We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Xian”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #10 of 2,559 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Xian”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We had a great time at this hotel. It was raining throughout our 2 night stay but as the hotel has several good restaurants and leisure facilities (at neighbouring Sofitel), we did not have to venture far. The room was beautifully decorated and had a lovely view over the garden. The staff couldn't have been more helpful - from giving directions, advising on hotel facilities and local sightseeing and even going out of the way to organise umbrellas at a time of high demand. Every member of staff understood English perfectly.

We had a bad experience with the tour of the Terracotta Warriors that we had organised through the hotel. We went to the Sofitel Tour Office to provide feedback and were refunded the whole amount immediately without even having to ask for it!

We were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylish_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    398
    122
    37
    13
See reviews for
165
365
73
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel after a charity walk of the Great Wall, and I flew down to Xian to see the Terracotta Warriers. Made the mistake of reading a James Paterson noval on the flight from Beijing about a taxi driver who kidnapped tis customers, so opted for the airport bus...
Very heavy rain in Xian and a 20 mins walk to the hotel. Staff (all staff really lovely) at the reception met me with towels to dry off. Good modern room with entrance hall, large bedroom and bathroom. After rain stopped walked to the Bell Tower, market etc. After Beijing, the lack of crowds and smog was a welcome change.
The hotel is in the old USSR staff accomodation compound (1950s) and the building's are stunning and grand.
Breakfast buffet very nice after the "lodges" on the charity walk and to have toast and butter MOST welcome.
Teracotta Warriers were amazing and did not disappoint. Would definately recomend hotel and Xian to all.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris-LondonGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney.Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Our group of 48 friends stayed at the Grand Mercure for 4 days as part of our trip to China. It was certainly the best hotel out of the 4 we stayed at throughout our holiday. The service was excellent, the food catered for all tastes. We were able to use the facilities of the other hotels within the complex. We would certainly stay at this hotel again.
During our trip we stayed at Beijing, Xian, Shanghai and Hong Kong, all of these cities are so different but I loved Xian for it's history. One day we will definately go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Rooms were a decent size but found them very dark due to very little natural light due to overhanging trees. however rooms were clean and well maintained. Breakfast was buffet style with decent choice. This hotel shares it's grounds with the Sofitel and as grand mercure is part of the same group, guests can use all their facilities. Sofitel has a very nice pool and gym. Also there were about 4 restaurants and a Latino style bar. Food, service and ambience was far superior in the Sofitel. We enjoyed our stay immensely in truth because of the facilities offered by Sofitel but paid the lower rate for the grand mercure so happy days! Hotel is about a 15mun walk to most sites and shopping. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days when in Xian to see the terracotta warriors. The hotel looked very grand – there’s a waterfall in the square where it’s situated. The room was nice and clean – the ensuite had a bath and shower. The range of food on offer was good and the staff were very attentive. I stayed at this hotel very briefly and although the hotel was quite central in Xian (not far away from the shops, for example) it felt a bit remote. Sounds obvious but, as I’d just arrived from Beijing, the pace of life in Xian felt much slower. Very good hotel though, so please don’t be put off by the previous comment.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happywheninair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Great place to stay as you don't feel like you're in the middle of Xi'an. It is a great place to relax at the end of the day. The staff were excellent, especially Luna, who was very helpful and supportive given that my hubby was in hospital during our stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and very good value. Tea and coffee making facilities available which was good! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amsfromaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

As I'm sure most people do we visited xian mainly to see the terracotta warriors. I hoped xian would surprise us but like the hotel its nothing to write home about.
The hotel itself is fine can't complain about the rooms. The bed was massive but hard as seems to be the norm in china.

Renmin sq is a large complex of hotels in the middle of xian. As a guest you're free to use any of the facilities of the other hotels so we thought we'd try out the bar and restaurant of the (higher rated) sofitel. Don't bother. it took us two attempts to get a mojhito without mouldy mint and 45mins to explain what fries are (and after having to send back some meatballs for some reason)

However as a means to an end the hotel is fine. If I was staying there on business i'd have been content, but was a little disappointed as it was our honeymoon

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmd203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,559 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing