We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay for restroom stops but...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of McDonald's

McDonald's
Ranked #122 of 1,671 Restaurants in Xi'an
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Okay for restroom stops but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Don't drink the soda or juices made with local water. The food was okay but we played it safe drinking the bottled water with our meal, after all, why else would they carry it?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ISwimalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    14
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Don't knock it..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We were struggling to find something to eat that we knew what it was so dived into McDonalds, everything is in Chinese but they 'whip out' the English version of the menu when they see you coming, very good! handy if you need something quickly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank goafishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
207 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“AVOID Train station branch - terrible staff!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

The food was ok, just normal low quality McDonalds stuff, that you sometimes need if you're in a rush, but quite simply the attitude of the staff at this Western-owned franchise was appalling. To begin with they refused to change a cola for a shake (the usual thing I do adding a couple of extra RMB on) and said it was policy. When I rather strongly questioned this lie myself and my Chinese wife were given abuse and rudeness. Later the manager came out and instead of apologising reinforced the position of the staff and refused to speak with a foreigner (me) only to my wife. Absolutely shocking in terms of management and overall attitude. I hope all people who come out of the train station, many of them foreigners, avoid this place like the plague.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiJames77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
230 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Be careful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

Because there is a language barrier, they use photo menus for English speakers to order. A common complaint (by Americans, Canadians, Central and South Americans in our group) is that what you get is not what you thought you saw. But this is understandable because the food is cook to Chinese customs and preferences. The chicken they like is not necessarilty chicken to us! Even the fries are different (cold and hard!).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank winwinwin333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So glad to see the golden arches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I know, I know...but you can only have so much "authentic" Chinese food before you really miss some semblance of home. I was so extremely appreciative to have my diminutive "large" coffee!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to McDonald's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing