We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice warm up to the Terra Cotta Warriors”

Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$61.91*
and up
Private Tour: Tomb of Emperor Jingdi with Xi'an Airport Transfer
Ranked #9 of 333 things to do in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The joint mausoleum of Emperor Jingdi and Empress Wang, his consort.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A nice warm up to the Terra Cotta Warriors”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Before the 'main event' I had the good fortune to have my hosts take me here. Not as spectacular but still fascinating, with thousands of small terra cotta figures, with many different types of animals be the star attactions for me.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HughDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    183
    48
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Vast”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Very interesting insight into the Han dynasty, which you don't often get. The minature terracotta officials were neat, and all the other artifacts they've found were similarly interesting. It is a bit of a walk from the "underground musuem" to the collection of artifacts, but worth it. The site of the sacrificial altar is not much unless you have a thing for surveying.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rmcmullen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting couple of hours”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is near airport, if you do go there then perhaps better to do it before you go to see the Terracotta Army, not as grand but still interesting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank chopknock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Side trip After Warriors”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is actually a very interesting site and well worth a visit. This site is far less traveled and can be completed in an hour or less. My only issue is that the area you walk through is completely shrouded in glass and you must wear shoe covers because the floor is also see through glass. While this sounds interesting, it does not add to the quality of the visit but it does make it nearly impossible to take any photographs requiring a flash and they keep the lights extremely low and thus requires a flash to get any kind of decent photo. Again I say it is worth the visit and if not for the glass and light issue I would give it a 4 or 5.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cmflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunmow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mini terracotta warriors introduction to the "Big Brothers" attraction!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were delighted to visit the tombs at this site as a prelude to all the other sites on our whistle-stop three day excursion to Xi'an. We were well prepared in advance for the main attraction of the life-size warriors we were to encounter the next day.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hottentot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling) also viewed

 

Been to Tomb of Emperor Jingdi (Hanyangling)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing