and was reprimanded when I tried to take some buns for the day. Then confusion when checking out as I had drunk some bottled water that was handed to me by housekeeping the day previous -- there is free and chargeable bottled water in the room (neither refrigerated) -- and you wouldn't know the difference other than by first reading a small label. This was not well explained; otherwise an enormous complex with shops, galleries, winding corridors, etc and can be a bit alienating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantchewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I was looking forward of the Guinness record holder "waterfall" hotel and it was disappointing when I found out this so called man made waterfall nothing but everyday 15 minutes water coming down from the top off hotel to the bottom washing through the whole wall of the hotel.Really??
Other that this the hotel is in great location,nice staff and over priced breakfast . We arranged a river cruise through the hotel which was wonderfull if I don't mention the time was from 8:20- 6 or 7 pm until the other couples in the minivan desided to watch the evening show starting at 8pm.So how we'll get back? Or how they 'll get back? The tourguide told us we can take the public bus back to the hotel.This is not excactly what we paid for around 900yuen pp.Then we learned that there is a cormorant fishing show beside the theatre and for our happiness it was great and we have arrived back to hotel close to midnight.We ask the front desk to order a taxi to go to the Reed flute cave and they offered the hotel car can take us.What's the catch? Came with a tour guide.We were not trilled but the girl was a very nice happy,full of energy person so we didn't protest further.The area is great around the hotel.Nice lake,park,shopping,food etc.There were no nob on the window in the room so everyday we needed to call the staff to come and open the window for us.I would understand if this would be the waterfall side but it was not.Spoke to few people who preferred Sheraton over this place but generaly we had a great time.

Room Tip: River or lake view definetely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#10 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#9 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#7 of 605 in Guilin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#4 of 605 in Guilin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Waterfall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Property: Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Address: No.1 North Shanhu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Guilin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#8 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lijiang Waterfall Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 652
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your Lijiang Waterfall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lijiang Waterfall Guilin
Hotel Lijiang Waterfall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing