We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian
Ranked #49 of 2,659 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We are Australians living in china and travel the region regularly. This hotel was fantastic for location, service, and rooms. We had a view of the south gate - be sure to request this as our friends were on the city side, not nearly as nice. As usual our expectations were not high and we were very pleasantly surprised. Great breakfast with many western dishes. No wifi in room a bit of a downer. Bathroom a bit on the small side but clean and had a bath. Language barrier a small problem some times but they were quick to find an English speaker when needed. Would definitely stay again. Traffic is quite heavy in this city so location is very important. You can walk to everything very comfortably from this hotel. Oh and bed was very comfortable!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australiansinchina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great location just beside the city wall. Slightly dated, but good food, clean, comfortable room, very pretty main lobby. Drinks very expensive. Only 2 lifts which can be a problem at peak times. No internet that we could access anyhow .... but this is China!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollonemptynest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I stayed in this hotel while touring China with a group. It is in a great location for visiting the walled city of Xian as it is just across the road.
The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom was a bit small. The breakfast and evening meal were very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TudorKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed here one night as part of South China tour, visiting Terracotta Army. Hotel is big, anonymous business style set up. We got room on 20th floor, which said it was part of Club suite, but Club Lounge on 19th was clearly never open. No wifi in room, only broadband cable. We had to go down to ground floor lobby area to get wifi, which was excrutiatingly slow. Room was Ok, but facilities looked tired. Bathroom was minute and with door closed felt too closed in. Had dinner at ground floor restaurant. Buffet was Ok but nothing special. Breakfast was good but coffee thick sludge.

I would not recommend this hotel unless you are passing through for one night. Not the best introduction to China or Terracotta Army, although latter were truly amazing.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Have just returned home after a 7 day guided tour of China. Dark and chipped architraving and doors in rooms gave it a gloomy outlook. All staff desperately need remedial English lessons as their understanding of English was appalling. My friend was so distressed when she lost her travel card in the hotel one evening. She approached the Manager who gave her a dial out number to contact her bank hotline, but the number he gave her was incorrect It wasn't until our tourguide arrived the next morning that we were able to contact the hotel's business centre and subsequently received the correct dial out number. Would not recommend this place to ANYONE!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wahlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Do not stay here. Rooms are not clean. Bed linen is like sack cloth. Staff are unhelpful, customer service is appalling, staff hide behind their lack of English and ignore the issue rather than trying to resolve it. Should not have the star rating it has. One of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in throughout the world. Food is at best average.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Noodles2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Johnson G, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.
I was very concerned to learn that you found the room and the service of hotel disappointing; I am truly sorry for this, we strive to provide a excellent service for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us, we have brought this to the attention of relevant department. and also we will improve our service to make customer satisfied.
once again, we appreciate your share experience with us, it is hope us to make things right and give us an opportunity to better service for customer in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I found this hotel the best because this is the most convinient hotel i have ever seen in china
Best built up, in the center of the city, hospitality is excelent, easy to communicate (very easy to talk in english) as compaired to other hotel i have been in china
Visited many place in China, first time visited to Xi'An but felt very homely.

Room Tip: Higher floor good view no trafic noise Big Size Rooms Room No.1501 Is the perfect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saurabh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,659 in Xi'an
529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,659 in Xi'an
1,258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,659 in Xi'an
762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#28 of 2,659 in Xi'an
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#35 of 2,659 in Xi'an
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian

Address: No.18 West Section, Huancheng South Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Beilin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Xi An
Xi An Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing