We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, so-so service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel
Ranked #1,108 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Great central location. 3 blocks from the airport bus stop near the Bell Tower; an easy walk to the south gate of the city wall, to the Muslim Quarter near the Drum Tower with many restaurants, or to the Defu Xiang entertainment street. But the hotel seems to be intended mainly for business people as there were no services specifically for tourists, such as tour booking. Attractive modern lobby and rooms. The included breakfast is of the huge buffet type which is common in Chinese business hotels (be sure to bring your breakfast ticket which is issued when you check in, and note the tickets are dated). The desk staff spoke English. Oddly for a business hotel, there was no wifi anywhere in the hotel, and the "business center" for internet access was one old and slow PC in a cramped office next to the lobby, which you have to pay by the minute to use. 335 RMB for a twin room with bath and breakfast in Nov 2012.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the union alliance through china odyssy tours. The location was the best thing about the hotel. It was so close to the shopping strips, resturants and the city wall of Xi'an. The service was ok. Not much smiling or greeting but they did help us with all our requests! This hotel has no wifi. Every afternoon, around the corner is a Dukin donuts with free wifi. We went and got a coffee and our Internet fix!!
The room was quite big for a standard room. We had a king bed and mini bar. Very large shower and lasting hot water which was fantastic for Xi'ans December weather! Overall I would recommend this hotel. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayjays86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Although this hotel is in an excellent location and is cheap enough they do not have internet as advertised, the fridge in our room didn't work and neither did the aircon as it was filthy. We booked a non-smoking room but were given a smoker until we asked to be moved. It is rather run down but reasonably clean. The staff were nice enough but didn't speak a lot of English and charged commission if asked to book anything. My advice, if you stay here, would be to find the Tourist info bureau when you arrive as they are great. To find it walk back to the Bell Tower, turn left and it is 100m or so on the opposite side of the road. Just beyond it in the Muslim Quarter is an excellent market but only pay 1/4 of the asking price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel is in a great location which is the only thing that I would recommend it for.

We had a two night stay here as part of a Travel Indochina Tour.

The rooms were average and decorated in purple. The bathroom was small and had a shower that leaked all over the floor every time you used it.

The staff had little to no English - which is fine except that they did not make any effort to attempt to communicate or assist you. They all looked very disinterested in their job.

Breakfast was awful, cold, with limited selection.

There is no WIFI in the hotel - there was one computer in the buisness centre that you could use and pay for internet. I beleive the hotel is owned by Air China so intermittently you could access this network.

Overall a very dissapointing hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We travel with Indochina Travel and have been very happy. However, their choice of hotels on the Panorama China package was poor. The hotel in Xian was a particular disappointment. The UAA Executive Hotel did not provide the promised standard of room as reserved, the carpets were stained and unvacuumed, the windows to the outside dirty, the desk chair was too damaged to sit in and two bottles of water for two nights (remember you can't drink any of the tap water and use for tooth brushing). On top of that, when we checked out, they charged us for a "damaged" washcloth which we used to clean up some spilled coke on the dresser, saying that they wouldn't be able to get it clean. The City of Xian should not be missed, especially because of the Terra Cotta Warriors but if booked here, be sure to request a hotel change before you go. We're not that fussy but clean and comfortable is a basic requirement.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyBremerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This was the worst bait and switch I have ever experienced.

On several travel websites, there were dozens of pictures posted -- THAT WERE NOT THE ACTUAL HOTEL!! When I asked the English-speaking manager, he said they these were posted by the sales department.

The itinerary also said that there was wireless internet (there was not) and that there is a swimming pool (there is not). Also there is a construction site right across the street, so you get a face full of dust when you walk out the door. My advice -- stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed here recently for 2 nights as part of Intrepid Tour. The rooms are very clean & quite large. Bottled water supplied daily, tea & coffee making facilites & room safe supplied. There is also a small shop in foyer which is very handy for stocking up on supplies. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Easy walking distance to Bell & Drum Towers, Muslim Quarter etc. Buffet breakfast was okay, with a mix of chinese & western. Get in quick for the orange juice, as they fill it up with coke after the juice has run out! Overall, a pleasant stay for the short time we were here.

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter too much what room you stayed. We had friends stay all over the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,652 in Xi'an
1,066 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,652 in Xi'an
1,246 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,652 in Xi'an
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,652 in Xi'an
524 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,652 in Xi'an
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel

Address: No.51 Ximutou Shi, South Street, Xi'an 710002, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#125 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £17 - £23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Alliance Atravis Executive Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing