We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, typical Ramada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ranked #45 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
268 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good location, typical Ramada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Typical Ramada is not meant as a slight, but it was the only "chain" hotel we stopped at.

It was clean and the staff were very good.

Location was great, walking to the Bell and Drum towers as well as restaurants and shops.

We did prefer the quaint hotels we stayed at for the other locations, and would probably look for something similar if going back to Xi'an, but would also be happy to stay here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying in our hotel.We look forward for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    89
    61
    15
    16
See reviews for
41
72
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The Bell tower is well located but that is all that is good.During my stay ,the first room I was given had a mattress with no spring left in the boxes.It was sagging to the extent you could feel the metal..I asked for a change and they obliged with free upgrade.This time the bed was so hard,had to sleep with 2 blankets under me.Air conditioners barely function .Staff was helpful.
Won't use it again.

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We were so sorry to hear about the problems you met in our hotel.We would ask the ENG to check the mattress and AC at once.Also every room would have periodic inspections.It was helpful for your comments and we would do our best to improve and look forward for your next coming.

Thank you again for your stay in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Atlanta Georgia area
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The previous Trip Advisor reviews of Ramada Bell Tower paint a clear picture of the hotel. But, having tried many Chinese hotels over the years, this one is above average. The below is my impression of the two rooms, your results could differ.

Pros

The room was very clean. I had plenty of hot water. The air conditioner could lower the temperature (given time and encouragement) to about 70F/21C. The bed is soft by Chinese standards. My hardwire internet was fast and reliable. The location is great, about 1/2 mile from the Bell and Drum towers, about 1.5 miles from the South Gate.

Cons

My room had two foyer lights that were on the same circuit as the AC, so I had a choice. Use the AC with the lights on, or no AC and the lights off. I tried to block the light with a sock and thus a fire. The sock caught on fire and fell to the furniture below. The fire burned the sock, part of a paper bag, and part of the vinyl top of the baggage stand. My smoke detector did not work. The smoke briefly woke me, but I thought the smell was cigarette smoke and fell back asleep. In America, a non-working smoke alarm is a 1 star. In China, about par for the course.

The shower design is bad. The tub has a raised edge, so that water is routed out of the tub onto the floor. The hand shower is unmovable and set at about 3 feet high. There is an overhead shower that sends water over the tub edge and onto the floor.

Neutral

I do not know about the check-in process as my assistant handled that, I was not asked for my passport. The room design issues previously noted are correct, but the large room size compensated. I was on the building side, on the 12th floor, and traffic noise was not an issue.

The water was a bit cloudy, but I think was a Xi’an issue not a Ramada issue.

I spoke to my Chinese assistant; she felt the hotel was one of the better ones she has seen in China. She was pleased with all aspects of the hotel, except for the ability to call a taxi to the hotel.

All in, the hotel was about $90 per night. For that price and location, I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bufordshighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for your stay in our hotel.The comments were very useful for us. We would ask the ENG to fix the lights and shower pipe.We were so sorry about the noise and next time you arrive in our hotel we could arrange a quiet room for you.We would look forward for your next coming.

Thank you again for choose our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a very sizable room on the 15th floor. The room was nearly spotless and came with free Wi-Fi and a desktop computer. Although I am not sure go to any sites that require your username and password on a Chinese computer. There was a long area along the bed where the carpet met the wall that had sharp nail tops sticking out. Be mindful as it would be easy to impale a foot. We were on the 15th floor but any spectacular view was negated by large concrete pillars blocking the window. The hotel is in a great central location with 2 banks next door. The staff did not speak great English but then again, you are in their country so it is very understandable. The breakfast was buffet-style and massive. There were tons of Western and Chinese options. My wife wasn’t feeling well after a long day of sightseeing so we reluctantly went to the hotel restaurant for dinner. And it ended up being amazing! It was also buffet-style but even larger than the breakfast spread. There were ample Western and Chinese options to include spicy pepper noodles, various stir-fries, and frog legs. I’d also highly recommend asking for the fondue-style pot and cooking up many of the meat and vegetable dishes they have available. If you’re so inclined, all drinks are included in the buffet—to include all you can drink local beer. Just be sure and ask for it cold or it comes out room temperature. Don’t plan on sleeping in here though. Breakfast ends at 9 but on weekdays that might not be a factor. Thankfully we were already awake by 7:30 as the school directly adjacent began blaring songs and speaking over a loudspeaker as the kids did their morning exercise. It lasted at least 30 minutes as it was still going on when we left the room at 8. If your room faces the school, there is no way you are sleeping through that. Also, the check-out procedures seemed to drag on for more than 20 minutes. I’m not sure if that was due to the Chinese habit of cutting others in line or that they seemed to argue every line item of their bill. Either way, get there early or you might end up running late. All in all, an excellent hotel in a great area with a well-above average restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for your stay in our hotel.We would asked the ENG to fix the nail at once and sorry about the school morning exercise made some noise.We could supply a quieter room when you come to our hotel next time.Also we would do more training about English and check-out procedures.

Thank you again for your suggestions so that we could know the problems and looking forward for your next coming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for two nights for sight seeing. The room was clean and spacious. WiFi access acceptable. Ideal location near the bell tower and walking street. Breakfast was OK, wide selection. However, the gym was terrible. Two broken treadmills and an old pathetic 1st generation elliptical.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your stay in our hotel. We had already knew the problem you mentioned about Health Center. We would ask the ENG to fix the machines or change some new fitness equipment. Thank you again for your suggestions and look forward to your next coming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
169 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Hotel was perfect stayed 2 nights air conditioner worked great, very clean staff very friendly , booked our tour to xi an warriors through the hotel and we found out they were very fair on there prices, the hotel is about 2 blocks always from the Muslim street great place for food and spending the night. The location and the hotel is perfect ,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexshanshan, Admin Assistant at Ramada Xian Bell Tower, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel.It would be our honor to service you. We look forward to your next coming.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Visited Xian, stayed at Ramada Bell Tower. Room was comfortable but air conditioning was not working, took doona out of cover and just used cover. Only stayed 1 night, we were travelling with friends. Next morning on checkout to my horror my friend was confronted with the most despicable and embarrassing situation. Ladies, if you know that you are going to be experiencing a period during your stay, be advised that if an accident occurs during the night, you will be charged with extra cleaning costs and the evidence will be shown to you in the lobby. They do not appear to have any shame! The cost to her was 10 yuan. I have to say that thanks to our guide who contacted the manager the money was refunded, however who would do such a thing? Xian is just fantastic and the warriors are simply amazing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laurel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.7 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#56 of 2,550 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.8 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#32 of 2,550 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mehood Hotel (Lianhu Road)
Mehood Hotel (Lianhu Road)
#41 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Xian Bell Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Xian Bell Tower

Property: Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Address: No.79 North Street, Xi'an 71003, China (Formerly Ramada Bell Tower Xi'an)
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#37 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Xian Bell Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Xian Bell Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Bell Tower Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Ramada Xian Bell Tower China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing