We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, an oasis of calm in hectic Xi'An”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #8 of 2,652 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my 70-year old mother. I got a really cheap deal on the hotel through Agoda so I was predisposed to like the place, but also curious as to why it was so much cheaper than the other 4 and 5 star international hotel chains. The hotel is north of the centre of Xi'An, set on a large private square which also holds the Sofitel, another Mercure and a Chinese hotel. The BIG advantage of this is that the hotel is completely silent - no traffic noise at all - and you step out the front door into a square with trees and a fountain playing, rather than into the chaotic Xi'An traffic. The hotel is very well maintained, our room was on the small size but also very nice, big comfortable beds, super clean. The staff were all exceptionally friendly, helpful and polite, with excellent English. The breakfast buffet was fine (good coffee!) with plenty of European / American options alongside the Chinese ones.
I also liked the location - it was about a 20 minute walk to the Muslim Quarter which, let's face it, is pretty much the only place worth visiting within Xi'An itself. It was also a 20 minute walk to the train station where we got the bus out to the Terracotta Warriors.
The one negative point is that the facilities advertised on the hotel website - gym, swimming pool, spa - are not actually at the hotel, they are at the Sofitel on the other side of the square, along with four or five restaurants. I had been planning to go swimming, but the fact I had to cross the square rather than just wander along to the pool within the hotel put me off. Not a big deal, but this might be why the Grand Mercure was cheaper. Other than that - everything was great. And it was a lovely place to come back to after a hot, dusty day among the crowds.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up probably have more light - we were on the second floor so our room was a little on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maririgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

At the same time,we appreciate your sharing your concerns about the swimming pool, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I arrived at the hotel past mid-night. There were few Local fm Shantung were making noise at front desk over their reservation. There seem some miscommunication with their reservation by the agent. The hotel is fully booked for next few nights. Hotel could only garner them 1 night. one of them raised his voice n bang table. The front reception handled it calmly and patient. A pity that there was only her manning the reception. I waited for almost 15-20 mins before I could register. All in all I managed to get to my room at 1:30am to 1:45am. If she couldn't settle the dispute of the early group am wondering will I get to my room? hotel shd consider extra manpower.

Generally the hotel service is good. Room is spacious and clean. Being inside the square create kind of exclusiveness and privacy for the guests.

There's 1 local mall approx 200m away. Bell Tower is 2 stops away. u can take public bus at 1 CNY. much cheaper than taxi or tuk tuk. I asked 1 cab to Tangs Palace at Wen Yi road, they quoted me 100 CNY. it's ripped off ! I wanted to ask hotel for help but lobby was so busy and I couldn't find any conceige for help. Certainly more room for improvement.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phyl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

At the mean time, we are very concerned to learn that you encountered some problems in the room as well as in the concierge. we are so sorry about that. please rest assure we have brought this to the relative department and prevent the future occurance.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We picked the hotel based on good review here.
I want to point out the hotel location is not central, it would take a good 20 mins to walk up to the intersection or Main Street from the hotel and then a few more mins to be able to cross it! I did not enjoy the walk as some sections were not pedestrians friendly and Xian drivers were either blinded, don't care or both. I couldn't flag down any taxi.

Check in went well, we arrived early from an over train from Beijing and were allowed to check in. Thankyou. It was rained heavily outside so let our driver go early, and went to have lunch at the Sofitel, it was very delicious. We couldn't get out, as all umbrella were on loans.
Our room was facing the front, we could heard birds in the morning, and we could open our window. May as well, as our room was quite warm and stuffy, I rang housekeeping no one spoke English there. I rang the reception you must call housekeeping! I was giving up. Then there was a knock, a lady appeared with a small fan, using her hands gesture I then guessed that, a/c system is only works from 6pm to 6 am only.
The bed was very good, softer than expected, linens were good quality. I did sleep well here.
The minibar fridge was in the room, with free water bottles and kettle for teas & coffee making.

In the morning, I wasn't sure where was the breakfast room was, so asked the front desk, this person was not at all friendly, she was rather rude , without looking at me and barked at me "4 floor"!
My husband wanted to report her for her rudeness, but I said let's go eat breakfast, they probably won't do anything about this.
Breakfast was ok, plenty to eat but nothing outstanding or nice tasting. The eggs omelet were swimming in oil. However, breads and pastries were good and enough to make me happy.

We went out with our tour guide to See the Terracotta soldiers and Xian main attractions, we have lunch at one of the local BBQ restaurant, and went back to the Sofitel for our afternoon drink before heading out to the Tang dinner show.
We were checked out by the same lady who checked us in, and all went well, she was friendly, and efficient.
Not sure if we would come back to this hotel or Xian, we found Xijan people were the least helpful, agressive, pushy and viewing tourist as walking ATM and ready to rip us off at any chance they can.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gmocanu_perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

At the same time, we are very concerned to learn that you encountered some problems in the room as well as the frontdesk that you are not peobably satisfied with. we are so sorry about that. please rest assure we have brought this to the relative department and prevent the future occurance.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Overall
Very nice hotel built by the Russians in the 50s, well maintained! You will not feel and see the age. Hotel is good for tourists wishing to see the city by themselves as it is close to the center and the Hot Spots are in walking distance.

Location
As the Hotel is a bit away from the center, it is very quiet and safe. As already said, you have all the important spots in walking distance. You can walk in a square to see the drum and bell tower, the city wall and the flower / Muslim market.

Cleanliness
Clean room, although a lot of people already lived there (you can see this on the carpet). Unfortunately, both of the big towels had hairs on it.

Room
Big room, unfortunately it is a bit dark. As there was no free King- or Queensize bed when we arrived, we had to take a 2 bed room. But it was possible to push them together (Yes, it was dirty below the beds...).

Bathroom
Big enough, clean, new shower and bathtub available. I already mentioned the dirty towels.

Staff
Friendly, good English speaking staff (even the cleaning lady could speak English).

Breakfast
Western and Chinese style available, wide variety, very good quality.

Miscellaneous
We'll definitely come again if we visit Xian again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiasWsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

At the mean time, we are very concerned to learn that you encountered some problems in the room, we are so sorry about that. please rest assure we have brought this to the relative department and prevent the future occurance.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel is tucked in behind the Sofitel, which makes it rather hard to find. Our taxi driver made a couple of circuits of the area before finally asking for directions at the Sofitel.
We were there with our son and grand daughters, and the rooms were of good size, and well laid out. We were upgraded to a suite, and the room was huge. It had a separate lounge, and a bathroom with a separate shower, and a spa bath. The girls loved the spa bath. and got water and bubbles all over the floor, which unfortunately did not drain away, so we had to mop it up with towels. A small inconvenience which was mostly of our own making.
The staff are friendly, and we had no difficulty in communicating with them. The concierge arranged a car to take us the the Terracotta warriors, and a car and driver for a tour of the city.
There was quite a long walk from our room to the breakfast room; Once there though the selection was amazing, and the staff were friendly and attentive.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Mercure, and would certainly recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Locate the hotel on a map before you engage a taxi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryTNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Grand Merucre Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and very much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

At Grand Merucre, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ardafly
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just off the main road where you can walk to the Bell/Drum Tower in 10-15 mins this hotel complex was quiet and peaceful, set in a garden type environment. The room was comfortable & clean, although a bit small. No view from the window. The buffet breakfast was acceptable with a fair range catering for Western tastes. Not brilliant but a fair spread. The Sofitel Hotel (just a short walk through the garden) had a good gym and swimming pool, together with a good restaurant for a buffet dinner and an even nicer Moroccan restaurant. I guess if you can afford to stay in the Sofitel this hotel was nicer and you wouldn't have to walk outside to get to the gym/pool. We asked for a non-smoking room and this was given. Taxi's are hard to find in Xian, it appears that there is some 'car syndicate' going on with private drivers with whom you have to negotiate outside the hotel. The hotel staff were unable to get a taxi for us so I'm glad we booked the hotel car to get to and from the airport. We were forced to use Tuk Tuks most of the time due to the lack of willing taxi drivers to take you to places. We were safe but some of the journeys in a very basic Tuk Tuk driving the wrong way on a road and in near collision with lorries were a bit scary!

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room if you require that. We had a quiet room at the back of the hotel with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank discovery204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

At the same time,we appreciate your concerns. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused, but we are grateful that you shared this with us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant department.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Your sincerely,

Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,652 in Xi'an
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#15 of 2,652 in Xi'an
524 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,652 in Xi'an
1,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#8 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#9 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#18 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £38 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Renmin Square is a heritage hotel, first opened in 1957 and is located in the grounds of Renmin Square. The hotel reflects the Sino Russian style of architecture, which is steeped in revolutionary history. There are 202 well appointed rooms, a restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Accor Xi An
Grand Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing