We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tang Dynasty Art Garden hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
Ranked #34 of 2,610 Hotels in Xi'an
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tang Dynasty Art Garden hotel”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very good location but although room was clean, it was dark and cramped. Hotel lobby not very welcoming with plenty of pop-up displays and little seating provided. Pretty gardens but no hotel bar!! The breakfast was very disappointing. Several, large round tables in the breakfast room so having to share with others when busy. The Reception staff were dressed traditionally and were very polite but the hotel doesn't seem to cater for Western guests as only one staff member able to speak English so when she wasn't on duty, the other members were unable to help although they did manage to track her down and the problem was solved. Would have been helpful if they had explained that although the two keys to the room look the same, one does the door entry and the other the power.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    67
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
43
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We spent two nights here at the end of our 35 day trip through China. We found the beautiful surroundings of gardens and water features pleasant.The rooms surrounded the courtyards and everything was on one level.We were tucked away in a little corner in the last courtyard where it was quiet. There was a mix up with the 2 keys that were given to us, but when we couldn't get back into our room the problem was attended to quickly.
It was a comfortable room, the bed was good to sleep in, the bathroom was quaint, especially with the large wooden tub as part of the shower, water hot and the free wi-fi was handy.
The Hotel is in a good location with food outlets and a shopping mall close. The first night we picked up take away pizza and sat in one of the pavilions in the garden with our wine, listening to the rain. Heaven.
At night it's an easy walk to the Water Light Show and street markets close by. Lots of interesting activities happening with line dancing and kite flying with lights at night time and tai chi and badminton in the morning. A music group plays in the central courtyard at night.The Wild Goose Pagoda can be seen from the Hotel. As we were on a private tour and had transport, we found the location met our needs.
The breakfast was average, even though you could order proper coffee as part of the breakfast.
Unfortunately it rained our whole stay and we really didn't get to enjoy the surroundings as much as we would have liked.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Always book hotels based on TA reviews. Only a handful of times have we not agreed with the overall findings. This was one of those times. Can't understand how this is so high up the ratings.
Yes it was a great location. Yes the gardens are very pretty. But you don't sleep in the gardens. In fact you can't even sit and have a drink in the gardens. No bar, not even a drink machine! They are really missing a trick here.
Rooms small, dark and crowded. Bathroom dank and tiny. Breakfast very poor. Staff not unfriendly but certainly not friendly or particularly helpful. And when we had a problem had to wait 15 minutes at reception whilst they found the person who could speak English. In fact the problem itself shows level of service; we had been given 2 key cards to our room. Took one when we went for a walk around the gardens, came back it wouldn't work in door. Went up to reception and when English speaker was finally found she told us "oh but that is the key for the electricity not for the door." They looked identical and we'd not been told that when taken to our rooms. Minor problem but illustrative of how things were.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mandykingkilby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I chose this hotel to stay in during our honeymoon. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms were very nice. It is located near a lot of restaurants and is right next to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda.

Unfortunately, even though the hotel itself was very nice its location was a bit inconvenient when traveling beyond its surroundings. It is not near the city center which means you need transportation to get there. Taxis are pretty much the only way to get around the city (unless you can figure out the bus system which we did take once or twice) and I can say we ran into a lot of taxis trying to overcharge us and not use their meter which is very obnoxious and leaves a bad opinion of the entire city. None of the taxis knew where this hotel was and many got lost on the way. Some even straight up refused to take us back to the hotel and kicked us out of the taxi upon giving them the card. The taxi card that they provide isn't very useful and the taxis had a difficult time deciphering it.

The staff was nice enough, but spoke very little english which made it a little difficult to be in Xi'an because we felt very alone. My husband got sick and I needed a pharmacy. When I asked the front desk, I was given very vague directions on how to get there and had to pull up my phone to ask random stores where it was.

All in all it's a nice hotel and if you speak Chinese or don't care about traversing the city 100% alone without possibility of help then it really is a nice place to stay. I enjoyed the courtyards and we had a little deck outside our room to eat on.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Fantastic location within easy walking distance to restaurants, the fountain show, a myriad of parks. (Wander around early in the morning to find groups doing Tai Chi and line dancing!) The rooms are clean and well equipped, with good wifi (a rarity). Breakfast is excellent, including gourmet coffees. The only drawback is that this is the centerpiece hotel for a new (within 10 years) tourist center so it's a little short on authenticity and the area is jammed with domestic tourists.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back courtyard, a little less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyW260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

5/5 the exterior and interior common areas of the hotel are simply beautiful, elegant and enjoyable, location is super central, best espresso coffee in China we had.
4/5 bed part of the room, internet connection, toiletry.
3/5 bathroom (narrow, smelly and not very well mantained), breakfast (99rmb is overpriced for this quality), noises from the neighbouring park including early morning.
Overall it is a good choice if you have to stay very shortly in the room and you can profit from the relax in the garden or from the park.
I do not agree with some comments below, personnel spoke enough english to have it all clear and sorted out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgentOrangeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked this place for a two night stay in Xian. We came o visit the terracotta army and decided to extend the stay for another night as we liked Xian.
The surroundings of the hotel are great with parks, shopping malls and a market style alley with attractions.
The hotel itself is nicely built with places to sit in the patio. Very relaxed and tranquil.

Our room was big wit a living room area and a small elevated area with mats and a computer.
Ideal for a family with two children as our.

The hotel was difficult to find for the taxi driver and there was no sign mentioned the name of the hotel in English language.
Also the front desk personnel hardly spoke or understood any English.
The breakfast was mediocre to say the least and staff seemed to be unable to cope with the regular service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RoderichH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,610 in Xi'an
660 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embassador International Hotel
2.4 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#30 of 2,610 in Xi'an
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,610 in Xi'an
656 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Xi'an Dayan Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel

Property: Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel
Address: No.6-1 Furong East Road, Qujiang New Area, Yanta District, Xi'an 710061, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#31 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#51 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tang Dynasty Art Garden Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing