We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than it looks from the outside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Noble Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Noble Hotel
Ranked #11 of 2,532 Hotels in Xi'an
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Better than it looks from the outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We just spent two nights at the Grand Noble Hotel and were pleasantly surprised by its comfort and service. From the outside it looks like a government or party building but it is actually very decent on the inside. Our rooms were well appointed, clean and surprisingly spacious. The amenities were well selected and of good quality.
The breakfast buffet was again a surprise as it had a good selection of western and asian items and my kids just simply loved the french toasts. Only small "issue" was that in order to get a decent coffee one had to buy it at the bakery store for 28 Yuan...
The location is very good, right in the heart of Xi'An, walking distance to a lot of restaurants, shopping and the bell tower

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    399
    118
    40
    8
See reviews for
138
321
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
143 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Foyer/ground floor was terrific - looked grand and up-market, but that is where it all ended.Tired is the best way to describe rooms - good shower and comfy but everything was tired and well worn. Basically good rooms as you did have everything you need, but why can't cleaning staff vacuum under beds and in corners!! The food service was slow and the levels of hygiene in the buffet were not overly high. Very centrally located which is a big plus and staff were friendly - not much English. Generally good stay place to stay, but just not the 5 star we were told.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
249 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

spent three nights at this hotel room was well appointed with all the usual accessories.really good buffet breakfast selection. No WI FI in the room but available in the foyer- bar area staff not particularly friendly or helpful.ate there twice food was average. But apart from that is is a well functioning Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel was ideal for our 2 nights in "superior" rooms in Xian last June, where my husband and I and two sisters stopped to see the terra cotta warriors and also to hike on Mount Hua (Huashan). Both, and especially the latter, were highlights of our 18 day trip to China.

A bright, open lobby area, superb breakfasts, a little bakery and a bar area, staff with limited English language skills willing to help, and spotless, nicely appointed guest rooms are hotel features.  Although a large concrete building lacking charm, it is a solid 4 star establishment by North American standards, comparable to a Hilton to Sheraton in decor and amenities.  

Well-located. 8 minutes' walk to the left as you exit the hotel is the Bell Tower (go there at night) and a little further on, the Drum Tower.  Take a tuk tuk anywhere if your feet are tired - drivers are outside your door.  Make sure you establish the price first - a reasonable and convenient form of transportation for short distances.  

While you won't be blown off your feet, you absolutely won't go wrong with the Grand Noble. 

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. We found the beds comfortable (but then I like hard mattresses), and the room spacious. The hotel bar was our favourite in China - very friendly and pleasant service. No hovering or expecting immediate payment like our hotel in Beijing. We didn't eat dinner here as we went to another nearby restaurant recommended by our tour guide. But the location was excellent and the breakfast was great. The fruit was always plentiful and constantly refilled. My one major complaint is that it was rather inconvenient to troop down to the lobby to access the wi-fi. All the other hotels were able to provide wi-fi service, why not this one?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel is well situated for shops and also Bell and Drum Towers. Service is efficient but not friendly. Breakfast buffet extensive. Evening meal: both courses came together but good value. Beware if changing money: any notes which have been folded, had corners turned or are slightly nicked are refused: only scheme is to offer new! Free wifi but only in foyer. But we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Enjoyed the hotel, although bathroom area is a little weird. But clean and comfortable, nice breakfast with many options and plenty of food. Free Wireless internet was only available in the lobby and was slow. Wired internet available in the room, but not very convenient for smartphone and tablet users.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colleens941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
3.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,532 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#22 of 2,532 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Noble Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Noble Hotel

Property: Grand Noble Hotel
Address: No.334 East Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#20 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Noble Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Grand Noble Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Garden Xi An
Grand Noble Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing