We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jinjiang Inn Bell & Drum Tower
Ranked #69 of 2,617 Hotels in Xi'an
Reviewed 4 May 2009

This was a nice clean hotel in the centre of the city at a reasonable price. The rooms were ok, nothing fancy and maybe a little dated but clean which is the most important.

We had breakfast here and it was fine - they had a mix of both chinese and western breakfast foods.

  • Stayed: April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandN2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Jinjiang Inn Bell & Drum Tower
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2008

I stayed at this hotel as part of a tour group so our tour leader dealt with all the hotel staff and issues on that front so I can only comment on the room and the location. The location is really good. There are street markets, arcades, restaurants (western and Chinese style), starbucks, Muslim quarter, and wal-mart all within walking distance. We took a taxi from the train station and they found the hotel easily. The room itself was basic, like many of the other budget hotels I stayed in in China. One weird thing was that they had a lot of items in the room that might suggest it was a hotel that was frequented by "hour-to-hour" clientele, if you get my drift? There were pleasure kits in the bathroom, as well as cleansing wipes and condoms (I include a picture cause it was too funny) that got this idea into my head. The beds weren't particularly comfortable but most of the beds in China are hard. I didn't really pay attention to the view because we just saw the side of another building. There were a lot of foreigners at this hotels and tour groups. We ate at the dumpling restaurant next door that was advertised as like "the world's greatest" and it really wasn't, don't bother with that. Overall, if your in Xi'an for a couple of days and plan to be out in the town more than at the hotel then this is a decent hotel to stay at with a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megclooney9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2008

I stayed here with my partner for just one night as part of a small tour group. As our time in Xi'an was limited we appreciated the brilliantly central location of the hotel, which enabled us to get to everywhere we wished easily. We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, and had no problems with it whatsoever.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

Stayed here for one night only and were able to check in early morning after arriving by train .Our room on the 7th floor was adequate,flooded with early morning sunshine, quite large with a double bed, wardrobe, desk and television, two chairs with a small table and tea making equipment. We looked out over the Main Square.Bathroom had a little mould on the shower, but Ive seen worse! No hairdryer in the room and when I enquired at reception there were none left to lend out.

Breakfast was terrible,room wasnt very pleasant, more like a bar than a dining room.You had to ask for coffee , there was only tea on the buffet table.Toast you had to make yourself using a two slice toaster which had a faulty switch that you had to hold down to toast the bread. There were only two toasters so big queues to use them! Everything ran out very quickly including cutlery and staff were very reluctant to replenish.
On the plus side,the location was great ,very close to the Bell Tower, Drum Tower and the Main Square, which was beautifully decorated with flowers for the Moon Festival.If you come out of the hotel and turn left there is a dumpling shop or just a little further on is a Starbucks which would be great for breakfast .

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sentosa54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2007

We booked two rooms for a stay that turned out to be a nightmare for the family ! The air-conditioning in the rooms did not work - we tried to get assistance from the front desk where staffers had serious attitude problems. Frankly they did not care and spoke little English - at best! We hardly slept because of the heat and there were bed bugs to keep us awake. In addition there were also mosquitoes in the room. Forget about the breakfast - there was hardly enough food, the quality was horrendous and staff members were openly taking food off the table and putting them into their pockets! The road just outside the hotel smells of the sewer ... need I say more?

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kooichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Bathroom offers condoms and "intimate genital wipes to prevent disease", bedroom had fleas or bed bugs either way was bitten more in that room than in 2 weeks touring rest of China. Breakfast was cheap but inedible but Starbucks is 2 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WebbCarlisle_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2006

We stayed here from July 17 to 19th, as part of a small tour group.

This hotel was okay. The room we got was large and relatively clean. It lacked a few standard amenities that we're accustomed to such a clock radio, or hairdryer.

It's a good location, very close to the city center (as the name of the hotel would indicate, near the Bell and Drum Tower).

Plenty of good restaurants nearby.

We weren't particulary impressed with the hotel, but had no real complaints either. Very average.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vancouver_Roary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#56 of 2,617 in Xi'an
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aurum International
Aurum International
#45 of 2,617 in Xi'an
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
King Town No.1 Hotel
King Town No.1 Hotel
#164 of 2,617 in Xi'an
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#32 of 2,617 in Xi'an
343 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wenyuan Hotel
Wenyuan Hotel
#632 of 2,617 in Xi'an
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merlinhod Hotel
Merlinhod Hotel
#133 of 2,617 in Xi'an
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang Inn Bell & Drum Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn Bell & Drum Tower

Address: No.1 Shehui Road, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710000, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £21 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinjiang Inn Bell & Drum Tower 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Jinjiang Inn Bell & Drum Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell And Drum Tower Hotel
Bell Drum Hotel
Bell Drum Xi An
Jinjiang Inn Bell & Drum Tower China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing