We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have a burn on your luggage rack, it might have been me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ranked #36 of 2,653 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The previous Trip Advisor reviews of Ramada Bell Tower paint a clear picture of the hotel. But, having tried many Chinese hotels over the years, this one is above average. The below is my impression of the two rooms, your results could differ.

Pros

The room was very clean. I had plenty of hot water. The air conditioner could lower the temperature (given time and encouragement) to about 70F/21C. The bed is soft by Chinese standards. My hardwire internet was fast and reliable. The location is great, about 1/2 mile from the Bell and Drum towers, about 1.5 miles from the South Gate.

Cons

My room had two foyer lights that were on the same circuit as the AC, so I had a choice. Use the AC with the lights on, or no AC and the lights off. I tried to block the light with a sock and thus a fire. The sock caught on fire and fell to the furniture below. The fire burned the sock, part of a paper bag, and part of the vinyl top of the baggage stand. My smoke detector did not work. The smoke briefly woke me, but I thought the smell was cigarette smoke and fell back asleep. In America, a non-working smoke alarm is a 1 star. In China, about par for the course.

The shower design is bad. The tub has a raised edge, so that water is routed out of the tub onto the floor. The hand shower is unmovable and set at about 3 feet high. There is an overhead shower that sends water over the tub edge and onto the floor.

Neutral

I do not know about the check-in process as my assistant handled that, I was not asked for my passport. The room design issues previously noted are correct, but the large room size compensated. I was on the building side, on the 12th floor, and traffic noise was not an issue.

The water was a bit cloudy, but I think was a Xi’an issue not a Ramada issue.

I spoke to my Chinese assistant; she felt the hotel was one of the better ones she has seen in China. She was pleased with all aspects of the hotel, except for the ability to call a taxi to the hotel.

All in, the hotel was about $90 per night. For that price and location, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bufordshighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for your stay in our hotel.The comments were very useful for us. We would ask the ENG to fix the lights and shower pipe.We were so sorry about the noise and next time you arrive in our hotel we could arrange a quiet room for you.We would look forward for your next coming.

Thank you again for choose our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a very sizable room on the 15th floor. The room was nearly spotless and came with free Wi-Fi and a desktop computer. Although I am not sure go to any sites that require your username and password on a Chinese computer. There was a long area along the bed where the carpet met the wall that had sharp nail tops sticking out. Be mindful as it would be easy to impale a foot. We were on the 15th floor but any spectacular view was negated by large concrete pillars blocking the window. The hotel is in a great central location with 2 banks next door. The staff did not speak great English but then again, you are in their country so it is very understandable. The breakfast was buffet-style and massive. There were tons of Western and Chinese options. My wife wasn’t feeling well after a long day of sightseeing so we reluctantly went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. And it ended up being amazing! It was also buffet-style but even larger than the breakfast spread. There were ample Western and Chinese options to include spicy pepper noodles, various stir-fries, and frog legs. I’d also highly recommend asking for the fondue-style pot and cooking up many of the meat and vegetable dishes they have available. If you’re so inclined, all drinks are included in the buffet—to include all you can drink local beer. Just be sure and ask for it cold or it comes out room temperature. Don’t plan on sleeping in here though. Breakfast ends at 9 but on weekdays that might not be a factor. Thankfully we were already awake by 7:30 as the school directly adjacent began blaring songs and speaking over a loudspeaker as the kids did their morning exercise. It lasted at least 30 minutes as it was still going on when we left the room at 8. If your room faces the school, there is no way you are sleeping through that. Also, the check-out procedures seemed to drag on for more than 20 minutes. I’m not sure if that was due to the Chinese habit of cutting others in line or that they seemed to argue every line item of their bill. Either way, get there early or you might end up running late. All in all, an excellent hotel in a great area with a well-above average restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for your stay in our hotel.We would asked the ENG to fix the nail at once and sorry about the school morning exercise made some noise.We could supply a quieter room when you come to our hotel next time.Also we would do more training about English and check-out procedures.

Thank you again for your suggestions so that we could know the problems and looking forward for your next coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for two nights for sight seeing. The room was clean and spacious. WiFi access acceptable. Ideal location near the bell tower and walking street. Breakfast was OK, wide selection. However, the gym was terrible. Two broken treadmills and an old pathetic 1st generation elliptical.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our hotel. We had already knew the problem you mentioned about Health Center. We would ask the ENG to fix the machines or change some new fitness equipment. Thank you again for your suggestions and look forward to your next coming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel was perfect stayed 2 nights air conditioner worked great, very clean staff very friendly , booked our tour to xi an warriors through the hotel and we found out they were very fair on there prices, the hotel is about 2 blocks always from the Muslim street great place for food and spending the night. The location and the hotel is perfect ,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel.It would be our honor to service you. We look forward to your next coming.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Visited Xian, stayed at Ramada Bell Tower. Room was comfortable but air conditioning was not working, took doona out of cover and just used cover. Only stayed 1 night, we were travelling with friends. Next morning on checkout to my horror my friend was confronted with the most despicable and embarrassing situation. Ladies, if you know that you are going to be experiencing a period during your stay, be advised that if an accident occurs during the night, you will be charged with extra cleaning costs and the evidence will be shown to you in the lobby. They do not appear to have any shame! The cost to her was 10 yuan. I have to say that thanks to our guide who contacted the manager the money was refunded, however who would do such a thing? Xian is just fantastic and the warriors are simply amazing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were staying for 3 nights at the beginning of April.
First of all, the air conditioning was not working so the room became pretty warm. Despite of its modern design, the room was not practical, lack of space for placing your stuff, and strangely located light interrupters. Internet was also extremely low.
However this would have been just fine, if it weren't due to the crappy tour company that the hotel runs. Due to this fantastic business they have, those working on reception affirm they cannot call a taxi for you because it is not allow to park in front of the hotel. Of course what they can do it is to offer you one of their private cars. The problem is that this increase the price of the ride drastically. Example, we were asked to pay 50 yuan for a ride to the Shanxi museum. We denied to do it, and got a taxi out, we paid around 30 yuan. Unfortunately the last day we were loaded with luggage and we had no more option that get the service from this company, which besides everything ask you to get the money in advance. Meaning that we had to pay 150 yuan for a ride to the train station. I´m a bit uncertain but considering a ride from the airport was 80 yuan, I assume we paid basically the double.
Besides the day before we had made the terrible mistake of booking a tour with them. The tour was for visiting the terracotta warriors and afterwards seeing some kind of Chinese show. We were told that the tickets were purchased additionally and on site. What we were never told was that we it was obligatory to buy them, because according to them, a deposit of 30% of the price was paid in advance. It may sound stupid from us, for you that are reading this, but when the staff could barely speak English, it took basically one hour to pay with the credit card, and they don't give you written information about what you have actually committed to do, it is not that simple to guess...
Anyway, the day of the visit, we were caught in a big traffic jam, which means that it took 3 hours to reach the terracotta warriors, instead of one, not their fault, of course. Our English guide (we paid for her additionally) was insisting to us to go to some kind of factory, after telling her three times that we were not interested we managed to go directly to see the warriors. During our visit there, she seemed to be in a big rush, since she was basically not waiting for us to seeing everything. Aditionally, her main interest about the site was that we should meet the farmer who found at first the warriors in the 70's, because he was sitting and signing books there everyday. Meaning --> she wanted us to buy the books...
Considering we were delayed, we asked her to skip the lunch that she wanted us to take. We wanted to make it to see the city wall, so we thought to take a snack, reach the city, visit the wall, and go directly for dinner after. At first she said yes, but when we entered the car she said that no, that we had to stop for lunch. So, the next was that she decided where we should eat and she left us to eat and order alone without saying a single word. Just remember that we had paid for her to be with us. So at this point we were quite disappointed with the whole situation.
Finally we arrived to Xi'an around 17, we were fed up with them, and we wanted to see the city wall. Since we thought it was not time for everything we decided to cancel the activity of the evening. We got of course very surprise when the girl told us that that was not possible and started a huge argument about it. Of course, the most she was arguing, the least we wanted to join the show in the evening. As I said before she was asking us to pay 30% of the price of the tickets (360 yuan), after some discussion, she started with the fantastic bargaining attitude. Anyway, since we felt bad for her, as she was insisting she should pay it herself and also to avoid to destroy our day, finally we decided to pay her a part of the ticket.
Summing up, it is not about paying 50 yuan, when I should pay 30, since 20 yuan is very little money, what I don't like is to feel that they are stealing me.
The only positive thing of this hotel was a very useful man in the entrance that could speak good English and was always eager to help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sbe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was our first, and will be our last, stay at a Ramada.

First issue is the room temperature. The air conditioning does not work as it is turned off. We were not told about this before hand, so after a night of swealtering 27℃ we do complained to be told that they don't turn aircon on till the end of April... They offered us a bottle of free water. Which is already free in the room. They said it was a government requirement not to provide aircon. Other hotels in the area do not seem to be subject to such rules.

Then we read about a dumpling restaurant that sounded nice and asked the concierge about it. He was helpful, but then a girl from the hotel said she would take us there. We said we were fine, but she insisted. When we got there she lied to us that we had to do a set menu as the a la carte menu was not available. We didn't have any reason to doubt her at the time, then she insisted we pay up front. We did this, she took her commission and disappeared. We then found that other people were ordering a la carte.


Next, the morning of our checkout, brown sludge and foam was coming out of the bathroom tap. We had to leave for the airport so informed the hotel staff and left.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.9 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#35 of 2,653 in Xi'an
356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#56 of 2,653 in Xi'an
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,653 in Xi'an
526 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Xian Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Xian Bell Tower

Address: No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#34 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £27 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Xian Bell Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Xian Bell Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Ramada Xian Bell Tower China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing