We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an
Ranked #32 of 2,578 Hotels in Xi'an
Fairlawn, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great service.”
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We are an extended family ages 18-58. We stayed her one night on a visit to see the Terra Cotta Warriors. This was a lovely hotel and has a very nice restaurant. The service is great. The rooms are very nice with western amenities. We had them meet us at the airport upon our arrival. They also took us to the train station when we left. I had tried prior to our stay contacting them through their concierge email to inquire about train tickets but they never did answer me. We are from the USA and I was a bit disappointed at the exchange rate that they gave us on our credit card, 6.6 rather than the going 6.8. We spent the night then went sightseeing all day and took the evening train to Beijing. The hotel kept our luggage at no charge during the day and provided us with bottled water for our day of sightseeing. All in all, I thought it was a good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyChampaignIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    318
    113
    31
    6
See reviews for
62
98
19
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2009

True, a bit older but clean, quiet and Good restaurant, great breakfast buffet and I'm picky, cool atrium lounge, great service all around. English is spoken by all staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pariso-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

Arriving amidst the chaos at the railway station on a rainy morning, after 12 hours on board a sleeper train from Beijing, this hotel became an absolute godsend. We were refused a ride by several taxi drivers just because we were foreigners and couldn't speak mandarin, so you can imagine the relief in being greeted with a smile and comprehensible English. Every member spoke English and was always helpful. This Hyatt may be cheaper than many of it's counterparts, but the ethos of the Hyatt hotels were well represented. As foreigners seem to be ripped off locally at every opportunity, the staff here offer good deals and sound advice. We ended up with a private tour of the sights arranged by the hotel and it was worth every yuan!

This hotel may no longer be the newest in town but their service cannot be beaten. If you are planning an independent trip and your mandarinis limited, I would recommend this Hyatt every time.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CYuenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2009

I can't say enough about the staff. Every single person I encountered (front desk, doormen, concierge, restaurant, housekeeping, business office) were gracious and helpful. I don't understand some of the other reviews. I found the facilities at the Hyatt to be very nice and comfortable. I had originally booked a different hotel in Xi'an, but upon arriving couldn't stay there as the smell of smoke was overwhelming and the room could most kindly be described as "dingy". I walked into the Hyatt and booked 3 nights and was more than happy with my decision. I had lovely meals in both the western and chinese restaurants, as well as room service. And the concierge helped me arrange a taxi for trips to Terra Cotta Soldiers and Hua Shan. They also had nicer towncars available and tour packages. By far, the best hotel experience I had in China.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passportbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Xi'an is a wonderful city which deserves more than our short trip, but we certainly will not stay at the Hyatt next time.
The hotel is fine, a little old and the decoration of the room is quite basic, however the service is well below expectations.
Just about each interaction with the hotel staff was a problem. On our arrival, we were supposed to be picked up by a Buick but we ended up in a Shanghai VW minivan with exhaust fumes inside the vehicle and no brakes. When we asked to go to a restaurant in town, the staff gave us the wrong adress on the taxi cab and we ended up in a completely wrong place, with no possibility to find the right one. In the café, the service was very slow (45 minutes to get a club sandwich). The worst was the check out : 10 minutes to wait behind one other customer, than 20 minutes to sort the payment.
I've been to other Hyatt hotels in China, and this one almost looked like a knock-off.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pangour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2009

nice hotel in a good area near shops and resteraunts. Rooms a bit older but good beds.
Great buffet breakfast and very helpfull staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restleswanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2009

The staff was great helping us with everything from booking tours to translating items. They also provided great suggestions to nearby restaurants - ask about the French pizza place just outside the city walls.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,578 in Xi'an
460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,578 in Xi'an
847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
1.0 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#30 of 2,578 in Xi'an
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an

Property: Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an
Address: No.158 Dongda Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#29 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#34 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an 4.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Metropark Hotel Xian Located within the historical city walls, in the heart of the shopping and entertainment area, close to the business and government districts. It only takes 10 minutes to the Xi'an Railway Station and about 1 hour to the eighth wonder of the world--Terra Cotta Warriors by car while it is 43 kilometers from the Xi'an Xianyang International Airport. It is also conveniently located close to the Shaanxi Provincial Museum, the Bell Tower and the Big Wild Goose Pagoda.Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an has 315 guest rooms, several restaurants as well as various conference and recreational facilities offering free WIFI and parking.In a new day, you may jog along the ancient city or enjoy the combination of its fashion and history. At the end of the day, you may take a rest in Oasis Lounge charming of the nature via listening attentively to water flowing and birds twittering, watching aromatic herbs and fishes playing. At this cozy moment the whole day shall be pleasing and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Xi An
Hyatt Xi An
Grand Metropark Hotel Xi'An China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing