We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”
Review of Jianguo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jianguo Hotel
Ranked #39 of 2,612 Hotels in Xi'an
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel has a main building, and then a separate wing, so watch out when you book! The two are only 100 feet away from each other. A cheap price probably means you will be staying in the "garden" wing, which is the older version. This is where I stayed, so I can only comment on those rooms.

First impression, the room is extremely spacious! It almost feels like a suite. TV works fine (and you get CNN), internet works fine too and the bed is soft (which does not happen a lot in China, so enjoy!). However, the bathroom is in a serious bad condition. Not dirty but really really worn out. So that is a very serious down for the room. The AC works fine, but it does not get outrageously cold. So if you like sleeping in a crazy cold room, you might want to reconsider. However, I stayed in hot July, and I was fine.

Otherwise, good restaurants (there is one in the wing and 2 in the main building). Service is irreprocheable. Location is ok (you will need a taxi or a bus to get to the city center). I walked the first day and it took me 2h to get to the Drum Tower!

The pool is on the small side but it is clean, and I cannot comment on the gym since it was under renovation.

All in all, good value for the price you will pay (I got the room for about $40/night), so it is a very good option while in Xi'an.

Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Borreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    250
    85
    11
    3
See reviews for
15
30
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2010

The rooms were old and the service average. Breakfast was £10 and so so. I am sure you can get much nicer rooms in Xian and better service for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyLondon9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

This is a very nice Chinese hotel. Similar to staying at a Hyatt here, but much cheaper of course. The staff was friendly and attentive. The rooms are beautiful and well appointed. The grounds are top-notch.

We arranged for a car and guide to show us around. Erma spoke very good English and was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. She showed us the Banpo Neolithic village (6,000 years old) and of course the Terra Cotta Soldiers and (souvenir) soldier factory. She even taught us a few Chinese characters and words along the way - very helpful.

The only negative about the hotel is the "Western" restaurant. It is very good but very expensive for the breakfast, lunch or dinner buffets. We had a dinner in the Chinese restaurant and it was reasonably priced and very good. We also had a buffet breakfast and lunch during our stay and they were top-tier, but way overpriced.

Again, the staff was very helpful and attentive in getting us maps, taxis, guides, etc.

We were surprised at how many things there are to see and do in Xi'an, and would have planned a longer stay had we known.

Good place to stay in Xi'an!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roams-A-Lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2009

This hotel was a complete revelation, clean, spacious, 2 really good restaurants, We ordered from the a la carte menu for Breakfast and dinner and were pleased with every meal. The staff were very helpful and friendly even going to the shop to get me gum at one point - I find there is always a bit of a language issue in China, even in the larger hotels but patience and smiles always seem to work.

Our twin room was large, again very clean, the beds comfy and it was extremely reasonably priced - I think the hotel must have had a complete refurb since the earlier comments as there is nothing old about this hotel now, it was all shiny new and clean. You are only a 5 minute, 12 rmb cab ride from the main sites in the walled city.

The only reservation was the massage area which was on hard beds - not massage tables and was very expensive for China - other than that I would 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinksEyeView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
2.2 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
2.1 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#4 of 2,612 in Xi'an
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#38 of 2,612 in Xi'an
241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chenggong International Hotel
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jianguo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jianguo Hotel

Property: Jianguo Hotel
Address: No.2 Huzhu Road, Beilin District, Xi'an 710048, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#23 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#35 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Jianguo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 627
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jianguo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jianguo Hotel Xi An
Jianguo Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing