We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short stop good price hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn City Centre Xian
Ranked #78 of 2,692 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Right in the centre of main high street Xi'an. Could not get better. Strange entrance as one registers upstairs, downstairs is a travel agent. Large rooms, quiet even though facing main street traffic. Very helpful staff. Great rate. Buffet breakfast with good range of western and chinese dishes. Excellent housekeeping. Great value for money. Ask for the rooms on the higher floors.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank 2012sunilmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Our stay began with a long wait to check in even though it was late at night with a handful of people in line. Next downer was realizing there was no wifi on our floor, we had to go to another floor and sit on a hard bench and hope the internet would work. This place is definitely not in the city center, about 10+ minutes to walk to the city center and maybe more to the Muslim street. The bus stop is maybe 5 minutes away.
I would consider this place below the standard of the typical Days Inn in America. Slippers are provided in the room and I wouldn't touch the carpet without them. The AC wouldn't get cold, which was extremely frustrating in the August heat wave.
Interestingly, there is a Chinese bath/massage facility on one of the floors. We wanted to get Chinese foot massage, so my husband, who is originally from China and so speaks fluent Chinese, called the number in the hotel directory. They (apparently) told him there was the regular massage and the 'beautiful girl' option, and the 'foreign' girl option....sooooo, he explained that he and his wife seriously just wanted a foot massage. We went to massage/spa place, which was not very nice or professional, but the foot massage was actually very good, and cheap. I recommend it after a long day. Although we were pretty creeped out at first.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 746travelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in November. Check in/out was efficient and friendly. Little English but we are ok with that. Everybody tried their best and in the end we all understood one another.

Hotel is in a prime location but on my CityMapstoGo app it is not marked properly nor is it based on google maps so be mindful if using these resources. The hotel is a five minute walk from Bell Tower; 10 minutes from the Muslim Quarter; 20 minutes from where airport bus picks up/drops off and 30 minutes walk to city gate entrance!!

Laundry and tours with hotel are ridiculously priced but we found a hostel five minutes up the road (Bell Tower International Hostel) that did our laundry for us and offered compatible tours at rock bottom prices. Beer was cheap there too!

The hotel itself was a little weary and could use a little "sprucing up!!"

Beds were comfy and there was heaps of space in the room. Carpets are a worn but slippers are provided. Room amenities included the standard toothbrush, hair products etc and also items for purchase were displayed in a wicker basket in bathroom (underwear, condoms and vibrating tongue rings). I say this latter part should you be travelling with children or teenagers you might want a heads up on this item!

I left my purse at a previous hotel and the staff at Days Inn were VERY helpful in helping me get the Chinese address of where I needed the bag sent to. They also called my previous hotel and forwarding hotel to explain the matter and arrange postal procedures.

If in Xi'an again I would stay here due to location & affordability. It isn't the Hilton but it is a bit better than the $40CAN we paid for.




  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LG-lifesgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Excellent rooms but hotel is in rather run down area although taxis to town very cheap. Hotel service at best inept and often surly. Main bar closed at 10 and cheapest bottle of wine in the other smaller bar was £70+. No wine by the glass. Breakfast room very crowded and service very slow particularly coffee which was from a domestic type machine and you had to queue.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ST0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Location wise is perfect, right in the middle of the main street, walking distance to everything you need in the city.

Price was quite cheap.

The hotel itself was quite ok - excellent room and vast chinese breakfast with just some western "snacks".

The problem I had was communicating with the staff especially in the evening. They were not able to pass a phone call to my room!!! (since the night staff didnt speak a word in English).

During the day, they had an english speaker running around hence we could sort out issues easily.

If only the stuff would improve on their english......

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clint S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Only 5min walk from the Drum and Bell towers, and 2 min from the Muslim Quarter, which has some of the best souvenir and street food shopping you'll see in China!

However, the air-con didn't work, they tried to fix it and gave up. The toilet blocked repeatedly, there was a small hole in the bathtub and the bathroom would flood.

Hardest bed I have ever slept in as well. Its like concrete.

The included "western buffet" breakfast consisted of toast (on one side of the bread), and cereal with hot milk, and a fried egg.

Staff spoke next to no English, which I don't mind so much, but even when having a friend translate, they were not helpful. I genuinely hate giving bad reviews, but this one was a bit of a bad egg.

But for location, you won't find better.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very loud, bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Plus points: Cheap, good location . Thats it.

Really disappointed with days inn chain expected far better even for a budget hotel. Hotel really old rooms big but really rundown in need of refurbishment, paint , new carpet. Aircon was shocking, nights way to hot, other people with the same problem. Room smelt of smoke even though non smoking room. Staff appeared friendly but very limited English. Breakfast pretty poor. Beds very hard. Wish we had paid slightly more for a better budget hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,692 in Xi'an
1,268 reviews
0 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,692 in Xi'an
1,093 reviews
0 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,692 in Xi'an
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,692 in Xi'an
542 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#9 of 2,692 in Xi'an
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn City Centre Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn City Centre Xian

Address: No.99 North Main Street, Lianhu District, Xi'an, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Downtown , Lianhu District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#73 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £23 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn City Centre Xian 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn City Centre Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn City Centre Xian Hotel Xi`An
Days Inn City Centre Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing