We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surroundings but not 4*”
Review of Xi'an Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Xi'an Garden Hotel
Ranked #58 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great surroundings but not 4*”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here on an organised tour. This grand looking hotel set in extensive gardens looks impressive on arrival.The rooms however are less impressive. Decor a bit tired, but ok. Not 100% clean but ok. Blackout curtains a bonus. Couldn't use the AC as it brought in cigarette smoke from somewhere else and made the room smell. Evening buffet we thought would be convenient and good value at Y99. But the food was dreadful and cold. Not recommended. The breakfast in the main restaurant was better, lots of choice, hot and cold but mainly traditional Chinese options and seating at large round tables regardless of the number in your party. Nice to wander the hotel gardens.
It is situated a little way outside central Xian but not too far. What is great about the place is the surroundings, a number of parks very close by, a busy area with lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Nearby there is the 500m long fountain with its daily light and sound show at 9pm. There's also the shopping mall with the end to end ceiling LCD screen - the longest in the world allegedly. Very impressive and worth a look. Big Wild goose pagoda also very close.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms have a great view of the inner garden/ courtyard. Beware the AC smells of cigare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your stay at Xi'an Garden Hotel. We appreciate that you reflected the problem about room decoration, smoking smell, evenging buffet and breakfast. our hotel will draw up a plan to redecorate room, discuss with the chef to improve the quality of the evening buffet and breakfast. we hope you and your friends come to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    163
    66
    14
    2
See reviews for
21
55
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our China Tour. We checked into a 'no-smoking' room but the room had either clearly been smoked in at some stage or the smell of tobacco smoke from the hallway outside permeated the room. Opening the window cleared the smell but we closed the window for security when out only for the room to smell of tobacco smoke on our return. The room itself was tired and the bathroom in need of a complete refurb. I don't expect to find black mould in the tiling joints or around the bath. The bed was comfortable though so not all bad. We arrived mid evening on our first night and thought we would try the hotel restaurant which was very quiet, and quite expensive. We were shown to a table and left to peruse the menu, nothing took our fancy and when my wife observed one of the waiting staff picking their nose we decided to leave and try the local area. Breakfast was mainly for the Chinese and was somewhat limited for western tastes. I would hope the hotel is not typical fro Xian and if you are touring then definitely consider somewhere better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your stay at Xi’an garden hotel. we are extremely sorry to hear your experience at our hotel. First, if you are sensitive to smoke, you can inform our reception when you check in, we can arrange non-smoking floor for you. Second, we will strength training staff’s courtesy and behavior. Third, we will give serious consideration to our room inspection and adjust the variety of breakfast. Finally, we appreciated your comment very much.

Yours faithfully
Wang tong
The director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

After a long overland trip from Kathmandu to Xian, via Everest Base Camp and Lhassa in Tibet, the hotel was a welcome site. In a very pretty part of Xian near to the Wild Goose Pagoda, this hotel is fantastic. Clean comfortable bedrooms, great menu, with an excellent breakfast.
There are many parks within a short walk from the hotel including a great water fountain show.
The gardens in the hotel are a great place place to unwind, would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlinalan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
324 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The hotel is nicely located in a quiet part of Xian but having said this, there is a vibrant square just down the road and a good selection of restaurants nearby. We arrived mid evening and were welcomed by the staff. Our room was located at the rear but had a balcony and views over a small garden frequented by many birds. The themed garden area of they hotel contains a few peacocks and a couple of Whooper Swans. The water level was low and all the piping could be seen, detracting from the ambience. The pool was out of use. Breakfast was good, the only meals we ate there but the English type food was scattered around and had to be searched for.
Would I use this hotel again. Yes.

Room Tip: I believe that the Peacocks could be a problem if you have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cotonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spend several days in the Xi'an Garden Hotel and enjoyed it very much. They have a very clean, very nice, very modern, hotel with great authentic Chinese breakfasts. There are several short walks that you can take to catch the evening water fountain shows, the shops, the parks, and the pagodas.
Great location, good authentic food (not american), great service. Five Stars!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the center gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utahartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This hotel is built around a charming traditional Chinese garden and is in a great location very close to the Wild Goose Pagoda and a very lively square and an area with plenty of restaurants, bars etc within (very) easy walking distance.

Our room was nice, and it overlooked the garden - the only possible downside of this was the peacocks who live in the garden (yes, really) can be a bit noisy on occasion, but who can't live with being woken by a peacock, doesn't happen every day :-)

Breakfast was good, however we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant so I won't comment on that, or indeed on the pool/spa which we didn't use.

The only thing that annoyed me about this hotel was the little bar off to one side of the lobby (not the lobby bar itself), which charged us an exorbitant amount for two very tiny glasses of red wine...probably explains why it was so empty!

Overall we really liked this hotel for it's ambience and it's location with easy access to a lively part of Xi'an for an evening stroll.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenhotel x, Director of Sales at Xi'an Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your stay at xi'an garden hotel and your comment about hotel service. regarding your complain, we will look into it seriously, try to find the problem and re-examine our produtcs, price and service procedure. then we will come up with corrective measures to improve our products and service.
We are all looking forward to serving you and your friends in the future.

yours sincerely
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel, overall, contains the traditional look of china within itself. quiet and peaceful. Location wise the hotel gets full marks. Beautiful places including goose pagoda, parks and water show are within walking distance. But room interior renovation is a serious recommendation. Also the reception should be equipped with more English speaking staffs for ease of communication for the foreigners.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ummey Humayra p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
0.8 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,582 in Xi'an
435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tang-paradise Hotel
Tang-paradise Hotel
#170 of 2,582 in Xi'an
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,582 in Xi'an
619 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,582 in Xi'an
642 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Yanta
Atour Hotel Xi'an Yanta
#129 of 2,582 in Xi'an
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xi'an Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xi'an Garden Hotel

Property: Xi'an Garden Hotel
Address: No.40 Yanyin Road, Dayan Ta, Dayan District, Xi'an 710061, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#47 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#58 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Xi'an Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Xian Garden Hotel in Xian, China is located in Yan Yin Road, just 5 minutes off the city center and about 45km from the Xianyang International Airport (SIA). It houses 292 oriental-style guestrooms that are all furnished with modern amenities such as air-conditioning, Internet access, and cable TV. The hotel also offers a number of facilities including three (3) restaurants, a fitness center, and an indoor swimming pool. Hotel services include airline and tour assistance, laundry, and express check-in and checkout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Xi'an Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xi'An Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing