We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, not without it's ups and downs though.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian
Ranked #53 of 2,645 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Nice hotel. Ideal location to visit the old city as it's just outside the city walls and 10 mins from bell tower (city centre). Great selection for breakfast and rooms were plenty big.
The bar could do with some organisation. It took ages for us to get our order taken and longer for us to pay and get our change. One or two of us in the group had issues with the bills given to us.
However the hotel was lovely overall and i would return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01285102690, Manager at Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2011

On behalf of Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel management and staff,thank you for your review.We appreciate all of the feedback we receive.We will work harder to improve our guests' experiences.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel is in the perfect location just inside Xi'an city walls, which look particularly beautiful lit up at evening. We had come from Shanghai and Xi'an is a less developed city and that was reflected in a slightly lower standard of five star hotel (old TVs, dark furnishings etc) However as long as you expect that, it's a relatively good base. One morning the staff forgot to give us our wake up call but provided us with a basket of fruit as an apology. Beds comfortable. Go early to avoid a cold buffet.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D-Dog101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01285102690, Manager at Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for your kind comments.We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel,Xi'an.We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We were initially grateful that they allowed us to check-in early. However, when we returned in the evening after a whole day tour, we complained about the warm temperature of their airconditioning.
The housekeeper lady came, put up the temperature and opened the window!
We complained again after an hour after no improvement in the room temperature. But no action was done. We were too tired to wait up and just slept it off.
When we checked out, we again we aired our complaint to Rebecca of Front Desk, but she just smirked and swiped our credit card.
After Howard Johnson in Manhattan, this is the next bad hotel experience we had!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank levyrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01285102690, Manager at Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Thank you for living at our hotel. I appreciate your comments so much. We do apologize for any problems you mentioned. We will solve the problems and work harder to improve our guests' experiences.we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

As a business traveller, I may be spoiled but i expected more. it was clean but very dated, the breakfast was ok but felt like a HOJOs in the US. As I recall, mediocre food and a sorta clean atmosphere. Next time I will spend a little more.
the bathroom was clean but the towels were dingy. They were clean but their time had passed.

if you are on a tight budget, feel free to stay here. safe, clean acceptable. if you have a few more bucks, try somewhere else

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I came to xian for a leaidure visit. My friend convinced me to stay at the Howard Johnson which i only did as she insisted that this hotel is the best location - and it is indeed. The facilities ofthe hotel are nothing special to talk about. Good enough for me for my 2 night stay however, i was hoping to go t the gym but i was stopped with a big disspointment discovering a corner right in between banquet function rooms were there was a coupls of old excersize machines placed. I didnt even bother to closer look at them. Bad! The breakfast is very dissapointing. Buffet set up is done without passion and it looks just terrible. Staff busy talking rather than looking after the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrom1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

stayed here for the 2nd time for business, and as many reviewers mentioned, the decent lobby gave a too high expectation for the room. The check-in service was super slow, so be prepared to wait. The room is small and dingy, and the toilet worse. I was in the standard room, so no seperate "lounge area", and no standing shower. There is a small study area for your laptop though. The tv is the old cathode ray tube, an ancient dinosaur, and a sure sign this hotel is NOT keeping up with the times at all. Breakfast is passable, probably 5/10. The chinese restaurant for dinner is alright, nothing super fancy. Of course, the "spa" and gym are 3 star quality or 5/10, so I don't know why locals call this a 5 star hotel. They should get out more.

this golden flower howard johnson is not quite golden, maybe bronze

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Stayed 3 days at this hotel with a family group during our tour of XIAN. The location is excellent being close to old city wall and also walking distance from bell tower commercial area. Our room even has a view of the old city wall which is nicely lit at night.

Rooms are big but bath room is cramp, we wonder who designed these rooms. Usual amenities in room including free wired-internet and safe. Breakfast buffet was OK but biased towards eastern selection including Sushi(?). Service was acceptable but do not expect a smile, especially in the morning! I will stay here again just for the view from room.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing South Gate if noise OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,645 in Xi'an
511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#33 of 2,645 in Xi'an
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#29 of 2,645 in Xi'an
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#59 of 2,645 in Xi'an
921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian

Address: No.18 West Section, Huancheng South Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Beilin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £46 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Xi An
Xi An Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing