We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jinjiang Xi'an Xijing international Hotel
Ranked #300 of 2,582 Hotels in Xi'an
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June 2013 booked a Executive room through Booking.com with full breakfast. When we arrived the hotel said breakfast was not included in the price we paid, I had the receipt that said Executive room with breakfast after a lot of discussion the hotel gave us breakfast, which was terrible, the staff were miserable, the Executive lounge was a joke and guests did stand with there doors open smoking. We will never stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    79
    28
    10
    3
See reviews for
7
10
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Stinking smokers everywhere, put on a smoking floor (complimentry upgrade to a better room) which had smokers leaving their room doors open and smokng the hallways up. I spoke to one guest about it asking him to close his door and open his room windows, he didnt care so i called reception, they sent someone who asked him to close his door. Next morning he was at it again. Other men were doing the same thing. The room door seals are not good - the smoke comes into my room and is pushed into the room via the central heating system. Reception moved me to a non smoking floor but people were doing the same thing there too and the hotel cleaners were working around them rather than asking them to take it elsewhere. Standing at one end of the hallway you can see is the fog of smoke down the entire hallway.

People smoke in elevators too. Staff in this hotel do not enforce no smoking areas and chinese smokers are the rudest i have ever come accross. It is really amazing the stink that they are permitted to create with their very strong cigarettes in all areas of this state run hotel.

Beds are comfortable enough but when combined with the downsides of this property i cant give the sleep quality a higher than poor rating. I had to leave the window open at night but that was not a problem as Xi'an is quiet at night time.

All of my ratings for this hotel are affected by the combination of shortalls that exist in other areas.

Desk staff were polite and spoke some english, where they couldnt understand me they got someone else to assist - lovely hard working people who tried hard to please me.

Cleaners working in the morning laughing and shouting up the hallways at the top of their voice because they are too lazy to walk to the other cleaners and speak quietly. I asked them to be quiet at 7:30 am and they didnt. They are rude old ladies who need to be retired for people who value working in a customer service environment.

Free wifi is nice but its slow and drops out frequently. TV channel selection is terrible for english speaking guests.

The young man at the tour desk is rude and i reccommend not doing business with them.

The man in charge of the cafe is very polite and can't do enough for you. But their resturant prices are way too high.

I would not reccommend staying here at any time, the rooms end up being an overpriced 1 STAR dog kennel, do not be mislead by other reviews. I stayed in two seperate rooms the first being a complimentry upgrade and the same negative experiences occured.

Room Tip: High floor non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank whitepointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Xi'an hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

This was one of nicest hotels we stayed in on our trip. The facilities were very modern, nice bathroom, although the shower door leaked a little. They were able to do our laundry, although it took more like 36 hours rather than the 24 they had promised. They had wi-fi in the lobby, and a good breakfast. The beds were pretty comfortable. There is a lot of confusion about these hotel names, but I think this is the same hotel, listed on its card as Huiyuan Jinjiang Interntional Hotel on West Five Road. It was a convenient location and a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The West Capital isn't the cheapest hotel in Xi'an, which you should be grateful for really, but it's very nice and located close to the central sights. We fled here from the Wenyuan Hotel further down the road, which is a dump, and I'm suprised at some of the negative reviews below, although most of the bad ones seem to be quite old. The West Capital is modern, quiet and comfortable, and our room was newly-refurbished and clean. The breakfast buffet was pretty good, apart from the coffee - don't get your hopes up, it's like it was made by someone who once saw a picture of a cup of coffee. The staff were polite and helpful, and although the bar wasn't sure how to make a gin and tonic they were happy to sell me a gin and a tonic. All in all, an excellent choice unless you're on a very strict budget, in which case good luck.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Perfect spot for everyone who wants to explore Xi'An walking... Walking right you'll finish at the West Gate in about 15 min... walking left from the hotel exit you'll be in 10 min visiting the Drum Tower and nearby Bell Tower (and couple of Starbucks if you love the coffee). Muslim quarters and the maarkets will give you the opportunity to buy souvenirs and try cheap and outstandingly deliciouss food.

Hotel itself is modern and very clean, professional service is outstanding for Chinese standards and (finally) at least one member of the staff will speak English! Restaurant is nothing special but still the food is better than most of the other hotels in Xi'An. Try it if you haven't!

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PantaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I'm surprised by some of the negative reviews on here. . . I've stayed at the West Capital 4 times since 2006. The good stuff - location, can't beat it. Right near the night market, walking distance to all the shopping areas, and a few historical sites. The breakfast is typical buffet with a mix of Chinese and Western food. The new dining area at the front of the lobby is updated, fresh, and clean. And now they've got an omelette bar which was great. In May of 2012 I stayed twice on the front and backend of my trip, the 3d floor, and the 7th floor. The 3rd was great, clean, and everything I've come to expect from the hotel. The 7th floor seemed brand new, including the smell of fresh carpet.

Once in 2008 I had a dirty room upon check-in, it looked like the maid hadn't been through the room since the last guest left. The front desk immediately changed our room, and the rest of the stay was perfect. Simple clerical error ?

The bed.... it's not Ritz Carlton soft, but it's perfectly usable. Having traveled all over China staying in everything from monasteries to 5 star hotels I'd put it right in the middle. Chinese just don't get the soft bed thing, if you want that you must stay at a Western hotel.

The TV had all the channels I've come to expect from a Chinese hotel - BBC, CNN, and just a couple other English stations - mostly sports and news.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate to go back. The price is right, and the hotel is perfectly located for everything I need to do while in Xi'an.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robh1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Were very pleased with this hotel newly taken over by Jin Jiang hotel group. We stayed for 8 nights and found the hotel very reasonably priced. The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast featured both asian and western options which was great and ther fresh and tinned fruit were especially good. the staff were very helpful especially when we had trouble with a blocked toilet - a constant danger for westerners in China!
Ask for a room on the south side (cooler - air con doesn't go on til May 13!) and on floor 5 or 6 which are newly renovated. Although smoking floors there is no smoke smell in the rooms - yet!

Room Tip: Ask for room on level 5 or 6 on south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StargazerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
0.1 mi away
Merlinhod Hotel
Merlinhod Hotel
#164 of 2,582 in Xi'an
154 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Park Xian
Grand Park Xian
#16 of 2,582 in Xi'an
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rongmin International Hotel
Rongmin International Hotel
#267 of 2,582 in Xi'an
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mercure Xian on Renmin Square
0.7 mi away
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
Ramada Xian Bell Tower
#39 of 2,582 in Xi'an
234 reviews
1.8 mi away
Grand Soluxe International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinjiang Xi'an Xijing international Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Xi'an Xijing international Hotel

Property: Jinjiang Xi'an Xijing international Hotel
Address: No.135 West Street, Lianhu District, Xi'an 710002, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#172 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jinjiang Xi'an Xijing international Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Jinjiang Xi'an Xijing international Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel West Capital International
Jinjiang Xi'An Xijing International Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing