We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Xian and Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #21 of 2,581 Hotels in Xi'an
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love Xian and Mercure”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My stay in Mercure was better then I was expecting. This hotel is fantastic. Renmin Sq is a city block devoted to the Accor hotels. Mercure rooms were large, clean and the service was extremely good, plus I got to use the facilities of the other Accor hotels like the swimming pool and gym. Because it is off the street it is very quite. It is only a 20 min walk to the railway station and one block to the street where you catch the bus going sth to the museum and big goose pagoda or nth back to the railway station to get the bus to the terracotta warriors or airport. If I return I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank R0B000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    295
    96
    15
    12
See reviews for
98
250
66
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

There is nothing that special to say about this hotel, it does the job and is pleasant and clean. The rooms are smallish but have everything you could need. Breakfast was good, one of the better experiences of hotels in China.

The location is probably the best feature for this hotel, it is right in the centre of the city centre. Most sites within the city are walkable from here, useful fact as taxis can be hard to find.

Overall, you could do much worse for this price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is part of Sofitel and Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square place. It is the less expensive option but offers excellent breakfast and service. The room is OK, the decoration and furnitures are quite old dated but we did not mind. The bed is hard (chinese standard). The gardens are beautiful with fountains and a great vegetation. In the place there are a lot of good restaurants with expensive price. The receptionist staff were great, they bought for us train tickest and they offer money exchange. In a city like Xian, that not many people speak english, we really appreaciated the good service from the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I selected the Mercure partly on location and partly on price. The internet b&b advance booking rate was excellent. My 5th floor room was very comfortable, the bathroom had lots of amenities and an always hot shower, lots of selection at breakfast with eggs made to order and a very helpful and smiling staff. Hotel guests use the adjacent Sofitel's business centre. Trying to check in for my flight before departing for the airport, I encountered some difficulties with the computer. One of the management staff very kindly and promptly took me to the travel office and then the Club Floor where the problem was resolved.

The location is not quite as convenient as it looks on maps. Set within the city walls (you must see them lit up at night) I first walked what seemed like 1 km to the subway station to the west of the hotel. Then I discovered it's only half the distance to Wulukou station on Line 1 (to the north and a little east of the hotel). From there, access to most sights is relatively quick and easy. With a lot of construction going on in the city, the peace and quiet of the Accor hotels' location was bliss.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fountainhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The hotel is situated within the Accor / Sofitel group of hotels, as pointed out by most travellers who stay here, this hotel is the low range of the group of the hotels.

Points to take note,
- the hotel is not beside / next to any shopping centre / eateries
- for the price I paid and is without breakfast, so is considered on the high side
- certain hours will have difficulties in getting taxi, so get the help from the hotel to book a taxi

Anyway, Xi'an city is not that big, so still managable, e.g. 20 minutes walk to railway station from hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STS_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Mercure on Renmin Square is located with-in a gated hotel community and is on the "lower end" of hotels located there. Don't let "lower end" scare you. Everything was first class except for the price.

We spent three nights there and found the location to be close to transportation and the downtown shopping area of Xian. The staff was fabulous and, unlike most other hotels we stayed at in China, it was well maintained. Although taxi cabs can drop you off with-in the gates the little yak cabs cannot. When walking off the premises, the cabbies at the gate are always pestering you to take a cab somewhere.

English was no issue at the Mercure as most desk persons spoke at least some English.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_in_Vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the facilities and services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

we stayed her for 2 nights in October ,the hotel is part of a complex and only a short walk into the bustling part of the city ,check in was efficient ,the hotel is in good condition and the room well equipped and well insulated ,ideal for stopover visit

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yak112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.6 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#41 of 2,581 in Xi'an
231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,581 in Xi'an
849 reviews
1.1 mi away
Xian Skytel Hotel
Xian Skytel Hotel
#31 of 2,581 in Xi'an
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#19 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing