We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you are expecting in a luxury hotel”
Review of The Westin Xian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Xian
Ranked #4 of 2,617 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This hotel has it all, great design, nice rooms with excellent finishes, giant bed that can host a whole family, peacefull and modern atmosphere, very reasonable prices.
The pool could have been bigger and with some natural light.
It is contemporary without beeing to fashionable and taking the risk of beeing outdated to fast.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Philippe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are very glad that you had a refreshing experience in our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review! We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!


Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Xian
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 676 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Definitely not for the traveler who wants to be dully immersed in the Chinese experience. But a Breathtakingly beautiful respite from long hot days do walking and climbing stairs and dodging the tourist crowds. Superb service. Breakfast buffet endless offerings in several nationalities. Deep sleep quiet and comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samyers48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear samyers48,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are very glad that you had a refreshing experience in our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review! We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!


Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I have visited this hotel restaurants a few times and it is never disappointing. I was just at Mai, their Japanese restaurant and they have "all you can eat and drink". The food is fantastic and the service staff are friendly.I also noticed that the smell at the main entrance to the hotel is gone and replaced with a fresh smelling scent. It is a big improvement!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear Susan C,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review on Trip Advisor. We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your experience with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!


Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We booked through a discount website and yet the Westin saw our Starwood Preferred Guest membership history and upgraded us very generously.

The amenities are beautiful, including a nice gym. The swimming pool is great for recreational swimmers, all shallow, yet it is long enough for laps.

The downside is that - as with many upscale hotels - they charge for small things, like charging USD $3 each time you rent a swim cap (swim caps are mandatory for their swimming pool).

The Westin Xi'an is located across the street from a park including the Big Goose Buddhist pagoda, some shopping, a grocery store, and dining options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadaChick640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

Dear CanadaChick640,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are very glad that you had a refreshing experience in our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review! We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!


Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I have been in this hotel for more than 2 weeks. The breakfast is very good and complete! even they make your waffels at the moment! The rooms have enough space and they are very clean (though they should focus a little bit more cleaning the shower floor...). They provide you also coffee and teas for free in your room. The concierges are very kind and helpful. As I was for a long period they gave me also a fruiterer with fresh fruit for free :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noefonseca82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Noefonseca82,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for choosing the Westin Xian and we truly appreciate your comments concerning the hotel service. We’re inspired and motivated by your feedback, please rest assured that we will continue to bring you many more renewing experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!


Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Our tour company booked this hotel for us. We had no chance to preview it before arrival so it was a bit of a culture shock. The clean cut modernistic style of the hotel is quite interesting, and striking in contrast to the outside world full of ancient history. It was efficient, clean, had filtered air, and is big. Depending on what room you get, it might be a bit of a walk to your room. But the rooms are well equipped, and very very large. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. Everything you could want; more geared to western than regional food. The location is very nice. Outside at night the trees and buildings are beautifully lighted. Too bad we only got to stay one night. The hotel and nearby surrounding area, and Xian in general, are worth much more time than one night.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to check in elevators will save you time, unless you enjoy getting a little exercise an...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Glenn S,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We are very glad that you love Xian and love our hotel. The team and I are delighted to receive such a positive review in Trip Advisor. We really hope our service exceeded your expectations and made your stay with us a truly memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!


Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

First of all, I have to preface my remarks by admitting that for the three week prior to my stay, I had been staying in a hotel on a university campus with typical Chinese beds -- i.e., cinderblocks with about an inch of padding! After this, the Westin was almost a religious experience -- wonderful large, cushy beds, great internet access (within Chinese limitations), a TV with several English-language stations (among others), and a lovely bathroom suite, with separate shower with two shower heads, nice big soaking tub, and separate water closet. The clothes closet was huge, with ironing board and iron, lots of hangers, a luggage rack built in, an wooden tree shoes, a nice touch. The windows had faux wood blinds (high quality, though), and nifty recessed six-foot wood panels that slid over the windows at night instead of drapes. There was a nice selection of teas and coffee in the room, a French press coffee maker, electric ketttle and a minibar. Free bottled water was provided each day.

The service was extremely attentive -- at one point, we were having a little difficulty with our key card in the lock, and suddenly, a hotel clerk materialized out of thin air and was at our elbow asking if he could help. As we were wandering around after breakfast exploring the facilities, another clerk asked if we were having trouble finding the breakfast dining room. Another called the elevator for us and pushed the floor number before gracefully exiting and wishing us a good evening. All of the staff we encountered spoke English.

Breakfast was wonderful, a nice combination of Western breakfast standards (cereals, bacon, eggs, etc.) and Chinese standards, including fried noodles, steamed buns, etc. There was an omelet station, a waffle station, and a generous offering of fresh breads, croissants, and muffins, five different kinds of juices, fresh fruit, yogurts . . . if you walked away hungry, it was your own fault. It was beautifully presented, and once you made you choices, a server appeared to take your order for coffee or tea.

The location is right in the middle of a newly developed area of of south Xian directly across from the Great Goose (Wild Goose?) Pagoda, and a newer mall as well as a large public park and new development at Ci'en and Yanta that incluldes beautiful wide sidewalks and roads and numerous parks, greenspace and water features. A bit touristy, but not unbearably so.

All in all, a lovely hotel and staff!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
西安威斯汀大酒店, Executive Assistant Manager at The Westin Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear Nickykoy,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for staying at the Westin Xian and sharing your feedback with us in Tripadvisor. We sincerely apologise for not having lived up to your expectations during your recent stay. Your comments have been shared with the related departments, and we have also adjusted the recipe of the Miso Soup for our breakfast. We hope we will have another opportunity to bring you a truly revitalising Westin experience with the many well-being programs that we have designed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Xian soon.

Be well,

Linda Li
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,617 in Xi'an
679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,617 in Xi'an
472 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,617 in Xi'an
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#6 of 2,617 in Xi'an
1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Xian

Address: No.66 Ci'en Road, Qujiang New District, Xi'an 710061, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#1 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#44 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £84 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Xian 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in an exciting historic location, just steps from the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and Xian’s many cultural gems, as well as restaurants and an upscale shopping area. Guests also enjoy easy access to an array of multi-national companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing