We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“X'ian is a must-see with China Odyssey Tours-”

China Odyssey Tours
Ranked #4 of 83 Tours in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: China Odyssey Tours Xi'an branch office.I bet Terracotta Army sounds familiar to you, its location as well, maybe. Yes, we are talking about Xian-one of world's top four ancient capitals, a must for first-time travelers to China. Traveling to the place where Chinese civilization flourished and reached its climax, we are definitely expecting more. Beyond the Terracotta Army, we have the best-preserved Ancient City Wall, the iconic Big Goose Pagoda which directed by monk Xuan Zang, fabulous Tang Dynasty Show etc. Oh! Do count the Jiaozi Banquet in, I never knew Jiaozi could have almost 20 different flavors and be presented in such an exquisite way. Night is still young, how about a time travel back to 1400 years ago? Wander along the Great Tang All Day Mall, the glamour and prosperity of Tang Dynasty are out there waiting for you.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family and I just returned from a 8 day China Odyssey trip. We started our trip in Beijing. Our tour guide, Carla and driver, Mr. Wang were excellent! Carla was very informative and provided us with a wealth of information about Beijing.You could easily spend more that 3 days in Beijing. Our next stop was X'ian. We took the bullet train from Beijing to X'ian. Taking the train allowed us to see some of the countryside. The trains were on time and was more efficient that the commuter flights. I highly recommend taking the high speed train if possible. X'ian is a must-see destination. Our tour guide Coco and driver, Mr. Yu took us to see the terracotta warriors. This was amazing!. You cannot appreciate the magnitude ot this archaelogic find without seeing it! Coco was a fabulous guide, providing us with information about ancient and modern day China. Our next stop was Shanghai. We did experience a delay in our commuter flight to Shanghai. Shanghai was a very modern city with a rich international history. Our guide Portia and driver, Mr Chiu were excellent also. If I had more time, I would have booked a longer trip. In the 8 day period, we were able to see some many interested things. I would highly recommend the China Odysessey Tours. The key is having your own private tour guide and driver. This allows you to see many sites in less time. Your trip can be tailored to your individual needs. All of the guides and drivers were all excellent. In each city, we learned a lot of Chinese history and were also given insight to life in modern China.

1  Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-COT, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Emily Y,

We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday in China with our team.

At China Odyssey Tours, we realize that each journey is special for every client. So we would like to do everything possible to ensure your trip of discovery to China is one of your best travel experiences.

We are looking forward to your next trip to China, whether it is for business or personal request. Thank you and take care until then.

Best wishes,

Maggie Yang

You are not alone with Odyssey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

489 - 493 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

(Xi'an 4 day private tour)

Our private tour guide in Xi'an was Vina... and we LOVED her! She was so so sweet and very friendly! She was also extremely knowledgable, experienced, and answered all of our questions thoroughly! Vina was very flexible as well and we never felt rushed by her. One of our highlights in Xi'an was climbing Mount Huashan... Vina treated us to some healthy and cultural snacks for this long adventure, which was so nice of her! Aside from her as our tour guide, we really enjoyed her company and getting to know her; we had a lot of fun in Xi'an and much of that was thanks to Vina! We would HIGHLY recommend Vina as we had an awesome time with her in Xi'an! Our driver, Liu, was also great! His van was very clean and he got us around safely! He was also very nice. And of course, his air conditioned van was a nice relief from the hot weather :) We are also very satisfied with our experience booking through China Odyssey and would recommend this travel agency to anyone considering a trip to China!

Thank NicoleChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-COT, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear NicoleChad,

We are very pleased to hear that you had awesome experience in Xian with our local guide. You comments have been shared with Vina. She would like to bring her best wishes to you.
Welcome back to China anytime and hope we will have the chance to be at your service again!
Warmest regards,

Maggie Yang

You are not alone with Odyssey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We’re still adjusting back to local time but wanted to let TA readers know about this amazing company. From the first planning emails with Leo to waving good bye to Jesse in Kunming we did not regret for a moment choosing China Odyssey. We can attest that the positive reviews here are not exaggerations- you really can put your mind completely at ease that there will always be a smiling face at the airport, that your vehicle and driver will be clean and safe (no small feat), that your guide will ask you with considerate regularity whether you need to use the restroom. And it’s not just what’s written in the itinerary- each of our guides took a few moments at the beginning of our stay in their city to review what we had planned, check in with our health and well being, make suggestions based on our energy level and attitude. Kevin, our amazing and very professional guide in Xi’an went so far as to come back, unscheduled, to the hotel to take my husband and I to the Big Wild Goose Pagoda on the morning the kids decided to sleep in. When the kids wanted the morning to shop the market stalls in Lijang, Abel strolled slowly with us and then took us to an impromptu tea ceremony for late morning refreshment. Rita, in Dali, was a family favorite because of her light hearted sense of humor. On the evening we arrived she took us for a pre-dinner stroll to orient us to the city, then asked the restaurant proprietor to put one of the tables out on the sidewalk for us where it was both cooler and much more interesting. (As an aside- don’t miss Dali, we actually preferred it to Lijang which is overrun by domestic tourism). And thank heavens for Jesse’s in depth knowledge of the trails in The Stone Forest outside of Kunming, she kept us on the less trodden paths and helped us avoid the large and loud crowds! While she was only with us for a few hours, Mickey, our guide through the Hutongs of Beijing, was a trip highlight. She had us in stitches with her description of Chinese zombies and the necessary architectural elements needed to keep them out of your house. We wished we could have spent more time with her. These guides never failed to select fantastic restaurants for our scheduled meals and make excellent recommendations for our private meals. They didn’t have any problems making accommodations for the vegetarians in the group.
Both the manager of Yunnan China Odyssey and Leo called us at one point during the trip to check in. All in all we are very pleased with the way China Odyssey organized the trip and hope to use them again for a trip to Southeast Asia sometime in the future.

Thank NancyW260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-COT, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear NancyW260,

We're happy you had a great experience in China with our team, thanks for your positive reviews to our staffs. Your satisfaction is the best rewards to us and will encourage us to provide better service in the future.

I hope you have another chance to visit Asia soon, so you can explore even more what it has to provide.

Warmest regards,

Maggie Yang

You are not alone with Odyssey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and I just came back from a 17 day private tour for the two of us that we booked with China Odyssey Tours. I must say that I was a little apprehensive about booking with a company over the internet. However, they lived up to my every expectation and then more. I felt sorry for those who booked with a group; following a flag held by a person with an over amped speaker. We visited Shanghai, Guilin, Yangshuo, Chengdu, Xian, and Beijing. At each location we were met upon arrival by a guide, car, and driver. They got us checked into the hotel, took us to each location we wanted to visit, made special reservations for us, took us to dinner and shows, and saw us off to the next destination. We ended up seeing a lot more things than we originally planned for our trip due to the efficiency of car/guide system and the outstanding personal attention we received by the guides.

Daisy met us in Xian and we immediately clicked. After getting off the flight from Chengdu, she had Oreo cookies for us and her driver, Mr. Yan, had ice cold bottled water. She reviewed our itinerary with us and suggested some changes that made our tour more efficient. Daisy is very personable and a good listener. Everything we mentioned she remembered, followed through on, and made happen. Sharing meals with Daisy was a delight. Driving in China is crazy by US standards. Mr. Yan was outstanding. He was very good and professional. His van was new and well maintained. We felt very safe with him. After touring a site in the hot sun, it was a pleasure to be picked up at the front door in a car he kept air conditioned and to enjoy a cold drink. My wife mentioned how she had never smelled a mimosa tree. The next day, Daisy greeted us with a mimosa flower. I was excited to see the terra cotta warriors. Daisy took me to the location to get an English book on the site and helped me get it autographed by one of the farmers who found the site in 1974. I was developing a cough and she got me some throat lozenges. She sat with us at the high speed train station and stayed with us until we got on the train. Daisy’s personal touch and knowledge of each site made our visit exceptional and very cherished. Thank you Daisy.

2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-COT, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Paul,

Thank you so much for sharing your Xian experience with us and other travelers.

Compares to group tours, there are many advantages in private tours. For example, your itinerary could be flexible, you needn’t worry about the transportation/hotel /meals, guide and drivers will take good care of you, etc. You have made a great decision to take the private tour. And from your feedback, we know that the whole team at COT is doing the correct things. We will keep going.

Looking forward to your new trip with us one day.

Best wishes,

Maggie Yang

You are not alone with Odyssey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Coco was one of the better guides that I have encourntered in my travels. Even though our plane was several hours late, she met us and took great pains to get us checked into the hotel. She gave us an outstanding tour the next day before returning to the airport and staying with us until we were through security. Highly recommend her and the company

Thank tigercruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey-COT, Public Relations Manager at China Odyssey Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Tigercruiser,

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with our guide service in Xian. Your comments have been shared with Coco. She does appreciate it and would like to bring the best regards to you.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to China in the near future.

Best wishes,

Maggie Yang

You are not alone with Odyssey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China Odyssey Tours also viewed

 

Been to China Odyssey Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing