We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big hotel in the middle of a bad area”
Review of Hilton Xi'an

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Xi'an
Ranked #5 of 2,658 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

At the moment you arrive at this hotel you find a massive and very impressive lobby, But it finishes there. The Hilton rooms in most places are almost the same; at this Xian Hilton the bathroom tub faced the beds with a curtain to pull down over the floor to ceiling glass.
But the biggest problem with the Xian Hotel is its location. The view from the room we were assigned overlooked a tenament, in the most sad dirty alley. When we asked to be changed the front desk personnel say "there is nothing wrong with your room and there is not other room available". However we were able to finally speak directly with the front desk manager, and she personally took us to look at other rooms and was helpful to finally change our room to overlook a more pleasant patio area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smallbearPolonorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDominicBrennan, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear smallbearPolonorte,

Thank you for your recent review. Thank you for your nice comments on the impressive lobby and for our helpful manager who changed your room due to facing local people’s residences

The location of the hotel is excellent, just inside the 800 year old city wall. In fact only a five minute walk away. We are also a nice 25 minute stroll to the city Bell Tower, which is the centre of town and well connected to all of Xi’an’s major attractions, offices and exhibition centres. The tenaments close by belong to Xi’an city residents. That is people’s homes and I can say they are very friendly neighbours, it’s a very safe environment and offers heaps of local culture. Many of our guests just really enjoy this area and I am sorry that you did not.

You may reach me off line if I can help in any other way.

Best regards
Dominic Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,258 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

After Beijing this Hotel was nearly as good, we found the staff excellent and the food was very good, It was well placed for some of the attractions in the area. The City wall, and Bell Towers were a reasonable walk away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MervDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDominicBrennan, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the ancient Xi'an city. Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience with us. Thank you for your good comments on our location, food and service.

Except senic spots nearby, there are some other wonderful places in Xi'an worth your visit, such us Mount Hua, Huaqing Spring Festival, Famen Temple and so on. Maybe you can come back and stay here again. We look forward to seeing you again. Safe Travel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Hilton Xi'an is within easy walking distance of the old city wall and gate. There are many trade businesses that operate on the roads where we walked enroute to the city wall and it was very interesting to see how the locals operate their businesses and workshops.

There were no good restaurants nearby.

The hotel was not up to the standard that we've come to expect from Hilton hotels. The concierge was particularly poor which was disappointing especially given that they advertise that they have Les Clefs d'Or concierge. They had difficulty with English as well as giving advice.Certainly nowhere close to the Les Clefs d'Or assistance we received at Hilton Wangfujing Beijing and Waldorf Astoria in Shanghai.

The room was nice and the shower was a bit mouldy.We initially had difficulty with the wifi, but that was sorted out quickly when they brought in a special router. After it was installed it worked fine.

The breakfast was nice and interesting, but we had problems with other meals that we ordered in the restaurant which proved to be frustrating and annoying. One meal had to be sent back multiple times because it wasn't made as per the description on the menu. Each time they brought it back, something else was left off or prepared differently and eventually we left without eating it, as they just couldn't get it right. It was difficult as there weren't any other restaurants that we could have gone to nearby.

All in all, a disappointing time at the Hilton Xi'an

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
4  Thank aarjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDominicBrennan, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear aarjay,

Thank you for your recent review. We are very sorry to hear of this.

Thank you for your compliments on location, the nice room and the breakfast. The comments about English language at the concierge is well taken and we are reviewing this department and will make changes. What happened with the A La Carte food order is not acceptable and please contact me direct off line.

Thank you again and best regards,
Dominic Brennnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here as part of a Viking Cruise tour. The first impression is excellent as the hotel has a stunning entrance. Check in was done by Viking and we had been told by the guide to tip the porter one dollar for delivering the cases to the room. I was not happy with the dismissive attitude from the porter when he brought the two cases in. I regularly stay in Hilton hotels and the room was what I see elsewhere although the bathroom/showers were impressive. Breakfast again was typical buffet from Hilton, except for the honeycomb dripping fresh honey. Service was actually quite poor for a five star hotel with tables not being cleared quickly and trying to get tea or coffee was like trying to flag down a taxi on a busy Friday night in Edinburgh. Everyone seem to be looking elsewhere! This was a disappointment given it is supposed to be 5 star. The hotel is well located for the town walls being five minute walk away and decent shopping nearby. We had a drink in the bar and service was friendly and reasonably efficient with salted walnuts as snacks provided free. I would use the hotel again if in Xian but service was not up to what I have seen in other Hiltons although this May be a general failing in China as we saw similar failings in other hotels on our tour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Livimember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDominicBrennan, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Livimember,

Thank you for your recent review. Thank you for pointing out the issue of being asked to tip the porters. We take this very seriously and of course there are consequences to people’s actions and it will be followed up.

Thank you for your nice comments on the lobby, bathrooms, showers, great location and bar service. I understand the issue of the breakfast service and we will take this up with the team.

It would be great to welcome you back and please reach out to me by email at anytime.

Best regards,
Dominic Brennnan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I enjoyed staying at this Hilton hotel. The room I stayed in on the executive floor was gorgeous and the service was good. It is a shame wifi is not accessible in all the rooms. I was upgraded to the executive floor, so i could have wifi access. The Thai massage I had was outstanding as well as the services and facilities offered at the spa center.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mila00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDominicBrennan, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the ancient Xi'an city. Thank you for your recent review.

Thank you for your kind comments on our service and spa. About the WiFi connection, all of our guests can enjoy the free WiFi service when easily join in Hilton HHonors. If you need any assistance at hotel, please feel free to contact Magic Center at 0.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel lobby was really magnificent. The rooms were really nicely decorated but the smell o mold was everywhere, especially in the bathroom. Maybe the hotel was not constructed properly. The pool was undergoing renovation, presumably due to some mold problems, because in the pictures it looked very modern ... In the July heat you really miss the pool!.

The breakfast was ok, aswell as the dinner buffet. But just ok, nothing special. We ate better food at local restaurants across the street. But beaware: they use a LOT of chili there!

When we checked in they took a credit deposit from our credit card to cover room bill etc. But when we booked a car for a day to see the terracotta warriors, they charged another deposit. We where told several times that they would cancel the first one. But they did not... I had to call them myself when I was back home in Finland 2 weeks later. Finally after 2 phone calls the deposit was cancelled.

The staff at the reception seemed not to know anything about the hotel surroundings. We told many times that there was some square with shops and restaurants just 2 blocks from the hotel. We never found the square. There was only a construction site at that spot. We also asked how to get up on the city wall, but the instruction they gave us were not helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerviK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDominicBrennan, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Mervik,

Thank you for your recent review. Thank you also for your nice comments on the lobby, room decoration and your OK comments on breakfast and dinner buffet. We apologize for the pool not being opened but after three years there was some necessary works to be carried out. The pool opened July 18. Thank you for the comments on the bathrooms and presently all grouting is being changed.

In regards to the deposit I have looked into this and there were no errors here. Please contact me off line. Basically when you booked the tour, the deposits needed on your room increased, which is the case for all hotels to take a deposit to cover incidental charges. The deposit was cancelled upon check out but unfortunately some banks can take 10 – 14 days for the cancelation to go through.

You have raised a good point about staff knowledge on the local environment and it will be taken up with the team. WE must further strengthen English language communication.


Best regards,
Dominic Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As a Hilton Honors member, we have stayed at Hilton's extensively however this was one of the most disappointing we have encountered. We were traveling with 5 other couples on a tour and several people had issues with their rooms.

The most serious was rooms that had a distinct sewage smell coming from the bathrooms. One couple moved right away, another couple had to change rooms the second night due to the smell, and our room started to develop a smell the second night.

At first our room seemed fine, having a unique design with a clear glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom that has an electric curtain that can be lowered. Unfortunately the curtain was stuck open. The room itself did not seem to be terribly clean however this might be due to the color scheme. The room overlooked a very lovely, but not functional courtyard.

One of the biggest surprises was the view one of the couples had from their room. The room looked out on a very dilapidated apartment building. Not sure what Hilton could do about this but it became one of the ongoing jokes for the rest of the trip.

The staff at the Hilton were very nice and did what was needed to accommodate issues people had but overall, a far cry from typical Hilton properties.

Room Tip: Check the view of your room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FenwickBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrDominicBrennan, General Manager at Hilton Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear FenwickBill,

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are very sorry that you found the hotel experience disappointing. All your comments have been taken very seriously and will be followed up to make improvements. We can and will make it better.

Thank you very much for your nice comments on our Team Members and they will be delighted to hear this.

You may reach out to me directly by email so we can take the issues off line.

Best regards
Dominic Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,658 in Xi'an
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,658 in Xi'an
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,658 in Xi'an
504 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
4.5 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#6 of 2,658 in Xi'an
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Xi'an

Address: No.199 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710005, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#2 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#3 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#38 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £78 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Xi'an 5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Xi'an located within the ancient city wall-the central Xi'an. Adjacent to the most popular shopping area and attractions. Hilton Xi'an is one of the quintessential hotels in Xi'an that is ideal for both business and leisure travellers. Hotel has 309 spacious rooms. Outdoor landscaped roof garden spanning over 21,528 sq. ft. It’s easy to keep on top of your exercise routine here at the hotel, all guests enjoy complimentary access to our 25m heated indoor pool and modern fitness center. Here to relax? Treat yourself to a massage or facial in our spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Xi`An Hotel Xi`An
Hilton Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing