We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues downward”
Review of Bell Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bell Tower Hotel
Ranked #56 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel used to be the top hotel in Xi'an 15 years ago, but it continues to go down hill. As long as the prices are low - it is worth staying at. If the prices are above $120 USD per night - there are better hotels to stay at than this one.

I stayed in the executive suite and check-in took a while - as did check out. They still use the Chinese way of checking everything in the room and making you wait before they allow you to leave. They have obviously not learned from the other western hotel chains how to speed up the process for those that have to make flights and assume check out will be "normal procedure."

The executive suite is from the 90's. The carpet is all new, which is good, but the furniture, bathtub, bed lamps, etc - are from another era. -again - no problem, as long as the price reflects the accommodations.

Internet is free and is relatively fast for China. I was happy with the Internet service - which is the most important for me.

You are also in the middle of everything the city has to offer. Location can not be beat.

If you need to check in early because of an early arrive of a flight, this hotel is also very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RZirkelbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

I usually stay in another hotel in Xi'an but on account of it being booked up I ended up here. I had known the hotel and have attended conferences there in the past, at which point it seemed quite grand and well located.

I stayed on the 7th floor (business floor) and the view over the bell tower is unrivalled. However, the room was appalling for this price range - the official photos are very deceiving. The furniture was old and dirty, everything was chipped and scratched and stained. The huge old A/C sounded like a train running through a tunnel and the lights did not appear to work outside of the living room area. The bathtub was extremely dirty and uninviting and the shower was essentially a pipe sticking out of the wall, emitting one very hot or very cold dribble of water. Breakfast was equally bad and I eat my fair share of hotel breakfasts - the standard is never particularly high but I usually bring myself to eat a plate. However, when the bacon hurts your teeth to chew, you know its probably left over from yesterday.

Staff were fine and I was only staying one night so I did not make much use of the other facilities.

Location is excellent, overlooking the bell tower and a few minutes from the muslim food street and so on. However, I would advise against judging this hotel on location alone.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in May during peak season so the pluses were... it's very central, only across the road from the Muslim quarter, great views from the room of the bell tower itself, and the hotel room was larger than expected. If all you want is convenience like we did then this is the hotel.

But unfortunately there's lots of downsides.

They lost our booking. We had to show them our confirmation several times before they gave us the rooms we booked.

We came in a group of four for two rooms. Both non smoking. One room stank of smoke even though a sign said hilariously 'this room has been kept for our non smoking guests' on the door. You could smell it from the corridor and it was unbearable inside. That one was swapped.

The staff were not very well trained or very helpful. Every single receptionist staff were trainees.

The showers had mould in them and the beds were super hard. Also because of the location you could hear every noise from outside at night. The carpet feels sticky. The hotel feels in desperate need of a renovation. The other downside of the location of being in the city centre is that you'll be stuck in traffic for at least an hour if you plan to leave anytime near peak hour, so add extra time to get out of the city walls.

Average stay overall.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alita-b-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

On a school trip, we stayed 4 nights in the hotel. The beds are hard. Breakfast was fine. It is in a nice location across the street from the Bell tower. Staff was helpful and responsive. Nice meeting rooms and everything was clean. If the price is right, it is a good safe, clean, great location to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBoyerSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Some of the reviews here made me apprehensive but we did not encounter any lack of service, rudeness or rude shocks. The rooms are average. It is an old property so that's to be expected. We did not get bell tower view rooms which are likely larger. The breakfast room was a pleasant surprise , bright airy and well lit. The fare was reasonably good so no complaints there either. If you look for the health centre , it's a long hike through long corridors and no sign posting.
The CITS office on the 2nd floor has a most helpful Ms Li who has been there 10 yrs and would provide honest and useful advice with regard to sight seeing. The location of the hotel is great to see the nearby sights within the city walls.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Bishwadeep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Room was larger than expected. Nothing exciting but fine on all counts, including being clean. Biggest issue we had here was an inability to get a taxi when we were leaving. We had a large number of suitcases and essentially had to lug them down the street, across to the other side in order to get a cab to take us in the direction (to the train station) we needed to go (in a very abrupt rain storm). Was very harrowing as we thought we'd miss our train. The hotel only would get a car service to take us and the price was exorbitant compared to the expected/ultimate taxi cost. So leave plenty of time and plan ahead for travel out of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieRNJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

While the building and apartment looked impressive the staff were poorly trained and the apartment was grubby - or at least the floor had not been cleaned for some time.The apartment smelled of smoke although it was supposed to be non smoking. Went to their Chinese restaurant. Looked wonderful with authentic air but service pathetic. There was a nice picture of shredded chicken breast and i duly ordered. Yes i got a shredded chicken and without the feathers but also without any breast meat - loads of skin and fat and general grizzle. Not my sort of meal. The Western dining area is more like a canteen but food was tolerable. It is sometimes a pleasure to watch an omelette man at work in an hotel but here on the first morning the guy did not clean the heated surface and the omelette included burnt scraps of someone else's meal. To be fair the next morning had a decent omelette chef. We could not get a pot of tea in this hotel. I suspect the problems of the hotel stem from ownership/senior management issues. A simple first step would be to teach staff to smile.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.6 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#36 of 2,652 in Xi'an
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#35 of 2,652 in Xi'an
355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,652 in Xi'an
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,652 in Xi'an
930 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Tower Hotel

Address: No.110 South Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#25 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#46 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £32 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bell Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Xi An
Bell Tower Hotel Xian
Bell Tower Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing