We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms are small and hotel old”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Xian Skytel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Xian Skytel Hotel
Ranked #32 of 2,550 Hotels in Xi'an
Montrouge, France
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Rooms are small and hotel old”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is quite centrally located - within walking distance to the bell tower and the south city gate. But it is small. OK for two persons. We had an extra bed added and we didn't have much room after we opened our luggages. Comfort-wise it is OK but not much to offer.

Breakfast is the same everyday. The chefs seemed to lack imagination. There are better hotels. Frankly, if I were to go to Xian again, I would not choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM92120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    153
    88
    20
    12
See reviews for
44
66
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guilin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Two of my colleagues and I stayed in this hotel from July 20 to July 23. It was a business trip, actually we made quite a online search and consult some local friends in Xi'an before going. Eventually, we booked the Skytel Hotel mostly because of its perfect central location. It is on the South Main Street within the City Wall. It is 3-5 minutes’ walk to the South Main Gate of the City Wall if you walk south, and 5-9 minutes’ walk to the Bell Tower towards north. And what's more, if you keep walk further northwest from the Bell Tower, in 10 more minutes, you get the famous Muslim Quarter with the Big Muslim Bazaar and the Great Mosque. Behind the hotel building, there is a large super market named Huarun Wanjia Super-market and the Defuxiang Bar Street. There are many noodle and jiaozi restaurants around it.

Its breakfast is on the second floor, quite a various of choice, simply but good taste.

There is free WIFI in every corner. Their people are friendly and helpful.

The only disadvantage in my eyes is the size of the rooms, little bit small. For large size people, better think about it.

Room Tip: Better ask them clearly about the type of rooms as this hotel have quite different types of rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndlessService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This quite reasonably-priced hotel is located within easy walking distance of the Bell Tower, the Drum Tower, the Muslim Quarter and the South Gate of the ancient city wall. There are plenty of eating, shopping and sightseeing opportunities at close hand -- and the subway entrance is only about a block away. For price and convenience you can't beat the Skytel Hotel.

The hotel itself is decent enough, with courteous staff who speak at least a little English. The rooms are very small, but quite clean. Our bed was typically hard, but comfortable, and the staff quickly accommodated our request for additional pillows.

The wi-fi in the room worked well, and CNN was available on the flat-screen TV. There are no safes in the room or refrigerators, but there is an electric kettle, complimentary bottled water, packets of tea and the ever-present Nescafe!

We had breakfast daily at the hotel's upstairs dining room. The food was certainly passable, with both Chinese and western options. All were mostly indifferently prepared and none very hot, but the price was great and you could eat your fill of pastries, yogurt, cereal and fruit if you didn't care for the cooked options.

There is also a little coffee shop adjacent the lobby, but we did not check it out so I can't recommend one way or the other.

The air conditioning worked sporadically at best, so we did find ourselves uncomfortably warm much of the time -- and we were there in May, so I imagine that July and August could really be brutal. (I've also heard other travelers complain about the cold in the winter, which makes we think the hotel's entire HVAC system and/or insulation is sorely lacking.)

Hot water in the shower was plentiful, but as many other travelers have pointed out, there is a serious lack of bathroom privacy. There is no door to the bathroom; only a windowed dividing wall separates it from the bedroom. The toilet and shower stalls are all glass, and are true stalls in that the glass stops a few feet short of the ceiling so there isn't even any sound barrier. To top it off there is a mirror on the wall adjacent the shower, so anyone in the shower is pretty much on full display (which can be a good or bad thing, depending on your particular bent).

If you're traveling on your own, or with someone you're comfortable sharing all your bathroom rituals with, then this hotel is a very good option for both its convenience and affordability. It's not fancy but perfectly respectable, though I might caution staying there in either extremely cold or hot weather. With those caveats in place, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaricum
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Overrated hotel, tries to establish a businesslike atmosphere. The rooms are ok, the staff friendly. But only a few can speak english. We had a few problems with the two rooms we rented. Toilets din't flush and a fridge wasn't working. It took quite some effort to get some action, although in the end, they get the job done.
The restaurant is to be skipped, since the quality is below average and there are a lot of good eating opportunities in the neighborhood.
The big advantage of the hotel is the location, just in the centre of the city, within walking distance of shopping opportunities, the muslim quarter and the bell tower. But there are several hotels in the vicinity

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_de_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Most staff spoke good English and were very helpful with directions and tour options. The location of this hotel was perfect. I spent a lot of time on my feet as there is so much nearby. The buses and tut tut cabs were also very cheap for getting around.

Room Tip: Higher floors will obviously have less noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NevaBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This was the hotel with the best service on our tour through China. There was a problem with electricity in our room which was fixed by the hotel electrician within 15 minutes after informing reception. The command of English is generally very good and everyone was very friendly. The twin room was well equipped and clean. Breakfast was served in a nice restaurant and the choice was very good. The location is central.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat_on_2ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Fun reception area with efficient check-in service. Modern, well appointed rooms. Took a while to figure out that the light switches work from the bedside clock. Very trendy. Bathroom was nice. Centrally located, close to restaurants, bars, clubs and the old city wall, Drum and Bell Towers. Slightly disappointing breakfast with a limited Western selection and the strangest music in the restaurant which seemed to be on a continuous loop! But not enough of a problem to detract from an overall lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#45 of 2,550 in Xi'an
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#57 of 2,550 in Xi'an
898 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#12 of 2,550 in Xi'an
801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
Atour Hotel Xi'an Nanmen
#30 of 2,550 in Xi'an
89 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xian Skytel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xian Skytel Hotel

Property: Xian Skytel Hotel
Address: No.32 South Main Street, Beilin District, Xi'an 710001, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#16 Spa Hotel in Xi'an
#29 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Xian Skytel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Xian Skytel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel City Lion International
Xian Skytel Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing