We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the Sofitel reputation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,617 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed 4 nights at the Sofitel on Renmin Square in Xi'an, and I must say I was impressed. I have had a few experiences in China at prominent Western hotel chains where the local property doesn't quite live up to the brand reputation. Happily that wasn't the case at all with the Sofitel in Xi'an.

The lobby is spacious and beautiful, the front desk staff very polite and helpful, and the room was lovely. The room looked a tiny bit dated, but only a tiny bit, and it was more of a design/interior decoration out-datedness than any sort of shabbiness of the room itself or the furnishings. The breakfast buffet was also outstanding - as is almost always the case at top-tier hotels in China. There's even a pretty lively bar/nightclub in the basement, with a band and plenty of room for dancing and reasonably priced beer. It's a bit hard to find as it's in a long tunnel that runs under the hotel, but just keep walking and you'll find it.

Xi'an was a wonderful, crowded, hectic city, and the Sofitel was a nice respite from the craziness outside. Be wary of the taxi queue outside the hotel (and of taxis in general in Xi'an). I was told it's one of the major few cities in China where the industry isn't regulated and rip-offs are common. Most of the taxis outside will refuse to take you anywhere except the airport or to the terra cotta warriors area, and if you get in without either a local Chinese friend or assistance from the hotel's staff you're likely to be fleeced. For getting around town just flag down a tuk-tuk and negotate a price before you get in. 10-15 RMB should get you anywhere in town, but don't be surprised if they ask you for 50 or even 100. Just laugh and say 10, and if it's not raining on Friday/Saturday night, the driver will probably accept. The hotel staff can assist here too - in the evenings there is a bellhop standing at the street entrance, and he'll be happy to flag one for you and set the price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pw_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,328)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have stayed in Sofitel hotels before and found this to be a bit of a let down. The hotel is rather large and consists of two wings, which makes for some inconveniences. Breakfast is served only in the East wing so quite a walk is necessary if staying in the West Wing.
We arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon, after an early morning flight from Shanghai and a day's sightseeing so, somewhat tired. Unfortunately, due to a conference taking place, the hotel was very busy and our room wasn't ready. The very limited seating in the lobby area made waiting even more unwelcome. After a wait of about 15 minutes the room still wasn't ready so the hotel offered us an upgrade.
The room was very comfortably furnished, but clearly designed for business. A smart desk offered suitable work space but that wasn't what we wanted. There was no dressing table as space was taken up by the desk. However, there was a very comfortable, if somewhat small, chaise-long, which I fell asleep on after luxuriating in a very welcome hot bath!
Breakfast was very busy, but there was a good selection of food and freshly made egg dishes to order. Fresh pastries were brought round to the tables, but overall, staff seemed very rushed.
The lifts were somewhat unreliable and resulted in an unexpected tour of each floor as we tried to get to our floor!
The Moroccan restaurant was a delightful experience, with excellent service and tasty, well presented dishes.
Overall, a bit less than we were expecting and we would probably look for other accommodation if we were to return to Xi'an.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We were so impressed with this Sofitel. We have stayed in a number of Sofitels and this is by far our favourite. Wish we had had more time to explore Xian and also enjoy the luxury of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank judy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We had a great experience during our stay at the Sofitel. We had taken an overnight train from Beijing to Xi'An and had requested an early check in at the Sofitel, if possible. We arrived at the hotel around 9 a.m. and were immediately given our room. The rooms are nicely furnished and the exercise facilities are first class with a large number of different types of machines.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank howdydoody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank smel_98
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 April 2012

location good and peaceful settting in a garden - so we keep going back. But the service has gone down - many staff are untrained, the breakfast buffet used to include a glass of proseccco - no more. Give the Moroccan restauarant a miss - dishes forgotten, multiple mistakes and not great when it finally arrives.Forget eating after 10pm - they happily served us dried out bread. Next time I try somewhere else

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mightymark9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times before, but always on business. This time I was with my family. The room was nice and spacious. We had a siuite with an extra bed for my son. The turn down service was below expectations. No fresh towels unless we called for them. They did not clean up well or replenish the coffee. The indoor pool was not warm enough. The buffet breakfast was ok, but not at par with 5 star hotels. I would come back, but principally because there is not a lot of choice in xian.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Eeyore821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#5 of 2,617 in Xi'an
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,617 in Xi'an
680 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#4 of 2,617 in Xi'an
676 reviews
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,617 in Xi'an
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#33 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range: £72 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing