We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #10 of 2,692 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Stayed here for 6 nights mostly on the reviews on Tripadvisor. I was not disappointed as this is a very good place to stay.

The hotel is very well located is a park with several other prestige hotels. It is a gated complex with security on the gate (although no-one seemed to be challenge those who entered). You do however feel very safe here. For those who have travelled throughout China may have experienced some hotels do not have that safe feeling and often there can be cards placed under the door for other "activities". You have to wonder how this can happen without the management being aware of these things.
I booked the standard room which was very nice however the room was not that warn at night. On speaking to the front desk (Tina) I was moved to a larger room with an enormous king bed. This room was fabulous with large bath and shower (one cracked floor tile). Sheets, towels and bathroom accessories were all first class and a bathrobe "to die for". and yes the room was warm ... as it was literally freezing outside.

Breakfast is a buffet style (115RMB), perhaps a little expensive for China but worth every cent when good breakfasts in China seem few and far between. I was offered coffee as I sat down! There are satff everywhere and they are all friendly and attentive. Hot breakfast included plenty of bacon (soft and hard) sausages baked beans and eggs (cooked to your requirements by a chef that speaks English! Plenty of fruit and some different cereals. Overall, first class.

I wanted to see the warriors and had already been told by the taxi driver it would be 450 (RMB about $75US. However the doorman organised a taxi for 400 RMB and I had a great day. You can organise a local unregistered taxi down the street for 200RMB but I felt safer going through the hotel.

There are many thing to do Xian and it is a great place to visit. Don't try the street food however. I did and and had an uncomfortable night. Have a look through the markets and always pay at least 1/2 the asking price. They all speak a bit of English and know the value of your money. Eat in the hotel or the larger reseraunts in the shopping centres which are amazing eg Wanda Shopping Centre with the largest escalator I have ever seen.

If you get the opportunity go to Famen Temple (about 120klms from Xian). Interesting monestry and a large tower. It is the centre of Buddhism in China and also holds a very large Buddha (gold of course).

Back to the hotel. Front desk staff are excellent. All speak some level of English and the supervisors and very friendly and communicate well. Overall this a good place to stay, well located, friendly and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Take the room with a king bed they are larger and have a better bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maestr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

Only stayed there for 1 night, but I liked the service - both cleaning and front desk staff. They have a Business Center and first 15 minutes are free, then charged to your room.
As everywhere in China, tap water in undrinkable, so bottled water is provided.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzTank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here as part of my trip with China Odyssey Tours (p.s. best way to travel to China) and we were very pleased with the room and service. They had a fun Cuban club on the huge campus that has about 5 different hotels, but all accessible to all. Breakfast was also the best that I had while I was in China. I would stay again when in Xian.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanaMarieBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Hotel is in good position in nice part of town and is also situated in the complex of other Accor hotels such as the East and West Soffitel's. All the facilities of these five star hotels can be used by the Grand Mecure and Mecure hotel customers.
Friendly, helpful staff with good spoken English.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meanderstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

My wife and infant son stayed at the Grand Mercure on RenMin Squre in September. Room was large and comfortable. Bed was not the traditional firm bed that you get in most chinese hotels--it was a western style bed as expected. We usually stay at the Sofitel when we visit Xi'An, and this was our first experience with the Grand Mercure and we were quite impressed.

Amenities:
-slippers (very important!)
-all necessary bath amenities including shaving kit, toothbrush, etc.

Baby Amenities:
-crib with blankets and bedding
-They were able to clear out the refrigerator at my request (removed all the mini bar items) so that I could store milk and food for the baby
-one note: we were in a room w/two double beds, and the only place in the room that ha spae enough for the crib with right underneath an ir conditioning vent, so that was unfortunate (we improvised with a makeshift crib cover)
-anotehr note: the crib lining was a bit dirty--can ask the staff to launder it

Front desk staff were very nice and accomodating. You can also use the gym and pool at the sofitel across the way. When swimming with my son, the staff told us as we left the sofite pool that we weren't supposed to take the towels away, but when I explained that my son would be cold, they allowed us to take the pool towels to the Grand Mercure and just turn them into the Grand Mercure front desk later on.

We got the breakfast option, and the breakfast was very good with western and chinese options. We usually get the breakfast option at the sofitel, and though the sofitel breakfast is obviously better, the Grnd Mercure was very, very good:

-omelette bar
-noodle and dumpling bar
-assortment of fresh bread and jams
-cheese plate
-yogurt (fresh!)
-assortment of fresh fruits
-porridge (jook) bar
-assortment of juices
-great coffee

Would definitely stay here again...very good alternative to the sofitel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgehu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My family stayed at the Grand Mercure on Monday and Tuesday night. We had two rooms booked as the room options are two singles or 1 king bed. We had issues at this hotel.

Positives:

Great breakfast on 4th floor. This was a wonderful surprise. Selections of Western and Asian food items. Great egg station. Nicely done.

Twin bedroom on 1st floor was nicely updated. Room was large and comfortable.

Ate dinner at Sofitel next door (sister hotel) at Koi Japanese restaurant. Fish was excellent, service attentive and overall a nice experience.

Negatives:
We asked for connecting rooms. We were told upon arrival they don't have connecting rooms available. As our daughters are pre-teen, next option was next door. This was finally accommodated.

Mosquitos in rooms. Be aware this can be an issue on lower floors.

We asked for non smoking and Rcvd rooms that were on a smoking floor. Our rooms were fine but the hallways often stank of smoke.

Our King room was tired and small. It needed an upgrade and looked entirely different than our daughters room next door. They need to offer a consistent product.

Water temperature in hotel cycled hot and cold. This was a major inconvenience.

Hotel fully booked so rooms were unable to be changed.

Overall
Needs work to offer the right product to be better than mid-pack average.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridawithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Overall a pretty good hotel. You can easily get to good sightseeing for example the drum and bell towers which are within walking distance. The renmin square complex is dealt nice and a good location for tourists as you can access the facilities in other hotels too.
The rooms were really clean but a little bit dark and may do wellto be updated a little.
Staff were really friendly and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferlou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#9 of 2,692 in Xi'an
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,692 in Xi'an
534 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#14 of 2,692 in Xi'an
543 reviews
4.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,692 in Xi'an
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#13 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £43 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing