We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #40 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Warm welcome, great service. Room large, comfortable. Bed to die for, lovely soft and duvet light and fluffy. Charlie's bar serves great wine in normal size glasses at a sensible price. Breakfast excellent. Catered for pretty much every nationality. Obviously geared up for tourists but in a good way. Breakfast on the morning we were leaving was bedlam though!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duddlydoright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    246
    83
    11
    3
See reviews for
13
28
10
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Very average city hotel. Rooms were decent sized, reasonably clean and moderately comfortable. Like a 15 year old Holiday Inn in Cleveland. The restaurant buffet was $30 USD for dinner. It was edible, but not much more. We didn't get food poisoning. If I had not stayed at other much nicer properties in China, I might think that their standards are not up to their Western counterparts, but they really are so this is just a lousy old hotel. I suppose that it is fine if you're not paying much. We were on a tour so did not have a choice. If I had a choice, I would stay somewhere newer and nicer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

This hotel is huge, and unfortunately situated by busy roads and far from the city centre. Having said that, my room was clean and comfortable, the food in the restaurant was delicious and the bar prices reasonable. The swimming pool is a decent size and it is open until 11pm, which means that even after a busy day, one can get a swim in. If you don't like huge hotels, this isn't for you, but I quite enjoyed all the bustle of endless conferences and gatherings - a good place for people-watching.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fine, but if you don't like wating for a lift, ask for one on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireGypsygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

This is a very busy hotel with lots of tours etc. The hotel is badly in need of work. The first room we were sent to was so heavy with a mold smell that we actually reeled back. We poked our heads in the bathroom and it was just black with mold. We went down to the desk and insisted that we must be moved. The staff was not very concerned and couldn`t understand until a young man with some English realized that we were not going to go back to that room. We were given a key to a room in the other newer building and it was just fine. No smell and an updated bathroom. The other building should not be used at all. In general the cleanliness was not very good. The food was fine. I don`t recommend this hotel and I wouldn`t return.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newer building.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
384 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

This large, somewhat impersonal and very busy hotel is a 15 minute taxi ride from the centre of Xian, right by a big roundabout and expressway. It was full of tour groups and there were two conferences being held whilst we were there. The pollution and dust of Xian makes the once pretty internal pool very murky and the internal swimming pool did not look inviting. However our room was large, clean and well equipped. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom had everything you'd expect. The breakfast was good with the usual selection of both Western and Chinese food. We had a meal in their Four Seasons restaurant which was really tasty including the local noodle specialty. The waiting staff spoke very little English but we managed to negotiate the menu. If I ever came back to Xian I'd stay at a hotel in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer block facing the internal pool. It's quieter though there may be mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

This Hotel is dated we stayed for 2 nights with Jules Verne holidays, unfortunately the lifts were having a upgrade which meant we used the service elevator. Our room was tired but with all the necessary hair dryers ,slippers and robes with a view over the roundabout and overpass but with the pollution in Xian you dont want to open the windows anyway. Breakfast was diifferent with the English breakfast served cooked but cold, so go for the chinese option !
The bar was comfy and you can sit outside at night but remember the bug spray before you do this. The indoor pool is vey small in the shape of a capital H which makes it near impossible to swim in if there are more than 6 people in.
We loved watching the locals doing Zumba under the underpass at night. We also enjoyed walking and seeing some local life. If you turn left out of the hotel and walk down the main street then the first left street again you walk through a local shopping area which terminates at a wonderful little park with a lake. We spent an enchanting time listening to the locals playing and singing together but you need to be early in the morning to catch this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jjab S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Overall, the hotel was ok;
The reception area was very well lit, and the staff helpfull, but had trouble understanding us wanting to change 100Yuan notes down to smaller units.
Breakfast was a good choice, western and local available, the china was very good [milk jugs in the form of a swan] and in a good ambience.
Be careful of the bathrooms, ourselves and others in the group found the grouting around the baths was attrocious! Lots of black mould, and the sink/vanity unit showed signs of being well used: could do with modernising / redecoration also the bedrooms themselves were 'tired' .
The bedroom itself had a balcony overlooking a pool with fountains, lit at night, but there was a large construction project opposite which started early in the morning

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has been renovated and which overlooks the internal pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rifle-club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
6.7 mi away
Branley Hotel
Branley Hotel
#28 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
3.5 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
Golden Flower Hotel, Xi'an
#16 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Xi'an North City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Property: Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.2 Huzhu Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#24 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#34 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jianguo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Xi An
Jianguo Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing