We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 641 Hotels in Guilin
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is situated in a ideal location right by one of the many rivers/lakes. Across the water you will see 2 pagodas – the Sun and Moon Pagodas which make great pictures both during the day or night. If you continue right along the river-walk you will come upon some lovely scenery and places to shop and eat. You will also come to the crystal bridge. Additionally, if you make a left upon leaving the hotel you will be in the pedestrian district full of shops, restaurants, bars and kissing fish spas. (Apparently you put your feet in the water containing these fish and they eat off the dead skin from your feet. I didn't try it so I don't know if it is worth it or not.)

Behind the hotel is a large plaza with a map of the world. In the morning you will see lots of Chinese practicing TaiChi. There is also an underground shopping area that you can access at various points by stairs. Our room looked out on this view and we were able to see lots of the uniquely shaped mountains in the distance.

There is a very large lobby. In order to access the elevator to your room you have take an escalator up one floor first. This is also the floor that has the breakfast buffet and a bar. Good variety at the buffet breakfast, though it was a bit difficult to find a empty table as the place was so crowded. Our 2nd day there we arrived for breakfast a bit later and found it easier to find a place to sit – I guess the tours must have all left for the day already.
Very spacious and nicely decorated room. There was a dispenser on the wall in the shower but it only contained shampoo - no conditioner.The bathroom had a shower and a bath tub. The outlets didn't seem to work with the Chinese electrical adapters that we used in Beijing. Luckily, there was a 3 plug outlet by the desk so this is where I dried my hair.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ramseytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (982)
There are newer reviews for Lijiang Waterfall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Beautifull hotel with a 15 minutes waterfall at 8pm which is a sight to see.
The water runs down one side of the hotel ( 12 story high and about 100m wide )
Wi-fi works great in the rooms so you don't need to go the lobby as most hotel in China.
Near everything , go for a walk

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicecache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September and enjoyed the hotel. The location is very central and gives good access to Guilin's scenic areas. Our chosen room had a fantastic lake, river and mountain view. Included in the tariff was a fruit basket on arrival but no meals. The waterfall feature of the hotel (a nightly water cascade down one wall under floodlights) was closed for maintenance but this did not concern us as it is a public spectacle anyway. At check-in we were given two tickets for the hotel's yum cha restaurant which was open from 6am to 2pm and 9pm to 3am (not sure if that was compensation for no waterfall). Otherwise buffet breakfast can be bought at a "Chinese" or a "Western" restaurant. Our room and bathroom were very good and the hotel provided excellent value for money accommodation.

Close by is a large shopping area with many restaurants, mainly for domestic tourists. A short walk leads to the Elephant Trunk scenic area with a moderate entry fee. Taxis from and to Lijiang airport each offered only a fixed price of 100 yuan plus 20 yuan toll but that didn't seem too bad given the distance and the ride was good in both directions.

Room Tip: A lakeview room is dearer but has a fantastic view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent one night here after time in rural SW China. What a contrast! This is a modern, crisp, comfortable western-style hotel in the center of Guilin. The location made it easy to shop, find restaurants, and walk around the heart of Guilin. The staff was helpful, their English skills quite good for the most part, and they willingly stored our bags for 2 days (at no charge) while 4 of us went off to the rice terraces at Da Zhai. Our room was clean and the bed very comfortable. There were 2 breakfast restaurants: one western in style and the other a dim sum restaurant. The hotel gift shop was well-stocked, including umbrellas for the rainy day we had. If you like being in the center of a city, this is a great choice. One downside: The waterfall was being serviced during our time in Guilin, so we missed the show.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin97229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of town next to the lake and near the River. Most toursit stuff is on your doorstep including shopping and restuarants. The hotel itself is very good, nice big rooms with confortable but firm beds, as usual with China. Buffet breakfast was included in our rate, very with a good selection of Westerna nd Chinese foods including an Egg station for eggs freshly cooked how you like. The indoor swimming pool and fitness centre is very good, must wear a cap in the pool, which you must purchase, this was free at the other hotels we stayed at in China! Not to be missed every night in the early evening is the Waterfall show on the back wall of the hotel facing the Main City Square, the hotel literally turns in to a Waterfall, the Chinese tourist love it and come by the bus load.
All in all a good 5 star hotel, we would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AussieTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The location is great, the view from the high floors facing the lake is wonderful.
The breakfast is very rich but almost every thing tastes Chinese. There are many kind of fruits in the area and they served only few and not the interesting ones.the jam for example was awful with no fruits in.

Room Tip: High floor room with a lake view is very recommended.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yael855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

It's an acceptable four stars hotel, located in a small city, for the Chinese standards. Is located in the centrer of the strip, and near the public park with a great lake and two pagodas inside. The rooms are big and clean. The ambient in few years will need a renovation.
We were located in a room near the conditioned air machines, and was so noisy. We claim for a relocation,and there was no problem.
The beakfast was superb!!!

Room Tip: Be carefool with the rooms in first floor near conditioned air machines, there're so noisy!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesusRubio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#7 of 641 in Guilin
1,192 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#6 of 641 in Guilin
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 641 in Guilin
152 reviews
Guilin Bravo Hotel
#10 of 641 in Guilin
838 reviews
Ron Inn
#8 of 641 in Guilin
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lijiang Waterfall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lijiang Waterfall Hotel

Address: No.1 North Shanhu Road, Xiufeng District, Guilin 541001, China
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#4 Family Hotel in Guilin
#10 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: £49 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lijiang Waterfall Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 652
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lijiang Waterfall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lijiang Waterfall Guilin
Hotel Lijiang Waterfall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing