We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a five star hotel but good value for price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian
Ranked #49 of 2,659 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is definitely not a 5 star hotel, it's dated but the rooms are large and well equipped, the beds are comfortable and it is very quiet.

It's just outside the city wall, around the area is a building site but it's quick to walk into town (around 10 mins).

The breakfast is of a good standard with a good range of Western and Chinese options, well cooked and regularly replenished.

I would recommend this hotel, just don't come with high expectations of it being a 5 star standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the city wall - a much nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonVicUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is advertised as a 5 star hotel it is 3 star at best
Rooms are very small in comparison to other 5 star hotels in china
Bathrooms are tiny
Saying that the service and food at this hotel is excellent better than the other 5 star hotels I have visited in China
Near the centre of Xian with views of the city walls
Outside is a construction site but you will find it hard not to find a hotel without some kind of construction nearby as the construction boom continues in all cities in china

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We have just returned from a multiple city china trip. This was the worst of the four 5 star properties that we stayed. The problem starts with the check in itself. The staff cannot communicate in English and inexperienced. To take copies of our passport the girl at the reception actually pulled open a passport which had 4 older passports without us realising and forgot to give us the ones pulled out. luckily we checked the entire bunch and realised the mistake.Amongst the 7 travellers 5 had multiple passports attached and she took copies of all expired passports and created more confusion. After the fiasco we return to the rooms only to be woken up at 11 by the manager asking for visas since they had forgotten to take copies of the same earlier.

The rooms were small and their conditioning was pathetic. Breakfast was a even bad affair. Luckily we only had a night to stay at this hotel and we were glad to move out.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if possible and if there are no other options pl insist on a room with a wall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LataV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed 2 nights for a busienss trip. The hotel is very well located, it is situated in front of the wall and less than 20 min. walking from the Xi'an Bell Tower. The concierge was very supportive and helpfull for the choice of the resturant for the dinner out.
The room was very large and with a top view on the square in front of the south gate of the wall.
I worked very quitely at the desk and there is also a cozy living room with sofa, and two armchairs. Unfortunately the WiFi was not available in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsopni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The parking in the front, limited at good times, is absolutely a wreck with the construction going on next door and around the hotel. However, that doesn't negate its good location across from a Wall gate and (if you face towards it) the good views. Western style hotel, limited English.

Room Tip: Face the city wall and stay far from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyFromPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Almost nobody speaks and understands English well in this well located hotel; we were on the 20th floor but were not overlooking the wall but rather the construction project (and I understand that the hotel has no control over such things). The room was fairly large but had only one comfortable chair; the air conditioning did not stay on during the middle of the night so we awoke overly hot every night about 2:30am! Seems that the city doesn't allow temperatures to be set lower than certain standards but nobody in the hotel seems to know this - our guide learned it after we checked out but she had asked for help in the area every night with no changes. There is plenty for breakfast but not much except omelets for western food eaters and the omelet maker didn't understand English when you told him what you wanted in your omelet - even if you showed him.

Room Tip: IF you decide to stay here be sure to ask for a room overlooking the Xian wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights there in a business trip, the hotel is well located but there are several constructions going on around it, the receptionists were quite well trained and have relatively good commands of English, the room was good and "roomy" and clean, but not spotless, actually it was the case in many areas of the hotel as it was looking a bit aged! I used the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and was quite satisfied.
I used the laundry services too and it was on-time and well done...
A word of advise: if you are sensitive to noise especially traffic noise and horns, don't stay in the rooms facing the street, the insulation is not enough at all!!!
Other thing: the hotel looks "penny smart!!!" i broke a glass of water in the bathroom due to their bad arrangement of the bowl, but I was surprised since they charged me 10 Y (less than $1.50) for a bill of more than 3800 Y!!!! I would have given them a 5 on services if they simply ignored that, I have never seen such a thing before!!!
One other "room for improvement " is the internet, it is very slow!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T0r0nt0B0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,659 in Xi'an
529 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,659 in Xi'an
1,258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,659 in Xi'an
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#28 of 2,659 in Xi'an
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#35 of 2,659 in Xi'an
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian

Address: No.18 West Section, Huancheng South Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an > Beilin District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Xi An
Xi An Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Ginwa Plaza Hotel Xian China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing