We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location away from city center”
Review of The Westin Xian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Xian
Ranked #5 of 2,578 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice location away from city center”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The Westin is a very nice hotel away from the city center which is a plus or minus depending on your needs. Convenient to the big wild goose pagoda.

Pros:
Very good service.
Rooms are spacious and well appointed with a nice two sided desk for working.
Bathroom was nice with large shower and separate tub and separate toilet room. High quality towels.
Comfortable bed.

Cons:
Internet service in room was bad - dropped connections, inability to connect etc. front desk attendant said the problem was too many people were using the internet - time to upgrade that system, people.
Nice corner room with view of Pagoda, but there is a lot of noise from the music and dancing outside until 10 pm or so. I could also hear the monotone lounge singer in the room too.
Bad smell in hallways as noted by others. Replace carpet? Fix broken sewer pipe? Too many comments on this for the hotel to do nothing. Fortunately not a problem in the room.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KL-XVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinXian, Executive Assistant Manager-Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Xian!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team and would like to note that we are currently halfway through a wifi improvement project and starting to have a small renovation to hallways smelling. I truly hope we will have another opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future and deliver a revitalizing Westin experience with the many well-being programs that we have specially designed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Xian soon.

Be well,

Murphy Ma
Executive Assistant Manager-Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    152
    51
    12
    4
See reviews for
137
146
32
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Wifi is useless; room is a hike ftom elevators; food and workout in basement you access through narrow winding enclosed staircase; health club staff very bad and facility too worn out already. No go. Keys won't work nightly so always have to hike back to front desk. Area is overrated tourist mess.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gottagothere525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinXian, Assistant of Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Xian!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team and would like to note that we are currently halfway through an improvement for all the points you have provided us and having training to improve staff service. I truly hope we will have another opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future and deliver a revitalizing Westin experience with the many well-being programs that we have specially designed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Xian soon.

Be well,

Nancy Liang
Assistant of Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My experience
1. Poor wifi connection at room
2. multiple disturbance when i need to rest daytime with DND lights on (date of arrival)
3. Bad accessibility to elevator.
4. Seems not care about customer complain due to high occupancy during tour season.
5. Bad quality of food at breakfast buffet
6. Staff is not friendly (just ok)
7. Smelly (you may not bothered if you walk fast at lobby area)

Decided to not to stay here from next time and pull out my team from here.

Maybe ok for tourist or big fan of spg membership. It is great location!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kihwan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinXian, Assistant Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking time to provide us with your valuable feedback.

We have taken note on all the points you have provided us and do rest assured that we have reviewed your comments with our department heads to implement measures for improvement concerning our guest satisfaction.

We thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Only with feedback can we continue to improve our service standards.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon at The Westin Xian!

Be well,

Nancy Liang
Assistant Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The hotel located near the Great Wild Goose Pagoda and a shopping mall. Taking subways and buses are also convenient. The room is large, and the bedding is quite comfortable. Although the furnishing and the finishing of the bathroom are not good enough, it is still recommendable in this city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheetah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinXian, Assistant Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Xian!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team and would like to note that we are starting a small renovation project to the bathroom very soon. I truly hope we will have another opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future and deliver a revitalizing Westin experience with the many well-being programs that we have specially designed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Xian soon.

Be well,

Assistant Director of Rooms
Nancy Liang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location. It is located in the city center with a large outdoor walking mall. The mall is very new, all of the shops, restaurants, etc. are in excellent condition. After walking all day, we spent another 2 hours walking outside through the mall. There was live music and lots of people dancing. The hotel is very nice, we had a drink and a pizza in the bar. Very western feeling in terms of the drink menu and aperizers. Wonderful service, good western or Chinese breakfast. Room very nice, great bed and pillows!! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashell4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinXian, Assistant Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at The Westin Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Be well,

Assistant Director of Rooms
Nancy Liang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Simply the best. One issue is the spa is really overpriced. A couples massage with scrub was over $400 USD that is insane. In addition they allow smoking in the spa lobby which is simply unacceptable. Be warned health department requires swim caps at pool. If you do not have one you can not swim.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinXian, Nancy Liang at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from The Westin Xian!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the stay with us. I have shared your feedback with my team and would like to note that we are reviewing the spa rate and starting to stop clients smoking in public area. I truly hope we will have another opportunity to have you stay with us again in the future and deliver a revitalizing Westin experience with the many well-being programs that we have specially designed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Xian soon.

Be well,

Assistant Director of Rooms
Nancy Liang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
264 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at the Westin Xian last week for only a short visit. The hotel is in the perfect location, with the pedestrian area across the street, Big Wild goose Pagoda and shops and cafes very close by.
The hotel is simplistic and stylish with friendly, warm staff.
The Westin is a lovely hotel and suitable for both couples or families.
Whilst we were there it was our daughter's birthday (turned 14).
The hotel made a fuss of her and gave her gifts and a cake. It made the day very special.
The area around the hotel is interesting. In addition to the pedestrian mall and the Pagoda (which has a water show every night) there are parks and shopping malls close by.
We went for an early morning walk and experienced the local culture with tai chi etc.

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin Xian very much and wished we had a couple of extra days there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toddtrippas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinXian, Assistant Director of Rooms at The Westin Xian, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Westin Xian!

Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Xian and we truly appreciate your comments concerning the hotel facilities and service. We are very excited to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and service and will be sure to cascade your comments through to our team members! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future with more renewing experiences!

Be well,

Assistant Director of Rooms
Nancy Liang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,578 in Xi'an
587 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,578 in Xi'an
424 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,578 in Xi'an
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
3.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
Shangri-La Hotel,Xian
#4 of 2,578 in Xi'an
1,474 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Xian

Property: The Westin Xian
Address: No.66 Ci'en Road, Qujiang New District, Xi'an 710061, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#1 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#36 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Xian 5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in an exciting historic location, just steps from the Big Wild Goose Pagoda and Xian’s many cultural gems, as well as restaurants and an upscale shopping area. Guests also enjoy easy access to an array of multi-national companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing