We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Old City Walls”
Review of Grand Noble Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Noble Hotel
Ranked #10 of 2,643 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I think this is a good choice to be in the Old City, which adds a lot of charm as it is surrounded by ancient walls which are lit up at night. The hotel is a bit older European style. However the rooms were lovely -the bed very firm, and a good western and Chinese breakfast and dinner buffet. Having some western options to eat becomes a good thing after days of traditional Chinese meals. Considering the options available, this is good. There are several malls and Bell Towers in walking distance. It is a university town, so lots of young people on the streets at night. The A/C was not working great.

Room Tip: king beds are huge- mattresses very firm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyawaySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

392 - 398 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in April. Great location. Nice rooms, with large bathroom. Lovely bar area, with happy hour from 5 pm to 7 pm. Breakfast very good and staff helpful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolsR4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our second China hotel and a bit of a disappointment. The room was ok if a little 'tired' with no drawer space and too few hangers. Wifi in the hotel was rather 'hit and miss' even in reception. Breakfast was something of a scrum with too few tables, items running out and hot food only warm. Biggest surprise was to find a Spanish Tapas menu in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Have any rooms been updated recently?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holiday096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at this excellent hotel in April as part of a tour of China, nice rooms, not large, but with the biggest bed I have ever seen must have been 7 foot wide! Lovely bathroom with separate shower and good quality toiletries. Staff on reception very helpful and laundry service was good and fast. The buffet breakfast was fair as with most hotels in China the hot food is never really hot. The location inside the old city walls is central and convieneint. The bar is comfortable and there is good WiFi in reception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OlddearEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here 3 nights in 2 rooms for our family of 6. They put in a extra bed ( extra fee) in each room for us so it was a little crowded but manageable.
Nice bathrooms. We got upgraded to the 12th floor not sure how the room was different from other floors but we did have a large bathroom with a big tub and separate shower. Nice toiletries by L'Occitane.
No wifi in the rooms! Only in the lobby which is a bit annoying in this day and age. Tv was good and included HBO and several English channels.
Our rate didn't include breakfast because it seemed expensive to have it included. We did end up eating at the buffet one morning and it was good but was expensive especially for kids who don't eat a lot (120 rmb) There are a couple of street food stands outside nearby that you can get a cheap breakfast from (5 rmb) or we bought pastries and fruit, yogurt the night before and would eat that in the morning.
The hotel has a great location just a few minutes away from bell and drum towers and malls and pedestrian street with eateries. (Close to a Starbucks and dunkin donuts if you need a coffee and a donut)
Obviously a popular choice for tour groups. We saw several here.
One complaint that was mostly due to miscommunication, we had the concierge arrange tickets for us for the Tang Dynasty dumpling dinner and show. He got a van to drive us there (50rmb) and everything was fine but he didn't get it to come back to pick us up so we were left waiting and trying to find a taxi - impossible. We ended up getting a cycle/pedi cab home which was ok but just wish we had known earlier. I thought he said he would be waiting afterwards but apparently not. Just a failure in communication. Not many good English speakers at the hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank junebugvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of China. Hotel is inside the old city walls, approx 10 minute walk to the Bell Tower. Hotel had a big lobby which was lovely. Also had a bar, shop & restaurant. Free WiFi is available in the lobby and bar. Our room wason the 5th floor and looked out over the front. It wasn't noisy for us but may be noisy for light sleepers. The room was well equipped and was very comfortable. Bathroom was really nice with L'OCCITANE toiletries. The hotel had a buffet restaurant which was approx 160 RMB. Food was really good with a wide variety and some food cooked to order. Good selection of foods available for breakfast but it was very busy. Staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ahallen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights.Everything seemed to be Ok till we came to check out. We were told that we had to pay for a soiled pillow case .We told them we didn't soil anything and when asked to show it, they brought a spare pillow which had a faint old stain(not even a fresh stain). Our guide was with us and she also agreed that we shouldn't pay...She spoke to them in Chinese and eventually they said we don't have to pay. The real problem was that since their English was limited they didn't understand what we were saying and we didn't understand what they are saying...If our guide was not with us things would have been very difficult.I never thought that Hotels of this level would try to make few bobs this way.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#13 of 2,643 in Xi'an
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,643 in Xi'an
1,224 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,643 in Xi'an
697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Noble Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Noble Hotel

Address: No.334 East Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#20 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £45 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Noble Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Noble Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Xi An
Grand Noble Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing