We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As always, great hospitality & comfort, with french flair”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #7 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
“As always, great hospitality & comfort, with french flair”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Love this hotel, centrally located in Xi'an in it's own compound (also housing the Xi'an Grand Theatre). Wonderful for foreigners, since the food options and staff training make you feel like you are in little Europe. Rooms very comfy, very clean and lovely -- oh and TERRIFIC sofitel beef burger!

Room Tip: East Wing stay, upgrade to suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TobySimkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    795
    212
    58
    28
See reviews for
399
799
105
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Spent one night in a luxury apartment in the D Wing. Very luxurious accommodation but the washing machine was not working and the room floor not as clean as it should be. The hotel has two wings separated by a busy main road and connected by an internal underpass. Reaching D Wing is complicated and confusing, especially at night when some o the ates are locked.

The breakfast served in the Japanese hotel is below par. Only boiled eggs are available and the American/English breakfast selection is weak. Seating is a major problem. The Japanese restaurant has very few tables, and they are mostly for 4 people. The restaurant is too small to serve the breakfast needs of D Wing guests which leads to unacceptable waits. D wing has other restaurants but hey do not serve breakfast so it is likely that this would become tiresome for stays over 2 days. Bottom line if your spending close to $300 for a room with breakfast the value delivered needs to be up to par. It wasn't.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank VM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Xian. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we have brought this to the attention of the relevant departments.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent three nights here with anothr family, and both families enjoyed our stay. The hotel is centrally located, service was good, and everything was clean. The price was very reasonable as well, and a good value. There was a nice pool that the kids enjoyed. I would recommend this place for people visiting Xi'an.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed at the Sofitel in Xian as part of a private tour. The hotel is kept in great condition visually. The lobbies are very clean and the staff is helpful.

Our room was the standard room that Sofitel offers. It was somewhat smaller than I expected it to be. But, the room had everything it needed. Big closet. Bathroom with separate tub and shower. The shower was awesome because it had the waterfall shower head in the ceiling. The room was kind of odd with a window looking into the bathroom from the bedroom.

The bed wasn't was I was expected. It was really firm, definitely not a pillow top mattress type of bed. I had a hard time sleeping during my stay.

The breakfast buffet included with our room was pretty good. There was a good spread of western and eastern type foods.

Kind of hard to get a taxi within the complex.

Location is within the city wall of Xian. This is recommended for tourists. It's about a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the Muslim Quarter (which is an absolute must for street food and bargain shopping).

My only recommendation is that you try to stay in the West Wing Tower if possible. We were in the East Wing. The East Wing has a couple restaurants. But the West Wing has the main restaurant for breakfast, a bar, the spa, pool, health club, and other options. The tunnel that connects the two towers is not built for people who are over 6'3". It's funny if your friends are super tall.

Overall, I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Xi'an on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We actually booked at grand mercure but was upgraded upon our arrival at xian, to a family suite in sofitel. Big praise to the front desk staffs! What a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was great, wide variety n great taste. Excellent service through out our stay. My husband had problem with the aircon but the staffs were very helpful and tried their best to make our stay comfortable, overall it is highly recommended to stay at this hotel if you go to Xian.

Room Tip: Email hotel in advanced and request your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have extensively traveled. This is one of the very best hotels I have stayed at. Everything that Grace at China Culture Tour had booked for us was excellent. Sofitel had big and comfortable
Rooms. The breakfast was over the top, there were so many delicious things to choose from. It compares to the best Sunday brunch I have had plus Chinese food.
The hotel is well located within the old Xian city wall.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Sofitel Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,550 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Xi'an
Hilton Xi'an
#6 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
4.1 mi away
Gran Melia Xi'an
Gran Melia Xi'an
#2 of 2,550 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Westin Xian
The Westin Xian
#5 of 2,550 in Xi'an
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#4 Family Hotel in Xi'an
#5 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#7 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#38 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The majestic Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square locates right in the heart of its walled city. It is in the hotel complex of beautifully landscaped gardens stand a series of historical buildings of Sino-Russian architecture echoing more than 50 years of history. The 414 spacious guestrooms equipped with ultra-modern conveniences - the exclusive Sofitel's MY BED, rainforest shower, complimentary wireless Internet access. For the busy executive traveller requiring extra efficiency, the Club Sofitel has 56 rooms and suites with upgraded facilities, services and exclusive benefits. Azur delights with fresh, savory Mediterranean dishes and European specialties. At the Casablanca, experience authentic Moroccan dishes. Koi, our Japanese Restaurant is the very best in Japanese cuisine with an elegant atmosphere. Le Chinois is the most prestigious Cantonese restaurant in the city. Bar Bambu is the lobby bar with romantic live music, and you can also enjoy the international music our Habana Club of finest wine and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square Hotel Xi`An
Sofitel Xi An
Accor Xi An
Xi'an Sofitel
Sofitel Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing