We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Stay equals OK”
Review of King Dynasty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
King Dynasty Hotel
Ranked #195 of 2,560 Hotels in Xi'an
Newcastle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Short Stay equals OK”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

An average but unspectacular hotel right next to the Western city wall in Xian, a ten minute cab ride from the Bell Tower in the centre of town or a fifty minute walk. You might want to add ten minutes onto that estimate just to cross the road outside the hotel as it resembles a grand prix circuit used by China's most myopic drivers. Opposite the hotel is a pleasant but small park which is good for a short walk. The rooms are spacious but a little tired, ditto the bathroom. Most rooms are twin not doubles. They do have satellite TV, an iron, hairdryer etc. and the usual stained carpet that seems to be compulsory for this type of hotel in China. The staff are very polite but some of the service is eccentric, there is no table service in the bar, you have to order at the bar, but they bring your drinks and change to the table. The restaurant is good with set and a la carte menus and plenty of locals eat there which is a good sign. Breakfast in the morning is good and copious but heaving with tour groups. The outside of the hotel is full of revving buses in the morning which adds to the poor air quality that Xian sadly has. For a short stay in Xian, which is the one most tourists are likely to do, the King Dynasty is fine.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is quiet, but you don't get the view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoJimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    160
    73
    25
    5
See reviews for
23
77
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
295 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hotel is modern, clean, well staffed, and has lots of amenities. The "international" dining room hosts an excellent breakfast with Asian and Western dishes. I was pleasantly suprised, especially since I had not read reviews before arriving. The hotel is very close to the rail station and to one of the main gates into the old walled City. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anbrugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Stayed in the King Dynasty Hotel as part of the Travelsphere tour in late March this year.
The room was large, clean, decoration in good condition and the bathroom although a bit dated was adequate.
Large flat screen TV with limited English channels and the lifts got you up and down pretty quickly.
We had a room on the 22nd floor with a view of the temple of peace in the distance; nobody on the trip (31 in total) had cause to complain about their room.
We did not go to the Ku Fu show (which everybody said was brilliant) so spent the evening walking around the area which was perfectly safe.
If you walk out of the main entrance of the hotel and turn left, walk down the street next to the hotel (don't cross the road) and you will come across a large arch (approx 500m) at the end of a street full of restaurants. We did not eat in any as the hygiene was a bit questionable, but the locals did not seem to mind.
If you walk passed the arch and carry on along the street you will come to a large supermarket, just look for the plastic flaps at the entrance.
The real gem of this hotel is on the second floor, a Chinese restaurant which seems to be geared towards the Chinese guests, although we were made more than welcome.
A Hugh selection on the menu (not all desirable) with pictures to help you make your choice, 600ml bottle of local beer is £1 (yes £1) and we had main courses with rice, noodles, 4 beers and the bill came to about £16.
Staff were friendly and helpful, if visiting Xian again, I would stay at the King Dynasty.

Room Tip: Get down for breakfast early as it get very busy at about 8.00am
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mollycat13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel as part of our Travelsphere Discover China tour in January.

This hotel had the worst beds throughout the whole trip and found it very hard to sleep on them at night. Pillows were useless and needed to get some more from the cupboard in room.

Our group had interconnecting rooms in this hotel, very useful if you needed to pop next door for something and didnt want the shame of being in the corridor in your dressing gown!

Location: right opposite the old city wall - rooms had a brilliant view at night of it lit up. Location close to a large supermarket, very handy for some cheap beers and snack foods.

Bathroom - not the biggest on the trip but bareable, clean as was the main room.

Breakfast - good choice but nothing memorable or out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
5 Thank londonreviewer_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Large, clean hotel room. Staff very pleasant. Breakfast had lots of choices and strong hot coffee(not warm like in europe) A few minutes walk from a large supermarket.Bought wine beer for trip and also spices to bring home. Overall good choice by Travelsphere as could walk around after evening meal and not feel threatened.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eltham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I only had one night here and as on a tour didn't actually spend very long in it. My recollection is that the bed whilst huge was so very, very hard it was difficult to get to sleep and i woke up in the night freezing, although it was January. Otherwise no complaints it had everything that you would expect from this kind of hotel. TV old fashioned.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElthamTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

King Dynasty, Xian

I stayed in this hotel as part of a Wendy Wu tour so I did not actually choose this myself but was generally happy with the hotel.

Location – Hotel is on a very busy roundabout/junction, but you cannot hear the noise of the traffic in the room. Quite near the city walls.

Room – Large room with basic décor, could do with a refresh. But was clean and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi access, cable TV, Fridge/Minibar, kettle. Free bottled water.

Hotel & Facilities – Nice décor. Good variety in the buffet breakfast (both local and international cuisine) but some of the hot food was cold. There is a small bar on the ground floor with a limited variety of drinks and service was poor. No one at bar for most of the time and even after asking at reception it took some time to be staffed. Lifts are very slow. Lifts opened at the floor containing the nightclub which looked fairly seedy.

Value for money – Reasonable

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Over_Land_And_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xi'an hotels
1.1 mi away
Dynasty Hotel
Dynasty Hotel
#525 of 2,560 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
Gudu Wenhua Hotel
#22 of 2,560 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xian Titan Times Hotel
Xian Titan Times Hotel
#17 of 2,560 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bell Tower Hotel
Bell Tower Hotel
#53 of 2,560 in Xi'an
3.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wyndham Grand Xian South
Wyndham Grand Xian South
#1 of 2,560 in Xi'an
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citadines Central Xi'an
Citadines Central Xi'an
#13 of 2,560 in Xi'an
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Dynasty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Dynasty Hotel

Property: King Dynasty Hotel
Address: No.1 Daqing Road, Xi'an 710082, China
Region: China > Shaanxi > Xi'an
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in Xi'an
#105 Best Value Hotel in Xi'an
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — King Dynasty Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your King Dynasty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Dynasty Hotel China/Shaanxi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing