We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible attitude from front desk even though they messed up our booking!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Ranked #23 of 2,559 Hotels in Xi'an
Xianyang, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible attitude from front desk even though they messed up our booking!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booking messed up, we're not prepared to sort out, wanted to offer one twin bed room for 4 people. Manager said we front desk would order taxis once we had sorted out our own replacement hotel. She left and front desk staff became rude and unhelpful, not ordering taxis suggesting we walked!!!! 6 adults and 4 kids with luggage - not really an option at 8.30 at night!
Ramada Bell Tower were fantastic however - staff fantastic, rooms same price but far nicer hotel and better location.

Mercure - very disappointing. Sort yourself out!!!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GEckersall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative deprtmants.

Thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    293
    94
    15
    12
See reviews for
97
248
64
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We chose this hotel because it's a cheaper option within a complex of hotels. Unfortunately, it wasn't a great stay, so we got what we paid for.

First, the pluses:

- It's a Western hotel in China, so if you're used to Western comforts, this will be good for you.
- The concierge was helpful.
- The breakfast room setup is nice, and is comparatively inexpensive.
- The hotel has decent location - it's walking distance (though not THAT short) to the Bell and Drum towers, and not too far from the city wall.

Now, onto the few things that went wrong for us:

- You have to pass through security to get into this complex, but apparently, the complex security isn't the same as the hotels' security. This caused us issues when the taxi driver asked one of the security guys where the Mercure was, and the security guy said he never heard of them. We ended up being dropped off at the Sofitel, and when we asked the guy there (who was very helpful in driving us over to the Mercure) what's up with the ignorance, he said he didn't understand it either.
- We had booked a non-smoking room. While the hotel was very nice in upgrading us, the front desk somehow put us into a smoking room. The smell was very strong, and worse yet, the room was on the first floor. We ended up switching rooms the next day, but it was an inconvenience for sure.
- The front desk isn't great at English.
- There was a front desk rep who was snippy -- I had asked for three umbrellas (one for myself, my dad and my wife, who was heading down to the lobby from the room at the time). The rep insisted I take only two, and when I said I needed three, she turned and muttered something in Chinese about how I was asking for too many umbrellas. I only caught some of it because I don't fully understand Chinese, but yeah, that wasn't a very trusting/helpful attitude.
- The Internet is VERY spotty. We kept getting kicked off the network up on the fifth floor.
- Too many mosquitoes. My family had rooms on multiple floors, and I saw them flying in the hallways on both floors, and everyone in our family

All in all, I wished we had paid a bit more for nicer hotels. The rate I got was cheap, but hotels in China generally are inexpensive, so consider going for better options.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagongster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to feedback following your recent stay with us. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Meantime, we appreciate your sharing your concerns, we have brought it to the attention of relative deprtmants.

Thank you again for your feedback, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure on Xi'an Renmin Seuare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a 10 day tour of China. The standard tour included this hotel. I felt it would be a waste paying more money for a hotel you are only in to freshen up or sleep in! Our room was lovely, breakfast very good. You have the benefit of being within a complex of other more expensive hotels. My husband took advantage of the swimming pool in the Sofitel opposite. We had two evening meals in the hotel complex as we had been so busy with tours. We wanted to eat then explore some of the city. We had an excellent Chinese meal in Le Chinois, again within the complex. It was very reasonably priced. We also ate at Azur within the Sofitel. It had the usual buffet type food and an a la carte that was very good. The Sofitel did look a beautiful hotel so if you wanted a bit more luxury then that is the place to stay. The staff at The Mercure were very helpful, one member on the door really went out of his way to come to the main road to help us get a taxi and speak to the driver to make sure we went to the right place. Thank you!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M.C.Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My stay in Mercure was better then I was expecting. This hotel is fantastic. Renmin Sq is a city block devoted to the Accor hotels. Mercure rooms were large, clean and the service was extremely good, plus I got to use the facilities of the other Accor hotels like the swimming pool and gym. Because it is off the street it is very quite. It is only a 20 min walk to the railway station and one block to the street where you catch the bus going sth to the museum and big goose pagoda or nth back to the railway station to get the bus to the terracotta warriors or airport. If I return I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank R0B000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

There is nothing that special to say about this hotel, it does the job and is pleasant and clean. The rooms are smallish but have everything you could need. Breakfast was good, one of the better experiences of hotels in China.

The location is probably the best feature for this hotel, it is right in the centre of the city centre. Most sites within the city are walkable from here, useful fact as taxis can be hard to find.

Overall, you could do much worse for this price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel is part of Sofitel and Grand Mercure Xian Renmin Square place. It is the less expensive option but offers excellent breakfast and service. The room is OK, the decoration and furnitures are quite old dated but we did not mind. The bed is hard (chinese standard). The gardens are beautiful with fountains and a great vegetation. In the place there are a lot of good restaurants with expensive price. The receptionist staff were great, they bought for us train tickest and they offer money exchange. In a city like Xian, that not many people speak english, we really appreaciated the good service from the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking time to provide us your comments following your recent stay with us.We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the services of the hotel lived up to your expectation.

Once again we thank you for sharing with us your experience, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Mercure Xi'an on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I selected the Mercure partly on location and partly on price. The internet b&b advance booking rate was excellent. My 5th floor room was very comfortable, the bathroom had lots of amenities and an always hot shower, lots of selection at breakfast with eggs made to order and a very helpful and smiling staff. Hotel guests use the adjacent Sofitel's business centre. Trying to check in for my flight before departing for the airport, I encountered some difficulties with the computer. One of the management staff very kindly and promptly took me to the travel office and then the Club Floor where the problem was resolved.

The location is not quite as convenient as it looks on maps. Set within the city walls (you must see them lit up at night) I first walked what seemed like 1 km to the subway station to the west of the hotel. Then I discovered it's only half the distance to Wulukou station on Line 1 (to the north and a little east of the hotel). From there, access to most sights is relatively quick and easy. With a lot of construction going on in the city, the peace and quiet of the Accor hotels' location was bliss.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fountainhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelXian, Manager at Mercure Xian on Renmin Square, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure on Renmin Square Xian. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Xian on Renmin Square
0.4 mi away
Grand Noble Hotel
Grand Noble Hotel
#11 of 2,559 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,559 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Peoples Grand Hotel Xian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Xian on Renmin Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Xian on Renmin Square

Property: Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
Address: No.319 Dongxin Street, Xincheng District, Xi'an 710004, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
#11 Romantic Hotel in Xi'an
#21 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Xian on Renmin Square 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure on Renmin Square Xian is a comfortable, elegantly appointed hotel, featuring 113 rooms, as well as dining and meeting facilities. Located in the grounds of Renmin Square, in the heart of the commercial and government district, the hotel is minutes away from the major shopping centres and cultural sites and is ideal for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Xian on Renmin Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure On Renmin Square Xian Hotel Xi`An
Mercure Xi An
Mercure Hotel Xi An
Mercure Xian On Renmin Square China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing