We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay November 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
Ranked #11 of 2,659 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Check-in, concierge, bell boy, restaurant - very professional staff. Location is far from city center but very close to underground/subway station. Breakfast very good. Rooms very nice. Ambience good. Staff could speak a little more English specially being a Sheraton property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica w, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Bonita B,

Greetings from Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel. Thank you for your valuable feedback. This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Sheraton service standards and quality. We will enhance the professional language training to our staff and do our best to ensure a better experience on your next visit.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

This relatively new hotel is quite spectacular in its architectural design but is extremely user-unfriendly. The lights in our room were operated by pressing tiny white buttons with unilluminated lettering (in Chinese and English) that practically required a magnifying glass to read. Certain lights were operated by buttons in the opposite side of the room. The large, hard pillows were uncomfortable.

The large bathroom was terrible in many respects. There was no place near the bathtub to hang a towel. The door to the toilet would not stay closed, but stayed open about 1.5 inches, providing no privacy. The door on the shower was hinged on the wrong side, forcing a user to squeeze their body against the shower knobs and pipes just to get into the shower. The shower drain is a slot in the floor and didn’t drain, so after several minutes the floor part of the shower would overflow, wetting the floor of the whole bathroom (actually forcing an early end to the shower so the overflow didn’t occur). The hand-held shower was operated by turning a knob to the position of an icon showing a bathtub filling. Despite the size of the bathroom, there was almost no counter space, so we had to spread our stuff on the floor.

The bar area off the lobby didn’t work for us. There is a no-smoking section of the bar, but servers tended to ignore people sitting there. And it was located where you couldn’t see the musical performer. There are no shops in the hotel. The buffet breakfast had many choices, but the arrangement was poor and crowded. Very freshly squeezed orange juice was available, but located away from other breakfast juices so easily missed.

Although I have been a Starwood Preferred Guest for twenty years, front desk personnel were rudely clear that I would receive no benefits from them. The hotel is located in a non-descript part of the city well outside the city walls. Xi’an is a lovely city and there must be better places to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica w, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Nettraveler,

Greetings from Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip and take time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We have taken on all the points you have provided us and do rest assured that we have reviewed your comments with our respective department heads to implement measures for improvement concerning our hardware and guest service that you have commented on.

We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards. We sincerely hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Good:
Staff at club lounge are friendly, though English could be better. We stayed 3 nights, by breakfast on the 2nd day, the staff there knew our 2 kids' names.
Breakfasts are good and offer pretty decent selection.
Location is good, next door from subway line 2. A block away from many street food vendors and across the street from a shopping complex called "renrenle".
Our suite is nice and spacious and hotel ground is clean.
Pool is nice and clean with very nice locker room.

Not so good:
We had a car prearranged to pick us up from the airport, but no show (no, our flight did not arrive early). My husband called the hotel and asked where our transport was, but was hung up on...twice! So we took a taxi from the taxi que. Lo and behold, the reserved driver must have decided to show up and called the hotel. The hotel called us then, asking where we were. Funny how all of a sudden the phone worked just fine! My husband told them we were already about 15 minutes away from the airport.
Upon checking in, we were put in room 1231. A non smoking room with smoking smell. We arrived very late, and was too tired to do much complaining with 2 kids in tow.
The AC-as many reviewers stated, is pre-set by the hotel. The 1st night, the temperature did not go below 24 degrees, regardless of 18 degrees setting. We complained the next morning, but again, like other reviewers here, nothing was done.
Our room had no DVD player. There's a cable for one, but no DVD player. We remembered it while having refreshments at the club lounge, so my husband talked to the club service desk and asked if they could send someone to bring a DVD player to our room. The lady didn't understand. So, we decided to just call from our room. 20 minutes after calling, someone knocked on the door, said "ni hao", handed me a DVD player with HDMI cable, and walked away. Ok fine. I attempted to install it myself (hubby was away), no big deal, except for the fact I needed to get the HDMI cable hooked to the back of the flat screen TV that is well fitted into the wall. I wasn't going to risk breaking/dropping the TV. So I called down to have someone come and install. The receptionist said "just one minute" put me on hold, then came back on line several seconds later by saying "hello?", so I had to start my explanation over. I expect disconnect conversations while in China, just not at a suposed 5 star hotel. Anyway, another 20 minutes, and someone did finally come and installed the DVD player. Such a hassle for a small thing.
One small thing, not to sound petty, but 3 nights and I couldn't figure out how to turn off certain lights in the master bath, or master hallway once they're on. So I ended up having to turn off the master switch, which turned ALL lights off in the whole room, then I can turn on only the lights I wanted on. No big deal, just a little quirky.

All and all, if you're expecting your room be below 23 degrees in the summer, forget about it. Listen to the many reviewers here who complained about the AC situation, because they were all correct! The managerial response that they will make improvements does not include improving the AC situation. Other than that, it's a nice hotel to stay in. If you could somehow avoid having conflicts to where you need to communicate with the hotel staff, it would make for a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica w, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Farida P,

Greetings from Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed with the challenges you encounted on arrival and during your stay.

We are also appreciative of your positive feedback for our club lounge service and hotel location.

First and foremost, Please accept our apologies for the convenience caused. We are following up on your comments and look to improve the areas you have mentioned and adress them with relevant teams.

This is only through guests' comments like yours that we are able to improve and maintain the Sheraton service standards and quality. We look forward to seeing you again in our hotel and will do our best to ensure a better experience on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a China-wide tour. The hotel is not in the centre of the city, but it is absolutely gorgeous, clean and comfortable. The breakfast, which was complementary, was buffet style and included a huge variety.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica w, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Lucie Z,

Greetings from Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel.Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide your comments following your recently stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience when you shared with us. Our breakfast buffet has always been highly recommended by our guests with a wide range of selection and fresh & tasty food presents.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Xi'an North City hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The hotel is pretty much brand new. The hotel staff were not rude, but not really helpful to say the least. They were not really trained to handle the crowd at the restaurant. During the breakfast time, they didn't manage to ask customers to queue up. Everything was a mess. The chefs at the restaurants were generally rude and indifferent. When I was waiting at the noodle section, they would not ask or bother to tell me what to do. I had literally waited there for 3 minutes without any service.

The hotel is next to subway station and it is easy to get around the city of Xian easily. But the staff were reluctant to call us a cab. When they finally did, the cab driver didn't use the meter. Well, this didn't bother me too much as it happened very often during my travel. But the cab had strong mildew smell and the mat the cab driver put on the seat was damp. I could feel the wetness through my pants. Rolling down the window didn't help to get rid of the smell. The whole experience was awful and unpleasant.

The hotel room is surprisingly small given that the hotel is situated in a suburb where the price of land is relatively cheap. The bathroom has a sliding door on two sides so that customers could open it, making the room look bigger.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karmaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica w, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Kamaexlporer,

Greetings from Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip and take time to provide us your valuable feedback.

First and foremost, please accept our apologies for the events that have given you a less satisfactory impression. We have taken on the points you have provided us and do rest assured that we have reviews your comments with our respective department heads to implement measures for improvement concerning our guest services that you have concerned.

For the taxi drvier, All the taxi operation in Xi'an managed by taxi management office. If you have a question or dissatisfaction with the taxi price or service , please call management complaints telephone: 029-88624590., you can also contact our hotel guest service manager to help you contact them to protect your consumer rights.

We thank you again for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards. We sincerely hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

There were eleven of us who stayed at this five-star hotel in Xian. I had booked another five-star hotel but my China operator suggested I give the Sheraton a try. I was pleasantly surprised. The room and adjoining bathroom were extremely spacious. The room was fresh and clean with no stains or cigarette burns anywhere. The main restaurant offered a blow-out dinner with Chinese and Japanese cuisine as well as western food. The staff was enthusiastic and the service was friendly. The porters were fast and efficient. The laundry was expensive but for a five star hotel, one expects prices for laundry to be high anyhow. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aumkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica w, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Aumkathleen,

Greetings from Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel. Thank you for your shared and praised. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are very rewarding and all our staff will proud to learn about it. Thank you again for your confidence in our hotel. We sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The spacious room with its excellent bathroom and very comfortable bed was really appreciated following our internal flight. There is a large bath and an easy to control, powerful shower as well as an iron and board .Basic toiletries are also available for the absent minded.
I enjoyed a breakfast of Korean sushi and a seaweed salad( Chinese, British/American, Japanese options are all available, but for me , trips to such exotic destinations are enhanced by new eating experiences and the quality here is excellent.
If you want something more familiar to eat, then Pizza Hut, KFC and McD are all within a short walking distance and there is a very good Dumpling restaurant in the centre ( just between the Bell Tower and the Drum Tower) which is worth a visit , especially at night when the centre is lit up ( but as usual , be careful of pickpockets). Also be careful on the roads- they are lethal!
If you do travel out from the hotel, remember to take a card for the hotel with you , as there are two Sheratons in the town and the taxi drivers do not speak much English as a rule.
If you are seeking some entertainment, the Tang Dynasty Dinner venue is worth a visit and very popular. Ask at the hotel for details. The food and food service fell well below my expectations, but the floor show was a colourful and spectacular display of traditional Chinese music and dance
I really enjoyed my two night stay and would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streetdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jessica w, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Streetdragon,

Greetings from Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel. Thank you for your shared and praised. We strive to provide our guests with consistantly extrodinary experiences in every facet of their stay. We are glad to hear that you had a good experience when you shared with us.

We look forward to seeing you again and hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
5.5 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,659 in Xi'an
740 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,659 in Xi'an
1,258 reviews
6.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,659 in Xi'an
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
6.2 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,659 in Xi'an
505 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
Sheraton Xi'an Hotel
#20 of 2,659 in Xi'an
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel

Address: No.32 Weiyang Road, Xi'an 710014, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#8 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#44 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £76 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 491
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Xi'An North City Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing