We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In-room Wi-Fi, perhaps?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Ranked #23 of 2,646 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I've stayed in many different Shangs all over China & the rest of Asia - this is the only one, in my memory, without in-room wifi! So not very convenient if your do not have an ethernet connection on your computer, or if you plan to work with your iPad or iPhone!





  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Dochenry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

284 - 290 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a great hotel after a day visiting the Terracotta Warriors. Very large rooms, very quiet, good restaurant, close to train station for pickup by tour guides. Certainly would recommend this when visiting the Warriors.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lance D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel is dated but the staff is excellent and work hard to make sure the guests are well taken care of. The restaurant is good and the breakfast provide a lot of local flavor. The staff are attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank gaetandureau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

First impression chaotic , many visitors, our key didn't work so had to traipse back to reception to get it re done, no apology! But room very good , lovely beds, Chinese restaurant was very good, recommend it, breakfast again very busy but plentiful.
We were taken to the Tang Dynasty cultural entertainment theatre restaurant for a meal and dance and music show. The food was ok , bit canteen style, music and dancing excellent so worth trying. Obviously the Terracotta Army is a must but don't miss the city wall, very wide , have a stroll or bike ride on it.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our tour included deluxe room which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

hotel staff are most helpful and friendly. transport arrangements are excellent. clean and comfortable rooms. overall experience is good. however building is getting old, renovation or refurbishment is needed

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights. I would strongly encourage the upgrade to the Horizon Club... so worth the extra money. By doing so, we got a "more comfortable bed"; I have a great mattress at home and found the mattress a bit uncomfortable, but I heard that Chinese mattresses aren't as comfortable as we wish. But, the upgrade gave us wifi in our room (convenient); breakfast in either the Horizon Club Lounge (not as big as downstairs, but not as crazy busy either as it seems all the tours are fed downstairs at the same time); happy hour fare in the Horizon Club and an overall nice, friendly, peaceful service by the staff at the beginning and end of the day. Xian can be intense. It is a big, crowded, busy city and being able to "retreat" to the hotel on the 9th floor was comforting. We didn't make arrangements to tour the sights through the hotel, but I am sure they would have done a fine job. By the way, if you have a chance, as you exit the hotel, go right and a few blocks away on the right, you will find such interesting streets to wander around. Get off the beaten path and see how the locals live and shop.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Horizon Club. Disappointed in the fitness area... dire need of an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4steppinout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Shangri-La should remove this hotel from its ranks & shame on Avalon waterways tours for using this hotel as part of its "luxury" tour in China. It is simply terrible in every way with run down not cleanly rooms in serious need of remodel & bathrooms are simply disgusting.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj2000_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy W, Director of Sales at Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear sj2000_10,

Thanks for your comments, please accept our apologize for the inconvenience cause during your stay.

Your feedback on our room condition has been noted and will be investigated by our Executive Housekeeper to address the issues immediately.

Please let me know when you are travelling to Xian so I may personally ensure that you are well taken care of and of course to show you our hospitality in the respective service areas in the hotel.


Regards,
Nancy
Director of S&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
3.2 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,646 in Xi'an
512 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,646 in Xi'an
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.3 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#10 of 2,646 in Xi'an
909 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an

Address: No.8 Changle West Road, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710032, China (Formerly Shangri-La Golden Flower Hotel)
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#21 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £40 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an 4*
Number of rooms: 382
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Golden Flower Hotel
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing