We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic beauty”
Review of Club Med Guilin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Med Guilin
Ranked #1 of 652 Hotels in Guilin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have just returned from this beautiful resort.
Located 45 minutes by bus from Guilin airport and the same distance from the river Li, Club Med captures your heart as you walk in the lobby and see the beauty of the mountains in the distance. Unlike other Club Meds, this one has a new hotel section with brand new bedrooms, bathrooms and purpose built facilities.
The indoor pool and gym is fantastic. The main restaurant is excellent and the bar / games and disco area are awesome. A great
Noodle bar is open for snacks and the grounds are huge. Art and sculptures dot the landscape and the zen pool and main pool are perfect for that much deserved swim. Mountain bikes are provided free to go bike riding and if you want, rock climbing is also available. The children's club facilities are excellent but no pool is provided for the little ones.

A cave near the resort is used for cocktail parties put on by the resort and if you did not know ....Club Med have amazing staff. The GOs are friendly and helpful and there is a good mix of Chinese, Australian, American and French staff on site.


The food... Well lets just say you do not go without choices at Club Med. Chinese, Korean, Indian, western are all available. The chefs are great and while junior chefs are learning the senior chefs know exactly what their guests want or expect.

Entertainment from fireworks to dance shows at night, a disco that makes you dance all night and plenty of cocktails wine or beer to keep you happy flow all the time from the bar or restaurant and are included in your holiday.

This new resort is exceptional, located in a UNESCO heritage area will only develope into a destination that will attract families, business groups or the single adventurer looking for that special getaway.

Thanks Club Med !

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 1,477 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

There is so much to reflect on when it comes to Club Med Guilin. This was my first Club Med experience, and within 12 hours of arriving I had completely forgotten about what I was doing in the stressful weeks leading up to this vacation. This was a life-changing trip for me that I will never forget.

The setting for this resort is one of the factors that makes it very special indeed. Set within the Guilin karst mountains, the sheer sense of space and timelessness, along with the impeccable design of this resort, make me very happy indeed.

I agree with another reviewer Cathy S who stated "Best GO's ever". The fitness classes run by Emily from Australia, who also happens to be a fabulous dancer, were the best I've ever done. Such a great inspiration to keep fit after my Club Med getaway.

Club Med Spa by Comfort Zone provided a flawless massage experience with attention to detail, with one exception: The pedicure was oversimplified and didn't carry out the necessary steps.

I would love to write more about the numerous fabulous GO's, but I'd like to make mention of Lisa who is a lifeguard from South Africa who really personalised my Club Med experience. Thanks to everyone and I'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view, but you don't really spend that much time in the room anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The first thing that you notice when you walk in the resort is the beauty of the surroundings. The park is stunning, the mountains beautiful and the artwork really inspiring. I had never stayed somewhere like it before.

But whilst the place was great, it was the GOs and the activities that really made our holiday. The circus team became part of our family - especially Batman (Jeff), trampoline lady (Mackenzie) and jumping lady (Sarah). I can't thank them enough for giving the kids a holiday of a lifetime and for giving us a break as they took charge of entertainment. The kids cried when they left and wanted them to come home with us. They love kids and will make sure that they have a good time.

All of the staff went out of their way to help us, dancing with the kids (victor!) and taking the guys off for a long trail run (even during their time off, thanks Gilles).

I definitely think changing rooms by the pool would help, as well as a more regular buggy service as the distances between things are long, but none of these things took away from a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyMHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have just recently got back from a trip to Club Med Guilin in China. Wow what an amazing place it is. Its natural beauty and the size of the resort is breathtaking. The architecture of the buildings and the many sculptures in the gardens make for an unique experience, that I have not seen in other Club Meds.
Must do's while there:
Mountain bike riding with the gorgeous New Zealand instructor Kate. Its a great way to get around and explore the resort and surrounding areas. Kate has lots of energy and is loads of fun and caters for individual abilities very well.
The Fitness Centre is a fantastic facility and the fitness instructor Emily( known as the tallest girl in the village), takes 5 five different classes a day. My favourites were Abs and Zumba. Emily is such a great instructor, she makes exercising so fun you just can't get enough, she is beautiful inside and out.
The Go's performance's in the shows at night were terrific. It was lovely to see so many boys performing and dancing. The shows are of a high standard with stunning costumes and set design.
The Wellness Centre is a great place to visit for a treat and a nice way to start the holiday. We really enjoyed the excursions and the motor bike and side car tour through the mountains and villages is a must do.
All the Go's at the resort are amazing and we would like to thank them for making our trip to Club Med Guilin so special, we had the best holiday, thank you all...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A massive thanks to Kate and Laura at Club Med Guilin for making our stay so enjoyable.

They were professional and hard working, putting the interests of their guests first, with a can-do attitude at all times.

I can highly recommend the bike ride with Kate - spectacular scenery and the bar afterwards with Laura for a chill out.

Thanks so much both and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

my family and i, together with my two years old boy, went to this hotel in aug 2013. there were a special promotion for this hotel and their pictures were all very nice. when we got there, everything external is great, like the scenery and the hotel design. but the hygiene is absolutely poor. no one ever come to clean our room, even if we called for it, they ladies only came to change the towels and made our bed. the buffet was terrible, lots of flies. and 4 out of 5 of us (incl my little boy) were all sick, either with a sick stomach or diarrhea. the food in lotus restaurant was really average, and i think they should let us know in advance that they didn't offer kids meal as they only had set orders, and they ended up giving us a bowl of cold rice. in general, i'm very disappointed of this club med hotel and i really hesitated if i should go to any other club med hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tiger Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedAP, Club Med Hong Kong at Club Med Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Tiger Y,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay on Club Med Guilin.

Your comments are very important to us. In order to understand more about your recent stay experience, would you please email us your contact details at sales.hongkong@clubmed.com so that we could contact you to learn more about your experience.

Thank you

Yours sincerely,
Club Med Hong Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you want to see the art collection at Yuzi Paradise without staying at the very expensive hotel, it will cost you $100 PER PERSON. This hotel has been taken over by Club Med and they will not let you see the art without paying that amount. We were prepared to pay what it was before the take over, which was $25 per ticket, but not the exorbinant amount they required. I explained I was an art professional (curator) and only wanted to spend an hour or two looking at the art works, but they said there were NO EXCEPTIONS. In my opinion, all art lovers should avoid this hotel in protest of its refusal to allow responsible access to see the art.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 464RAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubMedAP, Customer Relationship at Club Med Guilin, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear 464RAS,
Thank you for your feedback.

Club Med's All-Inclusive concept allows guests within our resort grounds to enjoy all activities, meals, snacks and free flow drinks at the bar. The price quoted is indeed a day pass to enter Club Med, and not only to enjoy the art pieces but the All-Inclusive environment.

It would be very inconvenient (and intrusive) to ask every guest entering the restaurant or getting a drink at the bar if they are here for the day or staying with us for the week. Hence the no exception rule.

As for being expensive, keep in mind that the price of a Club Med holiday includes your accommodation, all meals (breakfast, lunch, dinner) including free flow of beer, wine, juices and other beverages, all-day snacking and free flow drinks at the bar, all activities (eg, archery, trapeze, biking, rock climbing, etc) with equipment and instructions, kids facilities and nightly entertainment.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you and all guests - art lovers or sports enthusiast, to any of our over 80 Resorts around the world!

Kind Regards,
Club Med

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guilin hotels
Aroma Tea House
#3 of 652 in Guilin
167 reviews
Guilinyi Royal Palace
#5 of 652 in Guilin
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
Sheraton Guilin Hotel
#8 of 652 in Guilin
1,226 reviews
Jingxiang Hotel
#6 of 652 in Guilin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Guilin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Guilin

Address: the Junction of Dayan Road and 026 Country Road, Dabu Country, Yanshan District, Guilin 541000, China (Formerly Club Med Guilin Holiday Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Guilin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Guilin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Guilin
#3 Family Hotel in Guilin
#17 Best Value Hotel in Guilin
Price Range: £182 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Guilin 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Club Med and Ctrip TA so you can book your Club Med Guilin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Guilin Hotel Guilin
Of Modern Art Guilin
Of Modern Art Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing