We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,004)
Filter reviews
1,004 results
Traveller rating
355
442
141
45
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
442
141
45
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renmin square other hotels same complex bell tower muslim quarter terracotta warriors minute walk hotel is located front desk staff breakfast buffet taxi driver huge bed comfortable stay standard room comfortable hotel chinese food stayed here for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 1,004 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Stayed for two nights. The room seemed big and the lobby was huge with nice sitting area. The breakfast gave a big selection with both Asian and Western food to choose from in buffet. Location was good, near bell tower. No complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear mcmusgro,

Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you find your recent stay enjoyable. Your recognition motivates us greatly to do it even better, thank you.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

This hotel is in a complex with 4 other hotels owned by the same chain. This one is a very good value for your money with nice rooms and a lovely buffet breakfast. The dining room is on the 4th floor and feels elegant and refined. There is a large selection of food and good mix of Chinese and Western dishes. We did not use the hot tub or swimming pool because these are actually situated within one of the other hotels on the property.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27rennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear 27rennie,

Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It gives us great pleasure to know that you've enjoyed your recent stay enjoyable, and thank you very much for your recognition and encouragement.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Great hotel, staff were great even with limited english they are genuine in trying to help. In Sofetail hotel at the front of the complex you will find a ATM machine and tour shop. -if you go to change money at the front desk you need your passport and the money must been in good condition or they wont take it. Rooms are very clean - breakfast is great. Hotel is very close to Cyclist Resturant. Beds are a bit hard but and bathrooms could do with a refurbish. All in all I would stay here again - very well priced for what you get. easy to taxi - only about 2 kms from city wall so a nice walk.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear William J,

Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and providing us with the gift of feedback.

Thank you for your recognition on our staff, at the same time we will continue our efforts in the language training. We will also enhance our efforts in room maintenance.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

Spent 4 nights (selected by business hosts after rejecting several other properties as in worse condition). Overall acceptable but not spectacular. Needs some updating. Small rooms by American standards - two people would be crowded (particularly if more than two small pieces of luggage). Poor lighting (many 15 / 25 watt sources) and significant lack of receptacles for chargers etc. Staff very pleasant, English sparse. As usual in China the HVAC system doesn’t really work (thermostat appears merely for show). Several other apparently newer hotels within the same compound. Fair location, a couple of km outside old city walls on major traffic artery. Would choose a different property if revisiting- this is a faded beauty.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank rbarsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear rbarsl,

Thank you for providing us with the gift of feedback.

I'm sorry to know that the stay was not pleasant. We will definitely do out utmost in improving the accommodation conditions, and our efforts in the language training will never stop.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

This was an older hotel but in its hay day I believe it was quite beautiful and still is. The rooms were nice with beautiful wood The bathroom was set up a little differently where you showered outside the tub but it was all in closed, still very nice. The beds were very hard and I found it very hard to sleep. This hotel was surrounded by other hotels which you could get 2 to have a drink and listen to music. Unfortunately I did not take a picture of this place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, General Manager at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Sharon L,

Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square and taking the time to share your experience with us.

I'm sorry that the bed didn't meet your expectation and sorry for any discomfort caused. Aside from that, your satisfaction to other aspects motivates us greatly to do it even better, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Rudy Rodas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews